We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, perfect location, charming place”
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value, perfect location, charming place”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

It's funny how two people can stay in the same place and have a totally different experience...I'm baffled by the negative reviews. The hotel is charming- yes, it is a convent so the decor is in keeping with this, but it's definitely a hotel not a nunnery! There's a lovely reading room with two pianos...my bedroom was fine, plain but clean and perfectly nice. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet. At €45 for a single room, in the heart if an expensive city like Siena, I thought it was fantastic value. My only gripe was that you have to pay for wifi, otherwise very happy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    340
    124
    32
    21
See reviews for
122
384
87
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really enjoyed the view of old Siena can't imagine there is any better in the city. The room was clean although rather minimal. Small but functional bathroom. The location was great. 10 minute walk to the main Piazza. Really no complaints would stay here again. They could have offered free wifi. Breakfast was simple but did the trick.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope-Lego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a simple hotel that could be nice. No parking...or directions for parking, no tv, terrible wifi, bad breakfast for 5 Euros. Just my worst experience in an otherwise great trip. I could have chosen better and will next time to be very sure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jwhoward3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_Domus, Manager at Hotel Alma Domus, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Sir,
I'm sorry you did not appreciate our breakfast, but it is not true that you have paid € 5 for that, because it is included in the room price, maybe you confused with another hotel. The hotel is located in the historic center of Siena and it has no parking, but , you knew it before booking;

greetings

dr. Louis Locco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is located virtually in the shadow of the San Domenico church which is found on a hill overlooking the narrow streets and alleys of the medieval parts of Siena and adjacent to a bus depot. The view from our balcony was incredible. The experience of sleeping with the balcony doors open serenaded by the sounds of this beautiful city as it ended the day then waking to the hopefulness of the ringing of the bells from the church the next morning was energizing. A breakfast buffet is set up between 7 and 10 in a roomy, clean breakfast area managed and monitored by a very dedicated lady. The housekeeping staff were incredibly efficient and the front desk was extremely helpful and polite. The Hotel Alma Domus ticks all the boxes for what a traveler needs all at a very reasonable price and allows the historic city of Siena to cast a romantic spell on visitors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

There were 7 of us who stayed here for 3 nights, including my parents who had just come from Venice where they'd paid $1000/night for their hotel. Rooms were very simple and shower was right next to the toilet with no real barrier other than a shower curtain, but we all agreed it was a great deal. In fact, my parents said that it was a better "price/pleasure" ratio than their Venetian hotel. I was worried they'd have a problem with the bathroom or the twin beds, but no one complained. The location is perfect and the view from our rooms was SPECTACULAR! The hotel itself is quite charming--with a sweet little entry courtyard. Breakfast was included and we were all satisfied...Coffee was delicious! Service was friendly. Wifi wasn't free, but was available. Overall, a great value!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Island_Hopper_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. We had a quad room which was extremely large, although furnishings were simple. We were on the top floor so had a balcony and a spectacular view of the city. The location is perfect to explore the city and all it has to offer. Plus it is very close to the main bus terminal where you can get a bus to many of the small towns surrounding Siena. We took a day trip by bus to Florence. The church bells which awaken you in the morning are awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marytg5010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The church run hotel is just tucked in around San Domenico church. Make sure to get off there if you take the bus. Our room had a spectacular view. Internet access was easily available and the breakfast was very good. Be sure to take the bus tour- we took the San Gimignano/Chianti tour and loved it. The Wednesday street fair at the square was very good. We bought some nice things at fair prices. July, 2012

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Property: Hotel Alma Domus
Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing