We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central Location and excellent view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Siena
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central Location and excellent view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel situated very close to the centre of Siena and the Il Campo. The staff were very friendly and helpful. While the room was very basic it was spotlessly clean; had a great view and it was good to have both indoor and outdoor 'lounge' areas. Breakfast was OK. The overall value for B&B was very good. The hotel was about to close for renovations over the winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    310
    110
    27
    18
See reviews for
111
337
81
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Conveniently located. We parked within a few feet of the entrance to unload our bags, then parked a few blocks away in a (very crowded) parking lot. Spectacular view from our room of the Duomo and the city. 5 minute walk to Il Campo - the main town square. (All uphill) Service was adequate and breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Санкт-Петербург, Россия
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Alma Domus for only one night during our Italian trip. This hotel was very convenient cause it’s situated in the center of Siena (5 minutes from Piazza del Campo) and not far from the bus stop Piazza Gramsci (about 7 minutes by foot). I should say that location is the main advantage of Alma Domus! Every time when we went out from the hotel we felt like in fairy tale. Alma Domus is a part of a monastery, next to the hotel there is a big cathedral and fantastic viewpoint. Another important thing is a 24-hour reception, which allowed us to walk around the city also in the night. Our room was clean, a little bit ascetic (it was a the monastery!), but the windows were situated under the ceiling! That was the greatest disappointment at Alma Domus. I know in the hotel there are rooms with fantastic view of the medieval city, but we got a room almost without any view. Nobody from the reception didn’t tell me anything about different types of rooms when I made reservation. Another disadvantage was poor breakfast (too poor for such a hotel): only cakes and yogurt, without ham or cheese. And also I should say that Alma Domus isn't for aged or weak people: almost everywhere there are stairs even on the street and nobody will help you with heavy luggage( But anyway I liked this place and forever love Siena!

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with normal window and view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaSPb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very pleasant and simple hotel perfectly located near the Centro Storico of Siena. No luxury but clean and pleasant. Breakfast was ok. Be prepared to wake up at 7 am by church bells. During our visit there were no noisy people in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in Hotel Alma Domus, first two nights in a room with a double bed and the last night with twin beds. We found the hotel is sufficient, nothing over the top, clean, small and comfortable. The breakfast was not inspiring but we ended up feed, good cappuccino however.

Amazing views from rooms on top floors make the stay worthwhile. WiFi is not free and the hotel provides a computer for those without their own devices to get on line, again a fee for on-line access.

Not much but does the job, OK stay at Alma Domus.

Room Tip: Get a view room or go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnabytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night, it was a Friday, so busy with students. The hotel was noisy and basic, there were loud fights in the night and morning, and we could hear snoring from other rooms like it was in the hallway outside the door. Hotel needs carpeting; hallway noises echoed very loudly; otherwise, I would recommend it as a hostel, and not really suitable for family visits (on weekends anyways)

Room Tip: suitable for students; single travellers on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPCapeCod
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was very reasonably priced, but our double room did not have a view. I was not aware that I should request this when booking. The room was spacious, it had a double and twin bed. Bed was very firm. The bathroom was pretty small. The room definitely felt like a convent room, more clean and utilitarian than warm and cozy. We noticed several backpackers staying here. Pros: Very reasonable, clean, convenient walk to all sections of Siena. Cons: May not have view, hairdryer available at front desk only, breakfast only ok, you have to handle all luggage up and down some stairs and area is pedestrian only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#21 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#16 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Property: Hotel Alma Domus
Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing