We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to be there for the Palio.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Museo Civico, 53100, Siena, Italy
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$93*
and up
Private Tuscany Drive Excursion: Siena and San Gimignano Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #2 of 98 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Hedgesville, wv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would love to be there for the Palio.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

But I can imagine Siena would be so, so crowded. The end of September is a great time to sit (most unusual thing to do in most piazza's) with all the other people locals and tourist and just take in in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cleome123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,466
    1,301
    182
    15
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,160 helpful votes
“Top tips for visiting Piazza del Campo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tip 1: There was really nothing much to do in the Piazza except taking a few pictures and having a cuppa at one of the cafes.

Tip 2: This is the filming location in James Bond film's Casino Royale. I am sure everyone came here to take pictures and leave within 30 minutes.

Tip 3: You have to pay to climb up the giotto. We didn't do it because we couldnt see a point of doing that.

Tip 4: I wouldnt visit this site again because there is nothing much around except people watching.
If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Hungary_Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Action packed night and day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is the heart of the city and a great place to people watch either on the street or from one of the many outside restaurant tables.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparklz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Such a fun Piazza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ventured here twice during our one night visit to Siena. We came once during the day, and once at night for dinner. Yes, the restaurants in the Piazza are more expensive, but we figured why not. It was charming and I thought the shape of the Piazza was very unique. It was very clean, and everyone was content to sit on the ground and eat gelato or people-watch (we did both!). Definitely check out this Piazza during your trip to Siena.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Huge just huge!! Eat lunch at one of the many restaurants ringing the Campo. People watch. One of the largest piazzas - definitely the largest I have seen. You can just feel the centuries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing