We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B, beautiful view, close to Siena, very relaxing, felt like home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, beautiful view, close to Siena, very relaxing, felt like home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

We arrived late, at around 8pm. Luckily we had a GPS, as it may be difficult to find without one. Mario greeted us, showed us around, and told us to relax and enjoy a drink from the fridge. The bedrooms where lovely, the beds comfy and bathroom spotless. We met Elizabetta, Mario's lovely wife. She was preparing breakfast, which was delicious. Our hosts were kind and helpful.
This was one of the loveliest B&B's I have ever stayed in. I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatinDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
505
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed at the Aia Mattonata Relais for 4 nights in March. Like one of the previous reviewers we took a bit of a risk as all the reviews were in Italian. We booked on the basis that the ratings were good, despite not being able to understand the reviews themselves and we were not disappointed.

This is not a hotel but a family run B and B. Wholeheartedly agree with the previous reviewer, Elisabetta and Mario are fantastic hosts. They genuinely want the guests to enjoy their stay and were incredibly accommodating.

They had great recommendations for local restaurant and things to do and they make a point of trying things themselves before suggesting them to their guests. Elizabetta noticed that I was not eating the cured meats for breakfast. When I explained that I could only eat cooked meats the next day there was a whole range of cooked meats available for breakfast!.

As we did not have a car, Mario would offer to take us into Sienna (15 mins away or 15 euros in a taxi), even if he had to make a special trip in.

When we asked whether we could borrow a DVD player (we were a bit unlucky with the weather and stayed in some of the time), they allowed us to borrow their son’s Playstation.


Great views from the good size rooms all of which are newly decorated. Very clean throughout, crisp white bedlinen and fantastic power showers.

This place was better than the 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed in during the rest of our trip. I almost didn’t want to write this review as I think this place is so good that it will become difficult to book when I want to go back. However, Elizabetta and Mario are working so hard to make their business a success that they deserve to be fully booked.

If you stay here a car is not essential but it does help. If you want to visit some of the wineries etc then a car is a must. Sienna is quite small and can be seen in a day but this is a good base from which to explore the wider area. San Gimignano is a must, 1 hour by bus but no doubt shorter by car. Great to come back and relax in the Jacuzzi, the pool will be open during the summer. I want to go back….

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

the gem of Siena. the location is great as it's extremely close to Siena but its in the countryside with great views, facilities and service exactly as described[and shown] in the website relaxing and extremely romantic atmosphere. our room was very big, the bathroom one of the best we have ever been, breakfast was just what you needed to start the day, amazing garden outside[unfortunately it was too cold for us to enjoy the big outside pool] with great view of Siena and the Tuscan hills.mario and elisabeta -the owners - are great people that will help you with everything from Siena history, best routes in Tuscany and restaurant recommendations and tips about the area and its history. perfect hotel for a romantic, quiet weekend or to be used [like in our case] as the place to rest, relax and have a glass of wine at the end of a day around Tuscany or a strong espresso to start your day.
perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pintheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

My fiancée and I decided to make a quick trip to Tuscany to look for possible places to host a destination wedding. Neither of us had been to Siena in our prior travels and thus chose it as our base of operations. We found Aia Mattonata on Trip Advisor as it was highly rated, albeit with few reviews and all in Italian, of which neither of us speak any! Despite initial concerns and a little difficulty finding the place, (this was our first driving experience in Italy and Google Maps proved not to be overly accurate) this quaint little bed and breakfast did nothing short of wow us from first sight!

First impression, the location is absolutely spectacular; you are located in the green rolling hills and olive orchards just a 5 minute drive south of Siena, close enough to have a spectacular view from any room on the north side of the building.

Once we were greeted by the owners Elisabetta and Mario we could just tell that they were genuinely concerned that every visitor has the most wonderful experience possible. This included everything from daily breakfasts, consisting of local meats, cheeses and breads, as well as their willingness to share their favorite restaurants and insights to Siena and Tuscany. Mario even gave us the directions to what he called the most beautiful drive in Italy, and let me tell you, it exceeded all expectations! As a side note, both speak perfect English.

Our wonderful experience did not stop at the beautiful scenery or the graciousness of our hosts. You could tell the painstaking lengths the owners went through to make this a first class stay. The entire building is newly renovated, as they just opened last October. Each room is very large and comfortable by any standards, European or not. You can tell the attention to detail that was paid by the proprietors as color schemes were perfectly matched and all amenities were of the highest quality. All in all, this is one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in in a very long time.

Unfortunately our stay could only be 3 days and we had a very early departure on Sunday. To no one's surprise at this point, Elisabetta and Mario offered to get up extra early to make us our breakfast before we left, a full 2 hours before the normal breakfast time. Even though we told them we would be fine without it, upon heading downstairs we found a special table made up for us.

I would normally say that I highly recommend Aia Mattonata Relais but I feel that would be doing it an injustice. In all honesty I can say that anyone not staying there while in Siena is missing out on one of its finest treasures.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rcatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing