We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our stay at Aia Mattonata Relais was simply magical, and the best accommodation of our trip to Italy. We felt like we were visiting family! Upon arriving, we did not have our rental car until the next day, and their son actually drove us to Siena for the afternoon. The following day, Elizibetta and Mario again went the extra mile for us and drove us to Siena to pick up our rental car! ot only are Elizibetta and Mario stunning hosts but, have created a beautiful property, as it is set upon the rolling hills of Siena. The farmhouse has five rooms, which all have stunning views of the Tuscan Hills, and we awoke each morning to the sound of wildlife. The rooms were also spacious, clean and wifi was provided. Each morning, a delicious homemade breakfast was served in the garden with an assortment of fruit, vegetables,homemade bread, pastries, and eggs. Throughout the day, they also leave a fridge stocked with beverages, and the kitchen contains snacks ( fruit, cookies, etc.) for guests. Our stay here was unforgettable and we we will recommend this property to all of our friends for years to come! Thank you for making our stay in Tuscany unforgettable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Shanna T,
we very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review on the site, it is very important for us and we thank you so much for your kind words about Mario and me.
It is so rewarding to read that all the aspects of your stay were so enjoyable!
Thanks again for recommending Aia Mattonata to all your friends and we do hope we will have the pleasure of meeting you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 736 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

Simply stunning, Elizibetta and Mario are the most gracious and welcoming hosts. Amazing views from up in the hills above Siena which is simply spectacular. 15 euro taxi from town centre and the train station. Delicious spread every morning for breakfast which is included! Fresh baked homemade bread, crossaints, eggs whichever way you like, cappuccinos or proper coffee, fresh fruit, yogourt, you name it! We usually had ours outside on the terrace overlooking the hills. No better way to start the day. Great hub to relax at after touring Siena or the surrounding towns like Montalchino for wine tours, etc. Did we mention the Infinity pool, it was so great to take numerous dips in during the day. Sunsets here are gorgeous. Rooms are very spacious, bed comfy, bathrooms super clean and modern but charming as well. We are here on our honeymoon and will most definitely be back again!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hills are stunning. Awesome to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Ben S,
thank you for posting such a lovely review on the site following your stay at Aia Mattonata and for your kind words about Mario and me. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room, the location, our breakfast, the pool and the sunset from the patio.
We do hope that you will stay again with us and we wish you all the best for the future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We followed other trip-advisor reviews and decided to stay here as our home base for touring Tuscany. We were very pleased with our 7 night stay. From the B&B we can sit out by the pool or patio area and relax, enjoy a beer (included!), have a snack and swim in the pool all while enjoying a magnificent view of Siena!
Elisabeth and Mario are amazing hosts. They are very accommodating to all guests. I noticed they even personally drove some guests into town that did not have a car!
My recommendation....this is a PERFECT place to use as a home base to tour Tuscany. But **RENT a CAR•• and stay for a few days or a week. From here you can day tour Montalcino, Pienza, Assisi, Volterra, San Gimigmanio, Greve etc etc. Not much is more than a 1 hour drive. But ***buy a data plan SIM card••• and use google map navigation, or get a car with GPS to help to navigate....the roads are crazy and were laid out by the cows or the Tuscans 500 years ago.
Some visitors here did not have a car and only stayed 2 days which might be ok, but you can see most of Tuscany from here with a car and sleep in the same bed every night.

The rooms a very comfortable, air conditioned, modern and large. There is a common area kitchen that is available to all guests to use if they buy lunch or some food for supper. A pleasant sitting area with a fireplace for visiting other guests and having a drink.

Highly recommended.
You probably won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear steve b,
thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Aia Mattonata .We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, the view, the rooms, the patio and that you were pleased of your long stay with us.
Thank you for recommending Aia Mattonata and for suggesting to rent a car, we totally agree, especially for a long stay.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in Siena.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta &Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I cannot use enough superlatives to describe this property B&B. It exceeded our expectations, Mario and Elizabetta have managed to create an absolutely beautiful, elegant, and restful place for all their guests. From the well appointed rooms to the delicious breakfast and the spectacular gardens with an incredible vista. This is THE place to stay when in Siena.
Grazie!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DanaLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear DanaLW,
thank you so much for your very positive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our little gem, our breakfast, the gardens and the view, thanks again.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata .
Warmest regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We arrived in Siena for the second part of our holiday in Italy. We had arranged for an apartment located within Siena that unfortunately was not what we expected. After quickly looking on Trip Advisor, we came across Aia Mattonata and called them. Mario and Elizabeth had one room available and sight unseen, we booked it. When we arrived, we were met by Mario and Victor, who whisked our luggage to our room. Mario was beyond gracious and gave us a tour of Aia Mattonata and all the beauty that it held. Aia Mattonata is a truly special place that offered us relaxation, amazing views of Siena’s skyline, and hospitality that was second to none. Each morning, we were greeted with a wonderful breakfast and excellent conversation with both Mario and Elizabeth. They both offered suggestions on what to venture out and see for the day. Much to their surprise, we were a bit of a challenge for them since we have travelled through Tuscany and seen much before. However, they stepped up to the challenge and provided us with some great sights and locations that we have not seen before. When we arrived back at the end of each day, they were eager to hear about our adventures and immediately started to think about where we could go next. The intimacy, relaxing atmosphere, the rooms, and the hosts all lead to one incredible experience that Aia Mattonata provided. If you are going to stay in Siena, you would be foolish not to book Aia Mattonata. Thank you for everything Mario and Elizabeth… The connection we made is everlasting and we can’t wait to see you again, either as a guest or a neighbor!!

Room Tip: The room on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden with a view of Siena was superb. Had 2 separate ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear davisten,
It was our great pleasure meeting you and taking care of you on your visit at Aia Mattonata and we thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review on the site, thank you!
We are so glad to hear that you loved the location, our hospitality, the breakfast and that you found all the ingredients to have a memorable experience in Siena.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to meet you again in Tuscany, either as guests or neighbors!
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our third visit to Tuscany and we decided to try Siena. We like to be near a selection of restaurants, bars and shops but also like the idea of escaping to a quiet retreat once we have finished our day/evening out. It you are seeking a perfect tranquil setting, wonderful hospitality, breakfasts and accommodation, lovely pool, terrace and two hosts offering unlimited recommendations, guidance and ideas of what to do, then look no further. Siena is just a short drive away and offers beautiful buildings and architecture and the surrounding countryside is exactly what you would expect of Tuscany - beautiful. Mario and Elisabetta (as well as their other staff) make your stay truly memorable and at the same time respect you are on holiday. This is not your normal run of the mill establishment and one we will without doubt chose to stay in when we return, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Bellhurst,
Thank you so much for your very positive review!
We are so glad to read that you had memorable days at Aia Mattonata and that you found useful our advices. So nice to hear that the location was perfect for you: with the convenience of having shops ,bars, restaurants near home and the quiet of the countryside after a long day in tour.
We do hope to welcoming you once more in Siena in the future ( not too distant future!)
Warm regards.
Mario & Elisabetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Thank goodness my wife and I invested in maps of Italy for our Garmin so that we easily located this little bit of heaven a little bit outside of Siena.
The refurbished farmhouse (it was a farmhouse Mario?) bed and breakfast was absolutely glorious. The room we stayed in, one of four upstairs, offered a beautiful view of the rolling hills of Tuscany. The decor was beautiful, the bathroom modern. The downstairs provided a restful sitting area, the kitchen all sorts of goodies if one got hungry or thirsty at any time of day. I recall how I often drank a small bottle of pear juice. It was magically replaced within the hour. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous. More than enough choice to satisfy everyone.
There was a library filled with books about Tuscany that helped to explain the days sight seeing and prepare us for the next one.
The backyard provided a fabulous view of Siena, particularly memorable as the sun set and the 800 year-old buildings took on a golden and purplish tone.
But most memorable was the friendliness of the hosts, Mario and Elisabetta and staff. I felt like I was visiting family -- actually family that I liked!
I cannot urge you enough, my fellow travelers to Siena, to stay at Aia Matonatta Relais and let the best that Tuscany has to offer seep into your soul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear booopie,
thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback on the site.
we are firstly delighted to read that you have been happy with our property ( yes! It was a farmhouse!), that you loved the room, our breakfast, the view and of course all what Tuscany can offer. Thank you!
How delighted to read that stay with us was like stay with a part of the family( that you liked of course!!!).
Thanks for recommending Aia Mattonata.
All the staff, I and Elisabetta will be glad to welcome you again and to look after you in a future visit in Siena.
Warmest regards,
Mario & Elisabetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
694 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
777 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,498 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $168 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing