We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional food and great service”
Review of La Finestra

La Finestra
Ranked #43 of 530 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Good traditional food and great service”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Like others we stumbled upon this restaurant because it is a bit out of the way from the grand Piazza. Although there is a nice outdoor area to dine, there is nothing to look at. The adjacent square is very ordinary i.e. there is nothing to look at other than a structure that looks like a bus shelter (and I think that's what it is). Inside the restaurant is very cosy and rustic.

The food was great. It was so good we went back the following evening. The best dish on the menu would have to be the mushroom bruschette it was served at a great temperature and it was fabulous - I had it both nights because it was so good! Other highlights were the pasta dishes and the grilled fish from the "specials" that was also very tasty.

The only complaint about this place (and many others in the area) is the notion that it is OK to put a basket of bread in front of people when they don't want it and then charge them for it even if they don't eat it. This tactic is frsutrating because I think that it deters diners from leaving a tip. It would be great if one could decide if they wanted a basket of bread or not.

All things considered this is a great place to eat if you want to get a way from the crowds around the Piazza and eat at a family run restaurant that has good food and good service!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    321
    81
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tuscany on a plate in Piazza del Mercato”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We regularly visit Siena and always make a point of eating at La Finestra. Located just behind the Campo in the picturesque Piazza del Mercato, you can be sure of a very good and reasonably priced meal in this friendly, family run restaurant. Using fresh, locally sourced produce, La Finestra's cooks provide a variety of traditional Sienese dishes, including antipasti, pasta dishes, main courses, and home made desserts - the grilled meats and wild boar are a speciality and there are daily specials as well as the regular menu. The staff offer a courteous and efficient service and are fluent in several languages. In autumn and winter it is a welcoming place to eat inside, and in spring and summer you can eat outside with the Palazzo Pubblico to one side and views of the Sienese countryside to the other.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food just behind the Campo”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had found some of the Siena establishments less than pleased to see customers (it was the night of the Italy vs Germany Euro football match), but we got a really pleasant welcome at La Finestra and were well looked after. They have an impressive list of "specials" which were all explained in excellent English. There was a nice unhurried atmosphere and a large table of locals - always a good sign - eating at an outside table.

The pasta with duck was rather dry but the artichoke fritters deserve particular praise. All the food was ample and acceptable and the wine not too pricey. I would definitely go there again and recommend it, as many of the other restaurants here are very touristy and provide "fuel" rather than nice food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We've continued to try different restaurants in Siena, looking for atmosphere and good food. This restaurant sits on a square that is totally uninteresting. The food was at best average, to the point that I cannot recall what we all had. However, the service was quite good. Not worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCSCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good café food”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Not more than that..To bad because terrace is Nice and central behind Campo

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulus024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Finestra also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Finestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing