We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Siena
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights. Our room had a great view of the Duomo which is within walking distance. We could also see St. Catherine's courtyard - which is worth a visit. The staff was helpful. The accommodations were clean. Breakfast is OK. Several small restaurants are yards away. We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLARMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    301
    108
    25
    17
See reviews for
108
330
79
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great position - 5 mins walk to central square and Duomo, 5 mins walk from main bus station (buses to Florence etc)
Great view of Duomo and panorama of sepia buildings
Don't get the 10% of rooms that don't have the view! Otherwise this would be quite an unexciting hotel
Small Balcony - morning sun not evening
High enough to be quiet, but can hear church bells and parties at weekends
Not mega clean but OK (typical Italian hotel)
Two quite narrow single beds - not impressed by the beds
Hot water and electricity unlimited, charging of iphones etc all fine
Have to pay one euro per hour for wifi but there was a cafe we used where it was free
Staff on desk didn't smile, they seemed bored verging on unfriendly, but were efficient
Breakfast - unlimited buffet but unexciting, eg croissants, nutella, yoghurts, but no cheese or ham
Cheap - 80 euros a night for two people in a room

Room Tip: ideally rooms on the top floor, and with a view. We had room 10 and it was probably the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Overall this was the best hotel in our two week Italian vacation. I'll summarize:

Pros:

1) Location - Inside the walls, wonderful views from the balcony. Next door to Saint Catherine's home and church (her head is still there, literally).
2) The balcony. Get a nice bottle of wine and sit on the balcony and enjoy Siena! We sat there one evening during a thunderstorm with church bells and singing hearing heard next door - truly magical!
4) Good breakfast, great cappuccino.
5) Friendly and helpful reception
6) Nice common areas inside and out
7) Maid service each day

Cons:
1) Two single beds only if you want a view (6" apart). Doubles are without a view.
2) Shower is in the middle of the bathroom. Your feet will get wet in there after a shower.
3) Church bells go off at 7:00 each day
4) Parking not close by. Siena is a bit of a nightmare for parking. We found a free spot about at the bottom of the hill by waiting in our car until a spot cleared. This saved 30 Euro/day.

Siena is a magical place and this hotel contributes to this!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OttawaVampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Hotel Alma Domus in September based solely on reviews on Trip Advisor and had a wonderful time. The main reason to stay here is the location with the wow views of the rooftops of Siena's historic center with Duomo and the City Hall Tower in the distance. I don't know if all rooms have the view - we were on the 3rd floor and certainly the 4th floor did - and had reserved the room for 2 nights 4 months in advance. Bedrooms and breakfast are very adequate. There is AC and you can leave the balcony doors open for a nice nighttime breeze. Church bells are a great alarm clock. Bathroom is pretty spartan but OK - there was an mild odor - probably from the shower drain - which is a small price to pay. The Wi-Fi is rather a pain but works fine - you can use more than one device - just disconnect the 1st one from Wi-Fi before connecting the next one. We never missed not having TV - just enjoyed the incredible views - early in the morning, at trilight and at night, always changing.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Third floor facing south had wonderful views. Fourth floor would also. Don't know about lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July 2012 in a triple room on the top floor with a great view of the cathedral and all those flying swallows. The room was clean, had A/C, and a typical small showering area. Yes, the walls are thin and you can hear others but the noise dies down quickly and your only concern becomes the Angelus from the cathedral around 6 AM.

The breakfast was one of the more varied during our stay in Italy -- a number of fruits, rolls, pasteries and even cappucino to order.

As for location, you are right next to the Sanctuary of Saint Catherine of Siena, a place you should check out even if you are not all that religious. RIght above Alma Domus is the Basilca of St. Domenic where St. Catherine's thumb is on display. You are a 10 minute hilly stroll away from Il Campo and another 10 minutes up hill is the Cathedral (check out the Duomo Museum).

You can take a bus to the train station to get to Florence, Pisa, or Orvieto. The bus station will get you to most hill towns but be sure to check for return times -- we weren't able to go to San Gim. because of no returns on Sundays and an incorrect Rick Steves guide book!

FYI: There are a number of restaurants nearby that are cheaper than eating in Il Campo. We enjoyed a placed right next to Basilica San Domenic. There is a great gyro shop down the street from there as well if you crave something non-Italian for a change.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view! You also have to stay at least two nights to book in Alma Domus or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beem4johns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Rooms are basic and if you don't get a city view (like ours) then the room can be a bit dark. Our room was adequate, probably 2 star but clean with a good bed and OK bathroom. For us, the location and value for money were this hotels plus points... Breakfast was OK with a good choice of cereals, toast and pastries. Less than 100m from the hotel is a choice of four restaurants with great views of Siena. All the main sights are within easy walking distance. One thing to consider is that you don't need an alarm clock as the bells will wake you at about 7am but this is probably true anywhere in Siena!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
Level Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed there one night passing thru tuscany basic room, no frills clean and simple compares to Holiday inn no bar soap, only small packets of bath foam & shampoo combo not even a soap dish in the shower to put packet! Friendly znd helpful staff basic cold breakfast included

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirateis48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#24 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#10 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Property: Hotel Alma Domus
Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing