We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Basilica”

Basilica di San Domenico
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.84*
and up
Siena Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #14 of 144 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This church features the shrine that contains the mummified head of the renowned Saint Catherine.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
204 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Interesting Basilica”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been on organised visits to Siena before but have never been taken to the basilica before.It has quite an interesting history and is apparently on the pilgrims road which travelled from England,through France and through Italy to Rome.
It was dedicated to Dominic and was begun by the Dominicans in 1226 and was built on a hill overlooking the district where St Catherine had been born in 1347.
She was a humble and illterate woman but left 375 letters penned by her disciples from dictation.She had consecrated herself to God as a little girl and when she was 16 she recieved the Dominican habit.
In 1376 she travelled to Avignon to encourage the Pope Gregory X1 to return to Italy.Catherine convinced him and he returned in September that same year.From 1377 until her death in 1380 she sent many letters to famous and powerful men and women urging them to live Holy lives.
She was only 33 when she died and was canonised by Pope Pius 11 and was proclaimed Patroness of Italy together with St.Francis of Assisi. Her remains were buried in Rome but Siena wanted her body returned to them and her spiritual director,Blessed Raymond wished to honour Catherine's corpse.He transfered it inside the Basilica of Holy Mary from where it had been in a very damp tomb exposed to the elements and the body had been consumed by the rainwater.It was,therefore,quite easy to disattach the head from the rest of her body.
The head of St Catherine can still be seen inside the basilica and this attracts thousands of pilgrims to it every year to see the Sacred Head of St. Catherine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank farthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    228
    97
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
360 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting While in Siena”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

An extremely beautiful church, one of the nicest we visited during our trip to Italy. Requires an admission ticket, but worth the expense.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrandPaRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
federico m, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Basilica di San Domenico, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Google Translation
Non si paga il biglietto d'ingresso, l'ingresso è libero. No ticket free entrance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I was asked to leave because I did not want to take my hat off when in the Church!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The restrictions on this place for visitors needs to have one more added: no hats if you are a bloke! The senior of the two church officials actually knocked my hat off (technically assaulting me) when I declined to take it off "because it was a church" and then told me to get out of the basilica...not good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swiftnick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
federico m, Direttore vendite at Basilica di San Domenico, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Google Translation
Signore, Lei ha offeso i nostri funzionari con parole razziste… In Italia quando si entra nei luoghi dii culto per rispetto del luogo ci si toglie il cappello… Et sic sufficit !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihara, Japan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“every time, Basilica Cateriniana di S.Domenico Siena”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

☆☆☆☆☆I think that we should visit Basilica Cateriniana di San Domenico when we wish to know much more the city of Siena. Of course when research the structure and landscapes of Siena, even if we stay in Siena by the tourist guide books. By visiting La Basilica, we will be able to understand the medieval city Siena by to experience Santa Caterina. In the city of Siena, we can hear sounds of bells here and there. Among them, there are four bells in Basilica Cateriniana di San Domenico that resounds throughout the city of Siena, It is the sound that is very refined and powerful. In addition, there is a historic bookshop with erudite manager in La Basilica, and the bookshop provides many articles and documents about Santa Caterina and Siena, It's high utility value for everyone in the world. La Basilica is in the heart and soul for me now, even in the life of everyday in Japan. ☆☆☆☆☆

Helpful?
1 Thank Ikunok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You'll be surprised”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

There are many magnificent basilica's in Italy and compared to them, San Domenico at first seems insignificant, but once you step inside and soak in its history you'll appreciate its simplistic splendor. If you first see this cathedral from the front, you don't realize just how large it really is. It is not until you are climbing the hill behind it, heading for the Duomo, you will realize how large it really is.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moncurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di San Domenico also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Basilica di San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing