We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO! NO! NO!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Due Archi

Due Archi
Ranked #431 of 523 Restaurants in Siena
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“NO! NO! NO!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have never reviewed before but feel compelled in this case. In a nutshell, this place absolutely sucks! Realizing that is subjective, here are objective facts. 1- my first course of lasagna was almost frozen. It was obviously prepared and way too symmetrical to believe that it was individually cooked. 2- we ordered a fish plate for 2 and got a meat plate. We decided to complain now( because we couldn"t even nibble on the bread- brick hard everywhere) and the manager left the meat as a " compliment" that we couldn't even eat because it was grilled like a charcoal briquette ( and I love medium well food). He brought us the fish plate finally ( we had to go into re-que now) and 1 out of 5 pieces was actually edible. My fountain coca-cola was extremely too sweet and they had no ice for it, even upon request.. Now, all of this was without a waitress who refused to re-engage us after we said she had the order wrong. In legal terms - buyer beware!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhk923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    41
    42
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Siena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To be avoided...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Terrible experience at this restaurant. Yes, Siena was very busy as it was right after the August Palio race, but the restaurant itself was very quiet when we arrived. We were refused a place outside though, with no reason really given. Service was very unsmiling and poor, we ordered a litre of house wine (usually brought to the table in a carafe or jug) and the waiter brought us a bottle of quite expensive labelled wine off the menu. Luckily we caught the mistake before he opened it! No glasses were brought for a 1L bottle of water to be shared between 3.
This would have been ok if the food hadn't have been inexcusable. One of us ordered pasta (a prima piatta) and two ordered secondi piatti. The pasta was brought first and the waiter waited for that to be completely eaten before the meals of the other two came out. This is the first time we've ever encountered this in a 2week+ stay in Siena and it was pretty unpleasant to be made to eat in order. The pasta was a sausage and mushroom penne and was alright, but a lot of inedible gristle.
The other two girls has chicken which was totally inedible as it was raw in the centre. Not underdone or pink, but actually slimy and totally untouched by heat at all.
After all this, we were charged compulsory coperto (cover charge) and a service charge was added straight on the bill. Coperto is normal and we were happy(ish) to pay. Service was terrible but we had no option to leave it off.
We don't believe any of our problems with this place were due to a language barrier as we all speak passable italian!
Conclusion: manners terrible, food inedible, atmosphere very peculiar. We would never go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid this place if you look for Italian friendliness and nicely presented food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We went to this pizzeria to get some nice pizza. The bad experience started with the unfriedly owner who is obviously annoyed by tourists or had a really bad day. After a cold greeting, he wanted to put us in a place with hardly any shade (it was 35 degrees celcius and have a two year old kid). When i wanted to take a shady free spot, he just said "no" with no explanation. Anyway, we wanted pizza, so we stayed and sat inside. The menu consists largely of pizzas which makes totally sense. So, when ordering pizzas, he said in a very non charming tone "no pizzas for lunch". Thats a joke, right? Anyway, we ordered some salads and risotto. Risotto was ok, the salads small and badly presented (I had caprese with just very unequalls cut mozzarella, tiny portion although i ordered a big one, and just looked thrown on the plate). The waiter that brought the food was very nice, nothing to complain. We just have our prejudice confirmed: avoid eating in main roads of touristy cities.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific Trattoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We went to the Due Archi last night. We sat outside because it was a very pleasant temperature but the inside looked quite charming. My wife and I both had pastas that were delicious. I had a veal scallopini in wine sauce that was probably the most tender and moist veal I have ever enjoyed. Service was excellent - all well timed and we left feeling completely sated and not stuffed. The red house wine was perfectly good and a steal at 6 euros. The entire meal for 2 was 55 euros and was probably the best meal we have had in the past week and a half split between Florence and Siena.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Home025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pasta Vongele”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice little restaurant in Chiocciola nabourhood. Good food reasonable priced. Can recommend Pasta Vongele. And strawberry pizza as dessert... nice..

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TSvendsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Due Archi also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Due Archi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing