We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome budget hotel with charm and history”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome budget hotel with charm and history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this recently renovated hotel and loved it! We had a balcony which had french door opening on to it, overlooking the ancient city. It was in immaculate condition, and we felt like we were the first people using the room. Beautifully decorated (for a budget hotel). Location was great & we loved hearing the church bells. Too bad it wasn't warmer as we would have also loved to have sat on the patio by the entrance to enjoy a cappuccino. Only downfall are the stairs to lug your baggage down to reception.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 11 and highly recommend this room as it comes with a balcony & windows overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    336
    121
    32
    21
See reviews for
120
378
86
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our stay in Siena. The room was comfortable, a good size and clean. The rate for the room was very good. The hotel was well situated near attractions and near some great restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only bad point is the proximity(right next to) to the bells of Santa Caterina church that start ringing early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoscU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We chose it for the price and location, and weren't disappointed. Just know what you're getting for the low price you will pay.

It's an old convent dormitory, and feels like it. Rooms are small, with twin beds. Bathrooms are a challenge: no tub, and shower is not enclosed - you close the door, and everything in there gets wet, so just prepare. The view: all rooms have a private balcony, and the UPPER floor rooms have a stunning view of ancient Siena (you're on one hill, looking at the city center on the next); this view alone makes it worth staying here, provided you ask for and get an upper-floor room. (ck-in is on this floor, and the other floors are below this main level).

Breakfast was just OK. Felt just like a hospital cafeteria, complete with trays. They allow you one capuccino/ person (I drank my wife's), but you may purchase more. This is a problem for those of us who require a minimum of two cups a morning to face the day (just pay). Food was so-so, enough to get you started.

Honestly, we don't regret staying here. We needed a budget option to compensate for some of the "splurge" rooms we had elsewhere. We were torn in this review between leaving a 3- or 4-star rating. How about 3-1/2? It just didn't rate 4 with us, even with the great value (we paid 75e) and view. Know and go: you get what you pay for, but in this case, you get a little more.

Room Tip: ask for the top (main) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank savvyaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_Domus, Direttore at Hotel Alma Domus, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, thanks for the review, your opinion gives me the opportunity to inform our customers that the hotel renovations have just been completed and we now have the most beautiful and comfortable rooms and we solved most of the problems you are set out.

Dr. Louis Locco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved it - the people; the breakfast; the location; but especially the view from the balcony!!! We made a wonderful trip to Florence for a cooking class and were supposed to go to Venice but we chose to go back and relax at the Alma Domus and skip Venice!!! Two women traveling alone could not have felt more safe in the clean, although small, room.

Room Tip: make sure your balcony faces the duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you're looking to stay in a unique place, this is it! Not to mention, the rate per night was excellent when we stayed (one of the cheapest out of several places we stayed in Europe). If you're looking for a traditional 5 star luxury place to stay, Alma Domus isn't for you. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights last summer (just got around to writing this review), and absolutely loved it.

Siena is fairly small, so the location worked out perfectly and we were able to walk to everything. The room is decently sized. We asked for a double room but actually had a single bed plus a double bed in our room (the double was just 2 singles combined, common in Europe). The place is old, but clean. We were completely satisfied with the room, but I would say the bathrooms need a bit of updating...water goes everywhere when you're showering. But honestly, not a big deal.

The breakfast is simple and straightforward, and the staff was always friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view --- it's GORGEOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyK647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel situated very close to the centre of Siena and the Il Campo. The staff were very friendly and helpful. While the room was very basic it was spotlessly clean; had a great view and it was good to have both indoor and outdoor 'lounge' areas. Breakfast was OK. The overall value for B&B was very good. The hotel was about to close for renovations over the winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Conveniently located. We parked within a few feet of the entrance to unload our bags, then parked a few blocks away in a (very crowded) parking lot. Spectacular view from our room of the Duomo and the city. 5 minute walk to Il Campo - the main town square. (All uphill) Service was adequate and breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Property: Hotel Alma Domus
Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing