We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Having got engaged in the garden at Aia Mattonata in 2012 we returned for 2 nights with my Fiancée's parents as we were out in Italy finalising our wedding plans for later in the year and couldn't think of anywhere better to stay.

First of all the Relais is located just outside Siena in the beautiful Tuscan countryside with panoramic views across to the city in the distance. The garden is immaculately presented with a good size pool, perfect to relax in at anytime, night or day.

There are only 5 rooms on site which makes it feel very exclusive. All 5 rooms are bright and airy and beautifully decorated in pastel colours and have a traditional Italian charm without being old fashioned.

Breakfast in served daily in the conservatory and has a wonderful selection of fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, yoghurts, cereals, yoghurts, breads and continental meats.

They do a Palio package in July and August which is a must. We had dinner in the streets with Elizabetta's contrada - Giraffa and once again this is an experience we will never forget.

Apart from the stunning garden, spectacular views and fantastic accommodation, the main charm of Aia Mattonata is the hosts, Mario & Elizabetta. They are both very kind and bend over backwards to ensure you have a perfect stay. You could say it's their job to look after their guests, however we believe it's their passion. They are always so upbeat and I for one am very grateful for making our engagement 2 years ago so special. We won't forget it and are returning for another 3 nights in July ahead of our wedding. If it was bigger, we would have had our wedding there. Mario arranged for us to go to his favourite producers vineyard in Montalcino to have a tasting and we selected our wedding wine off the back off this.

We have stayed in similar accommodation all over Tuscany and Umbria but nowhere has, or ever will come close in our opinion.

If your travelling to Tuscany stay at Aia Mattonata, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We love the canopy rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear GC81
it was our great pleasure to welcome you back in Siena after two years and we are so glad to read your description of Aia Mattonata and of your first stay with us. Thanks so much for this outstanding review and also for your kind words about Mario and me.
See you soon!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
522
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lovely place and architecture!! Wonderful landscape!!! Very close of Siena!!! Elisabetta, Mario, Stefano and all staff are so gracious and nice people!!! We loved our stay!!! We hope go back soon!!!! Top!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaMenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Cristina M,
thank you so much for your wonderful comment about your stay with us. Mario, I and all the staff very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at Aia Mattonata and only wish we could have stayed longer. There are many things that make Aia Mattonata superb. Firstly it was incredibly easy to find. The detailed instructions provided by our hosts, Mario and Elisabetta, meant we arrived without a glitch.

Greeting us upon arrival was the most stunning view of Siena. It would have been so easy to just lounge by the pool all day, beverage in hand, enjoying the view. The tranquility of the place was enhanced by the beautiful garden and the bird song.

Our hosts ensured that our rooms were immaculate and most comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with complimentary cold drinks, biscuits, crackers, lollies and fresh fruit. The breakfast provided a wonderful selection of local produce.

The location, approximately 5km from Siena, makes it an ideal place to visit Siena and the surrounding countryside.

The hospitality, warmth and sincerity of the owners made for a wonderful and memorable experience. Thank you Aia Mattonata!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKiwiWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear TheKiwiWanderers,
thank you for your positive review following your recent stay at Aia Mattonata and for your kind words about Mario and me.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, the view, the rooms, our breakfast and that you had a memorable experience.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on future visit in Siena.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta &Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for a week to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We had the most wonderful time, beautiful accommodation & garden with fabulous views to Siena. Mario, Elisabetta & their sons made us so welcome, not forgetting Runa, the dog.
This really is a beautiful part of Italy, made all the more special by staying at Aia Mattonata Relais.
We will definitely return soon.
Derek & Jill

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SilverTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Derek & Jill,
thank you for sharing your very positive comment on the site. We are delighted to welcome our guests in Italy for a special occasion and in this case we really want to let them have an unforgettable stay.
So nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at Aia Mattonata and that you would like to return.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a must stay place if you are visiting Siena. The only negative is that it is not really reachable to the town via foot , you need a car or taxi. The owners are fantastic, and the hospitality was wonderful! The rooms are very charming and the grounds are gorgeous with beautiful views!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSWITZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear JSWITZER,
thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the rooms, the garden and the view.
Thank you again for your kind words about Mario and me.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Aia Mattonata in the future
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay if you like waking up to the perfect silence and listening to mother nature with a heavenly view. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. You will feel home here. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Siena.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gergely R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Gergely R,
thank you for your very positive review following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you felt like at home and that you enjoyed the view and our staff.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Aia Mattonata in the future!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aci Castello, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I got to this relais because of its excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. It rates as "4th most romantic place in the world" and most romantic in Italy.. I don't know if I can agree with that, but it's most certainly a very nice place, with beautiful views over the Siena's countryside and very warm management. If you don't expect to be "in the most romantic place in Italy", it's definitively worth a stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear DarioCuon,
thank you so much for your comment about your stay with us and for your kind words.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing