We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it wasn't for the shower......”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If it wasn't for the shower......”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was perfectly located (could walk to everything easily); helpful staff (made good recommendations for dinner and reservations for one popular place for us); balcony lovely at night (views in Siena are not spectacular but it was still nice to have one); AC very good; WiFi free but you have to sign up daily for each device (not a problem but a little inconvenient). I would have rated it 5 stars BUT the bathroom was ridiculous. The fact that it was small was not the issue - it was that the shower was nothing more than a hole in the floor with a silly circular shower curtain that you really would NOT want to touch you - there is truly no excuse for this in a hotel that could spend the money (remove the bidet to make room for a small shower - I know it's Europe but I think most people would prefer to shower in a contained area rather than flooding the entire bathroom floor and then having to deal with slippery tiles and soaked towels on the floor in front of the toilet. I am not exaggerating - the shower was a spray head (not one you could take down either) and a hole in the bathroom floor directly in front of the toilet. Wouldn't care but the rooms weren't cheap - hard to believe even if it made a good story when we got home but I would choose another hotel if returning to Siena. Oh - be sure to plan carefully - there are horse races in August that would really impact the ability of a tourist to relax (crowds, etc.) and music students practice drums/other instruments loudly during the day but especially in the early evening - it was somewhat nice to hear but the hotel location really made this particular issue one that may be a problem for tourists who want to rest before the typically later dinner hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    553
    172
    31
    13
See reviews for
307
522
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed only 1 night, but we enjoyed the prime location, clean rooms and great price which included breakfast.
Our room had 1 queen and 2 twin beds and was air conditioned. The only down side is that the hotel is dated and the wi-fi a bit spotty. However, still a good value for the price we paid. The breakfast was fairly typical of other hotels we've stayed at in Italy (breads, yogurts, juices, coffee, salumi, cheeses) and our server Giovanna was nice and attentive. We would stay again for the price, service and location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermosaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very very friendly staff. Room was OK. No view, big window going on an inner courtyard. Catched an old nail from a loose bottom lath. No window in breakfast room, but still pleasant. Very central, air conditioning a definit plus in summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wariol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Small room and bath, but what a view! The desk staff were lovely and very helpful. A very good selection for breakfast, with everything kept tidy and refreshed as needed, by very pleasant and attentive wait staff. We recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda77110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is right in the center of everything you would want to see. The staff is very attentive and helpful.

Our room was small and very cramped. The bathroom / shower was more like something you would find on a boat, only smaller. Not very comfortable.

The view from our room was like a post card. We didn't have a balcony, but we did avail ourselves to the roof top terrace. Breakfast was good and helped us start the day.

141 Euros a night, seems like too much for what we received.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The front desk staff was quite helpful in every sense of the word, eg directions, wifi assistance. Breakfast was excellent, with selection of fresh fruits, meats, green tea, juices etc. The day time front desk man speaks good english & is particularly erudite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHP997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel with a central location, helpful staff and everything you'll need for a visit to Siena. Bathrooms a bit on the small side but clean and functional. Parking could be an issue. Would only stay here when re-visiting Siena.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing