We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, terrible service”

Zest Ristorante & Winebar
Reserve with
Zest Ristorante & Winebar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 521 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from dinner here with my sister. I'll start off by saying the food was good, we had good calamari and i had a good steak. The tiramisu was excellent. But the service was dreadful! Everyone around us was getting served politely but we got really bad attitude from the two women working.
When we wanted dessert we literally had to yell across the restaurant for her to approach us. She rolled her eyes when she had to walk up to our table to hear us, which was extremely rude of her.
And then after dessert we waited over half an hour for them to come and clear the plates, but the staff never approached us, so we gave up and walked up to the counter to fix the bill up.
We probably could of just walked away and the women wouldn't of noticed, it was ridiculous! I have never had such bad service in my life.
I wish we went across the street because those waiters actually looked like they were interested in their customers.
I wish i could write a positive review about this place, because the food was good, but the service has left a bad taste in my mouth unfortunately.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMac1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zestwinebar1, Manager at Zest Ristorante & Winebar, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
It was disappointing to read your review as we try hard to ensure the staff work efficiently and provide the best service possible on every occasion. They have been informed of this incident and reprimanded, though neither seem to recall who you were. I apologize that this incident ruined what could have been a lovely dinner. I agree that it is the whole package that makes for a great dining experience, not just the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    280
    97
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Ignore the naff name - this restaurant does really delicious food away from the tourist drag on a scenic side street with outside tables.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelie8C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Need 6 stars to rate our experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Favorite meal I had during a 3 week tour of Italy. We arrived just as the sun was setting and got an outdoor table with a view of Il Duomo. The tables are set on a steep street where there is no possibility of the table in front of you blocking your view. The view alone as the sunlight dimmed and the lights came on was worth the price of dinner. We enjoyed watching the foot traffic, as there is apparently a popular pizza joint through the alleyway where we sat... lots of pizza boxes going by!

The important part. Enjoyed a bottle of wine and the bread service as we waited for dinner (our order taken by a great waitress who spoke very good English and helped us through our limited Italian understanding of the menu...). We had caprese as an appetizer, then carbonera primo and pork roast in a brunello reduction sauce for main course. WOW!!!! Limoncello to top off the evening and a walk through the darkened and pretty much deserted streets of Siena. I would highly recommend this restaurant out of all that we tried in Siena.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBSUBroncos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was in Siena for a week and tried this restaurant towards the end of my stay, which was unfortunate because it meant that I only had time for one more dinner at this delightful stop. If I had known about it sooner, I might have had all my meals there. Great food, prepared with care. The service was friendly and helpful. A very welcoming experience. As others have noted, the outside seating is limited, so make a reservation. I will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lafayette_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

After 6 weeks travelling around France and Italy this was the only restaurant that we ate at twice because the wine, food and service was absolutely perfect. As outside seating is limited make sure you make a reservation. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest Ristorante & Winebar also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Zest Ristorante & Winebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing