We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in Sienna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find in Sienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 night at this very unique hotel. We had a room on the top floor which opened up on to a balcony. For what we paid the value was tremendous...very affordable! Oh yes a terrific view. The owner, Alejandro, was so friendly and appreciative. We made the reservations from the US. Everything was as promised!

Warning: There is a beautiful church nearby which was quite confusing when looking for the hotel. Same name...Duomo! Take a cab! Do not take a rental car to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    529
    164
    30
    13
See reviews for
296
499
52
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on a business trip to the city. The staff were very friendly and made checking in and out very easy. The breakfast was very good and the service at breakfast was excellent.

The room was good nice big tv (shame no english channels), nice bathroom. comfortable bed, lots of room and two windows (corner room of building. Views from windows included the tower and the cathedral and the Tuscan countryside.

Had a very comfortable stay. Only downside was some noise from adjoining rooms but this is down to loud occupants not anything else.

Would recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Corner room was very good (room 51)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian3Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
447 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Simply the worst. It looks like in Italy, the hotel are having different Star in the same hotel.
If you are looking for tranquility and nice rooms dont go there. At least we had most probably the worst rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_duomo_siena, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Customer,
We do not understand your criticism, and we think it's due more to personal problem rather than a real one. As can be seen from other reviews on this page, Hotel Duomo offers maximum comfort and relaxation for guests.
In this case, however, I cannot really see eventual deficiencies in the provision of comfort and quality, distinctive features of the Hotel Duomo.
If the room not responded to your needs, we would have proceeded immediately to replace it according to demands. Our priority, in fact, is to offer an excellent service to ensure a pleasant journey to our visitors, as the opinions of other customers, on this same page, evidence of such behavior.
We hope to be able to welcome back to our hotel, to give you an unforgettable vacation in Siena.
Greetings from Hotel Duomo
Alessandro Briganti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Hotel Duomo is close to the Il Campo parking lot, which came in handy since we arrived by rental car. They were very courteous and the room was clean. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We stayed in room 52 and it had a good view of the Duomo.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbbutler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We are seasoned travellers, been to most parts of the world. Arrived 4 hours before check-in time and were received with a warm welcome at reception, and the offer of coffee. Staff friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was very comfortable, with a stunning view. Walking diistance to everywhere. Breakfast; Rolls, cheeses, cooked meats, cereals, cakes, pastries, fruits and more, with friendly dining room staff. Overall, our view of ths hotel is "Excellent", and Clean! Clean! Clean!.

Will stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 61 - Great view across Siena
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TypoToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocolalla, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed in room 59 like the previous poster. It's at the end of the hotel near a plaza that had music and someone talking on the mic till 4am!! Even the reception person acknowledged that...but no discounts here. They have renovated the outside of the hotel, maybe now they should concentrate on the inside. Also,major construction going on directly across the street. The free breakfast was better than most, had a nice assortment of fruit and the usual processed, rolls, ham and cheeses (ick). It was a nice room with three HARD beds, but I think if you compare it to hotels in the USA it would equal a one star. Just deduct 1-2 stars for every hotel in Italy or Sicily and you'll be spot on. Its one big plus was location to the Duomo, the square, and family, too!. We did have WiFi. Nine euros for a taxi to the main bus stop when the hotel call for it.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view (if they have any?), but in a quite location, not room 59!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marz2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel is perfectly situated in Siena. If you take the Bus from Rome to Siena you are dropped off about 6 good blocks from the hotel. You just walk one winding road to the Hotel.
As others have said the Hotel is right near the Duomo and two blocks from the center of town where everyone hangs out.
The staff are very kind and generous. They have great recommendations for places to eat, whether cheap of pricey. Either way the places they recommend are nice!

Pros, Free WiiFii, Nice Breakfast, Decent shower, clean rooms and Location!

Cons, the only con I found was that the mattresses in the room is just ok. It feels like a big pad or pillow but not a true mattress but this is common in Europe. No safe in the room.

Otherwise I do recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bscans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing