We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good with $2 per person service charge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolceforte - CLOSED

Dolceforte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Beautiful PA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good with $2 per person service charge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Owner is super friendly with good English. Food is very good, especially beef stew. So rich in flavor. Every bite makes me wanting more. We should both ordered it. This seems a very popular local place. They all know owner. Even in the off season November, it is full by 8 pm and had to turn people away.

Surprisingly we got charged service fees $2 per person, which was not listed on menu or mentioned first. Lose a star for that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    145
    35
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic choice price/quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were recommended to go there, because it's not in a major street of Siena, it's a little bit hidden. But we were very lucky because everything was absolutely tasty and the people who work there (we thought that one of them was the chief), are totally kind. Perfect combination with traditional Siena's food with international tastes. Perfect choice for couples or groups, and below average range of prices. We will repeat if we return to Siena
We went the same week were the Palio took place in summer, but it wasn't crowded, so better for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian_pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went here for lunch and were delighted with the food, the service and the cost - so reasonable. Would recommend without hesitation

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer30065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandefjord
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dolceforte ristorante in Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thanks for a great evening with delicious food.
The warm atmosphere and the friendly owner made the night in Siena unforgettable.
Looking forward to our next visit at Dolceforte ristorante!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2torp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Have been to this restaurant twice out of a three day stay in Siena.Super staff, food, entertainment! Friday night was music night with the owner and a friend of the restaurant who has a super voice (Marguerite). The waitress Anna served us both nights and she was excellent, knowledgeable, friendly, attentive. The restaurant was recommended by a local, which says a lot.
The atmosphere was cosy and you could be private if you wanted, but in our case we struck up conversations with people on the other tables, such was the friendliness of the restaurant. The ricotta and spinach balls were good, and the chocolate pudding is super, the house wine is fantastic value and the two course meal with wine, grappa and coffee was value second to none. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolceforte also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Isola d'Arbia, Siena
Taverne d'Arbia, Siena
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing