We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, it's all about the views!!”
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Everywhere you turn in Siena it's a picture postcard view and that's what you get when you open your doors on the balcony at this hotel. We had a room on the top floor which was great, the rooms on this floor have been renovated and are very modern, with TV's, a big bathroom with a great shower big enough for 2 and racks for your luggage. The hotel is joined onto an old church, you get to be right in amongst it all, it's a short stroll to the main Piazza Del Campo and to the Sita bus which is great if you aren't driving. The price is only 85 euro a night, which a bargain for what you get, the only thing is the Wifi isn't free and they charge 1euro for 1 hr, 4euro for 5hrs and 10euro for 12 hrs, even with this it's still very cheap and great value.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, better views but also rooms are new and modern and have television
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 859 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent two night the Alma Domus and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was immaculate, and the view across the city to the Duomo was incredible. The desk staff and breakfast staff were always smiling and helpful. We took the bus from Florence to Siena, and the hotel was easy walking distance from the bus stop. Lots of restaurants nearby and a short walk (down and up) to the Piazza del Campo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DesertBeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for seven nights at the end of September and had the most wonderful holiday in Siena. The location, service and comfort at the Hotel Alma Domus were faultless, especially when considering the cost. Check-in was speedy and friendly. Our double room was very pretty with a great bathroom and the most amazing view across the rooftops to the Duomo. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate......great coffee and croissant. Managed to resist the chocolate cake but might indulge next time! A lovely quiet public room complete with a piano plus an outdoor terrace made up the common areas of the hotel. There is no bar but this is unimportant as there are many bars and restaurants nearby. Very easy access to the sights of Old Siena Town......altogether a great stay with our Aussie Mates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AVAROSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This former convent now a remodeled and comfortable hotel is locate near the top of the town with easy access to all of medieval Siena's churches, museums, as well as the piazza. Beside convieniece, and comfort, cost is a main draw for travelers. A plus for us was the availability of three or four excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel entrance. As for the Hotel breakfast it is plentiful. WiFi at a euro an hour per device is potentially costly and disruptive if travelers are planning "as they go." If booking do so in as much advance as is possible to get a room with a view.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 666raychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Alma Domus in Sienna, it was very centrally located for doing everything in Sienna! The rooms were very clean and comfortable, a bit small but that doesn't matter when in Italy! The breakfast buffet area and offerings were perfect for all of us! Plenty of hot water and a great tea selection, fresh chocolate cake, yogurt, fresh fruit American coffee and cappuccino! The patio outside is great to relax on with a bottle of wine after a day of touring! We were able to walk anywhere from the hotel and the staff was very helpful with suggestions and directions for us! WiFi isn't included but is available for a very minimal price.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room on the fourth floor for a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mbcbwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of September in this hotel/hostel. It is very basic but has everything that is needed, clean,comfortable & a great location for seeing all the sights that this beautiful town has on offer. It has good wifi at just €1.00 per hour. There are plenty of rooms with balcony & views of the Duomo.

The breakfast is included but it is basic continental, no cheese,eggs nor a shred of ham. They will make a cappuccino or espresso on request.

The staff are very helpful and all speak great English.
It was €85.00 for a double room.

Room Tip: Clean,comfortable & a good location for Siena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alma Domus in Siena for four nights and loved the location, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the service. The croissants with a freshly brewed cappuccino were a delight to start the day. There were other items on the buffet table but this was perfect for me. We could walk any place from this location as it is well situated. Siena is a wonderful city and Hotel Alma Domus makes it even better.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side on the second floor and had a great view overlooking the Duomo and the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Redhead1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $57 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing