We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIEW FROM THE TOP”
Review of Torre del Mangia

Torre del Mangia
Book In Advance
More Info
$186.73*
and up
Classic Siena Walking Tour
Ranked #7 of 124 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The tower, more than 290 feet high, was constructed in 1325 by Minuccio and Francesco di Rinaldo, and has the Chapel of the Piazza at its base..
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend, Dagmar Biellmann, and I visited Italy in October of 2003. The date I was REQUIRED to mark below was NOT when we were at this attraction -- it was ELEVEN (11) years earlier!!! We just "accidentally" decided to stay in Siena on our travels from Rome to Florence. We "lucked out" when we found the Sangallo Park Hotel and rather than staying 1 night, we decided to stay for 2 nights. We arrived in the evening about 8:00 p.m. and the next day rather than drive, we took the bus to downtown Siena. We had lunch at the Piazza del Campo square and decided to climb this tower while we were having lunch. There were absolutely breath-taking views from every observation point! When we got to the top, the wind was blowing so hard you had to hold on to the railing to keep from being "pushed around" by the wind!!! Since we were NOT "young chicks," at the time (I was 63 and she was 55), it was a little tiring, but WELL WORTH THE CLIMB to the top!!!
Anna Fay Shaw

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"worth the climb"
in 75 reviews
"narrow steps"
in 16 reviews
"surrounding countryside"
in 30 reviews
"beautiful tower"
in 10 reviews
"easy climb"
in 7 reviews
"great views from the top"
in 7 reviews
"bell tower"
in 23 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 7 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 11 reviews
"sunny day"
in 8 reviews
"ticket office"
in 10 reviews
"the main square"
in 8 reviews
"gelato"
in 12 reviews
"lockers"
in 57 reviews
"claustrophobic"
in 67 reviews
"camera"
in 40 reviews
"tallest"
in 11 reviews
Filter

543 - 547 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

At the end, you are rewarded with a magnificent view. But first you have to invest in climbing through a definitely obese-discriminating stairhouse. But its all worth it!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank HS_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Climbing the Mangia Tower is not free. You can buy the combo ticket which also gives you access to the museum in the same building. We lined up when the box office was open and were one of the first to climb the tower (we learned that you cannot choose your 'climb time' but they tell you when your scheduled time is, most likely based on when you purchase your ticket). At first I was kind of sad to climb it in the morning (versus sunset) but quickly appreciated it. The steps are NARROW! I cannot imagine climbing it later in the day with two-way traffic. Going on the morning gives you a lot more breathing room, and you do not have to share the view up top with as many people as you would later in the day. You do not feel pressured or rushed to climb quicker than you can, since there are less people. The view is worth the admission.

There are some "nooks and crannies" in the tower on the way up that you can duck into for a quick break if you need a rest from climbing the stairs. I am not the fittest individual, but I was able to climb the tower without a need for a rest.

You can only bring a camera with you to the top. Backpacks and other bags can be stowed in lockers they provide for you.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank robinsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This one is completely FREE and is so interesting. The guilds that are represented here with their shields I found a most interesting part of the history of Sienna and I actually bought a few of the flags representing the groups that formed Sienna in the Medieval times. Found them so appealing.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank ajijic4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was one of the best buildings that we climbed in Italy (and we climbed a ton). The view of the city and the surrounding land is spectacular. You can see much of the medieval wall that originally encircled the city, as well as all of the major landmarks (the duomo, San Domenico, etc). The climb itself wasn't bad at all, and you get a full 360-degree view upon reaching the top. Definitely a must-do in Siena.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre del Mangia also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
 

Been to Torre del Mangia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing