We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely central square”
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.05*
and up
Sunset Siena and Chianti Wine Tour with Dinner from Florence
More Info
$74.75*
and up
Independent Trip to Siena from Florence with Private Transport
More Info
$65.25*
and up
Full Day Tuscan Countryside Tour from Florence
Ranked #1 of 147 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
944 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Lovely central square”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We've travelled a lot in Italy over the past couple of years and most places have a central square and tower. Siena is no different - however it's the best we've experienced so far. Yes there are lots of people but the atmosphere is fantastic and just being there and people watching is great.

Only regret is that we weren't here when the famous horse racing is on - must be unbelievable to see this.

No visit can be complete without spending some time here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,681
    1,796
    247
    22
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“all is cute in Siena, including this square - busy, great to shop for souvenirs”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

It's a nice opening, very spacious in comparison with the whole town. We bought good wine and great parmesan cheese. There is a little store, if you stand with your back to the tower, it'll be on the rightside, just go along fromm the right corner, the store is tiny, but the choice of wines is great and the powners and very helpful. They also have very tasty "cookies" to try and buy if you wish. The parmesan I bought there spent 3 days in my suitcase and got safely home. The Chiati they have is of great quality too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Crowded, but worth visiting!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I visited Siena in June, a week before Il Palio (a bi-annual horse race between Siena's 17 neighborhoods - The one held in July is called Palio di Provenzano). So, during that week-end there were activities related with the Palio and the square was quite crowded. The temperature was high, but it worth it. The huge shell-shaped was red as terracotta with amazing buildings (including Palazzo Pubblico) surrounding the huge number of people representing the neighborhoods, each with it's own flag. Just amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So nice!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I found this square even more interesting than Catedral in Siena and once we step on it I remained completely speachless!
I would like to be back one day and enjoy this craftsmenship for a whole day although I spouse a beauty like this is always crowded.
I have to mention a very good chianti wine that we had in Siena!
Beautifull Piazza!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elsie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place and view”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A very nice place to enjoy a great time in Siena. The square is very large with nice restaurants and bars around. Sit in one of this and enjoy the view taking an delicious ice cream.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clemota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing