We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but charming accommodation in a fabulous city!”
Review of Hotel Antica Torre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antica Torre
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Siena
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Simple but charming accommodation in a fabulous city!”
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Some of the previous reviewers here seem to have been expecting something different from this hotel. I would propose that perhaps they did not do sufficient research!

It is housed in a old tower building in a medieval city, therefore it is not surprising that the rooms are reasonably small, they feature brick and beamed ceilings and the stairs are relatively steep.

Bathrooms have had to be accommodated within these existing rooms, therefore it is reasonable that the trade-off between bedroom and bathroom size has resulted in very compact bathroom and shower facilities.

It is a small guesthouse with only 8 rooms – once more, it is not surprising that there are not armies of highly qualified and experienced hotel staff to carry your bags up the stairs, book tickets for you or give you directions all across Italy!

Accept that this is not a Hilton, do some research, think for yourself and you might come to appreciate what this property DOES have to offer.

It is a charming property, full of quirky, individual touches. The delightful and helpful owner Patrizia clearly has a love of old movies. Check out the photo of Grace Kelly in the small lobby, our bedroom featured photos of Paul Newman and Ava Gardner in their heyday. Furniture and fittings are again older and quirky, fully in keeping with the building.

The rooms are kept clean and are comfortable, the hotel is approximately 5 minutes brisk walk from the city and its many delights.

Breakfast is 7 Euros extra, which we elected to skip. A pastry and a coffee standing at a café counter is the Italian way and suited us just fine.

To conclude, if you want the comforts and service of a modern international style hotel, the Antica Torre would not be ideal for you. If however, you are independently minded and want an interesting experience in a small historic guesthouse, in a fascinating medieval city; perhaps you have found just the place.

I would not hesitate to return.

  • Liked — Charming character
  • Disliked — Breakfast extra and pricey at 7 Euros
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coverpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
17
67
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

My fiancee and I were only in Sienna for a single night. The Antica Torre was adequate but nothing spectacular. The bathrooms were tiny but clean. The beds were the worst we had our entire trip, mine was sunken in badly right in the middle. The staff was not at all friendly, and we seemed more an inconvenience than a guest. This also was the only hotel in Italy we stayed in which did not give you a breakfast. Lastly it is not particularly convenient to the center of town. It was a good 15 minute walk to the main piazza. I would likely not stay there again.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wsjester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siena hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oxford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

I have to say -- this 'hotel' was exactly what I imagined staying in Italy would be like. The rooms were VERY tiny but with beautiful furniture, and antique ceilings. It was just what I had hoped it would look like, and yet the staff quite possibly could have ruined our trip if we hadn't been so happy to be there in the first place.

The woman at the front desk didn't speak English, but wasn't interested in responding in Italian either- when we spoke the little but comprehensible bit that we knew. She was impatient and questioned us each time we arrived and left the building- even though we had keys and were quite free to do so. The man who was there when we checked out, however, was very accomodating at least, if not friendly.

I'm usually not bothered by unfriendly staff but in a small guest house, it's hard to ignore. The rooms were charming, and relatively clean although much too small for more than a couple. All in all- if you don't mind the staff and can stay in one of the top rooms- preferably facing the rear of the building, it's well worth a nice romantic couple of nights.

  • Liked — the rooms were beautiful
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — if you aren't bothered by unfriendly staff and want a romantic room- this is the place
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acattanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and I have to agree with most of the other reviews. It is small and there is no elevator, but I knew that going in. Our biggest problem was that the woman at the front desk smoked and if we turned on the exhaust fan in our bathroom it would draw the smoke into our room.

Our room faced an interior courtyard with other residents. We did not have a problem with noise, and we slept with the window open.

The location isn't bad, just a 10 minute walk from the Campo. We didn't have a car, so that was not an issue for us.

Although we have no major complaints, we would not stay here again. It was fine and fairly comfortable for one night, but I would not have liked an extended stay here.

  • Liked — It was very clean
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoke
  • Tips/Secrets — I would not recommend this hotel for an extended stay.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella_B1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Having read all of the other reviews, please take note: this is a small guesthouse in the centre of an ancient Tuscan town, it is not a Holiday Inn! When visiting Europe and particularly towns which were built 500 years ago, it is inevitable that the rooms will be smaller than those built in 1975 and when staying in a pension called L’Antica Torre (the old tower), you can also reasonably expect a staircase or two…
L’Antica Torre is five minutes walk from the centre of Siena and has clean and comfortable rooms – ask for a room on the top floor if you can stand the climb and enjoy the view over the rooftops.
Good value and ideally placed. Parking is a problem, but as you pass through the city gates there is adequate parking which was perfectly safe – drive to the front door of the hotel and drop off your luggage and then go back and park.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank WTCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

Location, location, location. Well it isn’t everything. The Anticca Torre has location within a short walk of the main square in Sienna but it lacks a few other requirements.

First, you have to find it. It is tucked away on a small street with very little signage to identify it. Check for the address because you won’t find a big sign outside indicating the hotel name.

Now let’s talk about the hotel. Well, it’s actually a narrow little townhouse with two rooms per floor. The rooms are approximately 8x8. The a mattress is supported by a spring frame. You have an armoire , a small table with a 13 inch console and two small side table. If you plan to leave you luggage on a luggage rack and not to unpack it, forget it. There is no room to do it. Also, there is no luggage rack,

Our room was on the third floor. No elevator here, it’s a walkup. Our location was in the rear facing a small courtyard. We got to know our neighbors more than we would like since we could hear all of their conversations. If you are in the front, be forewarned that the Hotel is very close to a Golds Gym and a division of the University of Sienna.

The bathroom was about 4 feet wide by 8 feet long. It was definitely a one person at a time bathroom. Two people could not fit. The stall shower was less than 3x3 and was a tight squeeze for me and I’m only 175 pounds. If you are bigger, well, let’s just say, it’s a squeeze. When using the sink, the clearance as minimal and you could back up maybe 1 ½ feet from the sink.

The owner was extremely pleasant but directions to local restaurants was hit or miss. Her day person couldn’t tell us how to get to Cortona so plan ahead if you need directions.

We stayed three nights and found this the worse of our accommodations on our trip to Italy. However, the rooms are clean and cheap, just be careful that you know what you are booking.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Amenities, concierge
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose carefully
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

My partner and I stayed for one night at the Antica Torre so that we could spend a day in Siena. We found both our room and the hotel itself to be very well-kept and charming, in a pleasant neighborhood of Siena that is close to all of the sights but also quiet and residential (I stepped out early in the morning and was pleasantly surprised to see real people going to work, as opposed to other tourists, which seems to be the norm in Tuscany). The hotel appears to be family run, and the main proprietor was very friendly and called us a cab the next morning so that we could go pick up our rental car in the Siena suburbs. At 113 euros per night the hotel in not exactly a bargain for budget travellers (we stayed at places in Florence for less), but what you are paying for is a clean space and a bit of charm and it is definitely worth it! On a final note, the hotel is definitely not a good option for the elderly or disabled- I had to carry our very large suitcase up three flights of narrow stairs to reach our room.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanW329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porta Romana Hotel
Porta Romana Hotel
#21 of 40 in Siena
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Torre

Property: Hotel Antica Torre
Address: Via di Fiera Vecchia | 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to have a stay in Siena, reflecting the ancient traditions of Tuscany, the Hotel Antica Torre is the right choice. This hotel is in fact an old "tower house" of the 16th century located inside the walls to the south-east of Siena a few minutes walk from the famous Piazza del Campo. Its excellent position permits not only a complete visit to all places of historic interest but also most of the posts of the Sienese countryside such as the famous Chianti region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Antica Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Hotel
Antica Torre Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing