We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best part of our trip to Italy”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool with a fantastic view                                                 . Our Sunflowers field!!!
Spectacular view!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The pool with a fantastic view                                                 .
Our Sunflowers field!!!
Spectacular view!!
The swimming pool.....under the Tuscan sun                                     .
A breathtaking view......beautiful sunflowers!!!
Our Hot Tub.......time to relax while enjoying a breathtaking view!!!         .
A warm night under the stars......can almost touch them with a finger          .
The Villa' bathed' in sunshine
Relax with a sip of 'Chianti wine'.                                            .
Peace and quiet everywhere
'Al fresco' dining....staring at our golden wheat fields                       .
Ready to cook?                      All at your fingertips!!!!
........a very spacious kitchen.
Dining room
The fireplace to warm your dinners.......
.....even 14 people can sit very comfortably
Living room......ledTv, stereo, docking station, games......
all in Tuscan style!!!!
Bedroom
A bathroom
The Fall at the Villa
Our organic vegetables garden
Siena
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip to Italy”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our trip to Italy started out a bit bumpy, but all was forgotten when we arrived at the villa. Jacapo and Fabio greeted us like old friends. They gave us a tour of the beautiful property. It fully lived up to our expectations and surpassed them. The house is warm and comfortable. There are plenty of bedrooms and they can be configured as you need them.

We had 5 children with us aged 9 to 17 and all had plenty to do. Wifi was available, which is huge when traveling with teens! The pool was bigger than it seems in the picture. The kids had a great time unwinding after spending the days touring the surrounding areas. The landscape is so beautiful in the Siena area. There were lots of wineries and small towns to visit. The town of Siena, itself, can take several days to see. Greve is a very charming town nearby.

Jacapo made dinner for us twice. It was ready for us when we returned after a long day trip. We just popped it in the oven and it was delicious. The wine that is available at the villa accompanied our meals well.

Fabio and Jacapo are on hand and maintaining the property. They were very solicitous and did most of the work while we were out. They are friendly and helpful and offered great suggestions on places to visit.

Would highly recommend this property to a family with children, large group, or several families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the propery
Liked least: the roads are quite twisty and everything takes 40 minutes to get to!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHanify
Sparta, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

"All I can say is wow" were the first and last words out of our mouths upon arriving and departing this beautiful Villa. This was our first experience renting a house in Tuscany, and we could not have been happier. Fabio and Jacapo were the most AMAZING hosts! We arrived on Easter with a group of 12 people and they had the most wonderful meal prepared for us! We were a diffucult group to cook for because between us, we had several different food allergies, and the feast they prepared was authentic Italian and beyond our expectations. They also offered to have whatever food we needed stocked in the house upon arrival, because grocery stores were closed due to the holiday. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and the pictures posted online do not do justice to the beauty of the house. We had more than enough room for the 12 of us! I would recommend this to any family or group looking for a villa in Tuscany. Wonderful experience! We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaypl...
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE most idyllic holiday house.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Our family of five (2 adults and 3 children) stayed at Le Caggia for 10 fantastic days in December 2012. Whilst it was cold and frosty outside, the house was warm, comfortable and spacious.

From the moment we drove up the road towards the house, we knew that we had made the right decision about this house. On arrival, we were greeted by Fabio who welcomed us so warmly and showed us into the house. It was a cold but sunny day outside but the house was lovely and warm and we instantly felt at home.

The big eat in kitchen/dining area was so spacious and so well equipped. We cooked a lot over the period that we were there and could not get over how there was just everything there that we ever needed.

The children were in heaven when they saw the Xbox360 in the lounge as well as the selection of games and DVDs. They also loved the outdoor space, the gardens, the freedom to run around and the fact that there was a cool pool (even though it had ice on it and we couldn't use it). They never ran out of space to play hide and seek inside and outside.

The beds were really comfortable and there was a bathroom for each of us. It was great to have so much space.

The location couldn't have been better for us. Being so remote but yet only 15kms from Siena meant that we could easily tour everywhere. We managed to tick off all the sights that we had planned to see and had several relaxing days enjoying the house.

We stayed at Le Caggia at the end of a 3 month trip around the UK, France & Italy. We rented houses and flats throughout our stay and this was by far the best, the most comfortable and the best equipped house of any of them.

And finally, I can't write a review without mentioning Jacopo and Fabio. They both went above and beyond to make our stay so perfect. From my endless email enquiries before we arrived, to looking after us when we were there and all the extra little touches.... A perfect Tuscan experience. We'll be back!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2013
Hi Lisa,
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your feedback.
We really appreciate hearing about your experience and we are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Villa.
As you are now part of our Villa's history, we hope to seeing you again soon!
Thanks again,
Fabio & Jacopo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artistanc...
Barrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Twenty five days in heaven.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Before choosing Le Caggia, our group spent many hours preparing lists of requirements, then researching villas and locations, and finally creating spreadsheets to compare requirements, amenities and disadvantages. This was followed by emails to the few "finalists", making inquires about the details. After this process, we chose Le Caggia because of the location, appearance, spaciousness, the fact that the price included everything (no unknowns for heat, hydro etc.) and the manager's responses.

Our group of ten rented Le Caggia for 25 days in October; during that time we came to regard it as home. The villa is even more attractive than in the pictures and even with all of us there; with 3 bedrooms in a separate building, it felt very spacious. The kitchen is large enough for group preparation of meals, and the grounds are lovely for a quiet stroll. We found the villa to be clean, well maintained and well supplied with the accoutrements required for daily living.

Most days, we toured around to different towns in Tuscany, which was a new adventure every day. We found the villa to be centrally located for visiting places like San Gimigiano, Volterra, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Assissi, Sienna, Florence and Chianti. At the end of the day, we enjoyed coming "home" to Le Caggia.

The road to the villa (and to some degree, many Tuscan roads) requires careful attention while driving, particularly if you are driving a standard transmission vehicle that you are not fully comfortable with. One suggestion would be the installation of a large convex mirror where the Le Caggia driveway meets the road to allow better visibility.

We visited the restaurant down the road, Donato e Donata, for one meal while we were there. Although it is not a 5 star setting or gourmet food and little English is spoken, the food and prices were good and the owners very hospitable.
The quarry up the road is worth a visit for the fabulous views of Sienna and the nearby Castle. The nearest town for groceries is Rosia, several miles away.

Jacapo and Fabbio, the property managers, were very gracious and responded promptly to any questions. On request, they stocked some basic food staples prior to our arrival. The meals they cooked for us were divine and ample; well worth the extra expenditure. They made us feel like honoured guests.

Overall, our Italian holiday was like 25 days in heaven, and Le Caggia was the perfect place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The front lawn/outdoor dining area
Liked least: getting out of the driveway onto the road
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can we please move here?”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

As a party of three couples and one three year old, we recently were blessed to enjoy an amazing and unforgettable week at Podere Le Caggia.

As others have rightly advised, please be sure to get satnav with your car, as it is tricky to find your way around this secluded little corner of Tuscany. But the seclusion is part of the joy!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by our charming and welcoming host, Jacopo. We instantly felt at home; like we were visiting a friend rather than a rental. Jacopo showed us around the property, which is large and perfect for an extended family vacation - large enough that we weren't under one another's feet, but with wonderful communal areas for the family to congregate and enjoy each others company.

There are two separate buildings, but close together, which was ideal. The grown ups could stay in one and those of us with a little one (meaning earlier bed times and earlier mornings) could stay in the other.

The buildings and grounds were exactly what we had envisaged as a classic Tuscan farm. Soft pinks and ochres that glowed gently under the beautiful Tuscan skies. There is a fantasy of a garden with a large and inviting table set up under a beautiful, shady tree (we spent a lot of time there for meals and drinks), a BBQ, a lovely pool and a fruit and vegetable garden.

In the surrounding parts of the property are woods and a field of sunflowers. The vistas are heartwarming!

As earlier mentioned, part of the charm is the seclusion. So, be sure to head into nearby Sienna (there's a Co-op supermarket on the outskirts) to stock up on plenty of food and other provisions. That way, we were able to pretend to be Tuscans; eating incredible home cooked meals using great local produce and being delighted by the quality of the local wines. Incidentally, there is a great range of wines stocked in house.

We also had the great pleasure of Jacopo preparing two amazing feasts for us. The food was fresh, plentiful and delicious (in a way that only the Italians can achieve). The enthusiasm with which he presented each course made us wonder why Jacopo hasn't set up a restaurant - he is a marvel.

On our first night, Jacopo booked us in at a nearby Trattoria. This is a great option if you are arriving late in the afternoon and don't have time to pick up provisions on the way. The food and atmosphere was so memorable at this local establishment - no tourists, other than us, as far as we could tell. Alternatively, consider pre-arranging for Jacopo to prepare one of his splendid feasts (which, in hindsight, would probably have been an even better first night at Podera Le Caggia).

In terms of location, while Podera Le Caggia is away from the crowds, it's an easy drive (with satnav) to many of the surrounding places of interest. Sienna, Greve in Chianti, Florence and San Gimignano are all easy day trips with plenty of time for lunch, sightseeing and a bit of shopping.

But, there's every chance you may find yourselves staying put at Podera Le Caggia instead!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like we were staying at our own or a friend's very beautiful holiday house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italyvaca...
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Villa in the heart of Tuscany”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I recently stayed at Villa Le Caggia this past Sept 2012 with 7 of my friends on 2 week Italy vacation. We spent 1 week at the Villa and made day trips to Florence,Siena and other small towns in wine country.The caretakers Jacopo and Fabio were amazing and made sure all our needs were met and that we were comfortable. They also made us a delicious Tuscan dinner one of our nights.I would highly recommend this Villa to anyone traveling to Italy.There were 7 of us and still plenty of room for many more! I hope to go back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephCap...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at le Caggia August 25-September 1st 2012
We found the place online and read all the reviews and as you can see there are no complaints. We had a group of 9 and could have easily added 9 or so more. It is a great out of the way location that is near Siena. Around 12 kilometers I think. Very private and well appointed. It's the sort of home that doesn't feel like a rental, it actually feels more like the home of a friend. Everything is there that you need including bar stocked with wine at very reasonable rates. The caretakers were great- Jacopo and Fabio could not be more welcoming. We have traveled and rented homes all over the world and this was the best!
Can't wait to return

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$373
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing