We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

First time to Tuscany. Could not have found a better location or advise for what to see, eat, drink, where to park, etc.. Mario and Elisabetta helped us get the most of our four day stay. The premises were perfect in all aspects from location and views to the welcome home feel of the guest rooms and facilities. The breakfast was a treat each morning, everything fresh and not the usual American fare we are used to. We would highly recommend to anyone visiting the region, especially if not sure of what to see, do, etc.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Craig P,
thanks so much for your positive review and for your kind words about Elisabetta and me.
We are so pleased to read that Aia Mattonata came up to your expectations and that you appreciated all our advices. Thank you for recommending Aia Mattonata!
We do hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
501
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Aia Mattonata is quiet and away from town, with a picture-postcard view of medieval Siena. It’s central location proved to be the ideal hub for our explorations of Tuscany and only a short drive to Siena city center.

We were pampered each morning with a sumptuous buffet breakfast with made-to-order cafe latte’s, cappuccino’s, café Americano, etc. Juices, fresh baked croissants, pastries, breads, omelets, Italian cured meats and more. The kitchen always has fresh baked cookies and snacks, cold beer & soft drinks and a refrigerator for guests’ wine and take homes. Early evenings can be spent on the patio with a glass of wine and a photo-op view of Siena.

Parking is private and secure with keycard entry.

Our tasteful room was thoroughly cleaned each day with fresh linens & bottled water on the nightstands. Mario is rumored to be a “neat freak.” The bathrooms are modern and well equipped. All the details are covered.

One review here mentioned that the downstairs bedroom might be noisy; not true. We stayed in this room and loved its convenience and privacy.

The unique value in staying at Aia Mattonata, however, is in the thoughtfulness of your hosts, Mario and his lovely wife Elisabetta. I tossed my researched restaurant notes and relied on Mario’s recommendations for lunch and dinner in the surrounding towns. He knows Tuscany and his suggestions proved to be reliable. Mario’s directions to cities and suggestions for sites “not to be missed” are priceless. He prepares detailed maps for any itinerary you choose in Tuscany. Our day trips exceeded all our expectations! Grazie Mario! He and Elisabetta make private arrangements for non-public wine tastings and tours, cooking classes, bike explorations and more.

Elisabetta eagerly coached me in pronouncing Italian phrases and in everyday conversation. My wife and I looked forward to breakfast each morning just to converse with them. We could never forget Runa, their playful longhaired German shepherd who toyed with us daily with her rubber ball.

The Inn was booked each of our 4 nights and our fellow travelers agreed that Aia Mattonata was a unique and special place with the most thoughtful hosts you could hope for. We eagerly await our return trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear JimMarji,
thank you for posting such a lovely review on the site following your stay with us.
We are absolutely thrilled to hear that your stay was outstanding and delighted that you felt that nothing was lacking and that you enjoyed our breakfast, the patio with the view, your room on the groundfloor and the Italian class at breakfast time!
A million thanks for your kind words about me and Mario: we are so glad when we are able to help our guests with some good ( we hope!) advices.
What amazing feedback which we have passed to all our staff!
We do hope that you will stay again with us in a not too distance future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a couple of nights on our honeymoon and we'd happily stay again. The owners and staff went out of their way and nothing was too much trouble.

The location is ideal as you are further enough away from town to get peace and quiet with spectacular views of Siena but not so far away as to make it difficult to get into town. It is around €15 to get a taxi into town or a 10 minute drive. You're on the right side of town to park to get to the cathedral with ease.

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and there was some nice welcoming touches when we arrived. We also arrived early and were able to get into the room which was great.

Breakfast is something special, there is so much choice and all freshly baked or prepared you are spoilt for choice.

Simply put we couldn't recommend it more and if we come back to Tuscany we will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Chris S
thank you for posting such a lovely review on the site following your stay at Aia Mattonata. We are delighted that you felt us and the staff helpful and that you enjoyed your room, the location and our breakfast.
We do hope that you will stay again with us and we wish you all the best for the future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Aia Mattonata. The owners, Elisabetta and Mario, were very friendly and helpful. Runa (the lovely German Shepherd) was a complete sweetheart. The location is great for exploring the region (particularly Siena & San Gimignano), with beautiful views of the countryside and of Siena. The rooms are very quiet, clean, and spacious. The breakfast buffet of fruit, meats and cheeses, breads, cereal, and freshly baked goods, was incredible and certainly set us up for a day of travelling.

It was too cold for us to use the pool but I can imagine that it would be perfect to use during a warm summer day. It was a beautiful place to stay and we will absolutely be returning next time we are in Tuscany.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Amy F,
thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the site following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location, the room, our breakfast and that you loved Runa!
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to Siena, maybe in summer when the swimming pool will be open.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week trip through Italy and this was one of the best places we stayed. Mario and Elisabetta go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. They have added so many nice touches - complimentary cookies and beverages in the room, extra electrical adaptors, robes, ironing board, good lighting, access to a kitchen with snacks, fruit, glassware, plates, silverware, etc., which really make the stay like being at home. The breakfasts were excellent and abundant especially considering that this is a small B&B with only a few rooms. We couldn't have wanted more. Mario was so helpful in making suggestions for day trips and reservations. The only bad part was having to leave. We would definitely come back to Aia Mattonata and will tell any of our friends who may go to Siena about this great property. Thank you Mario and Elisabetta!

Room Tip: The second floor suite was very spacious and the bed very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choppers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Choppers..,
Thank you for your positive review on the site, so nice to hear that we have been able to let you feel like at home, it is very important for us. We are delighted to read that you had enjoyable stay with us and that you will recommend Aia Mattonata.
Of course we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a future visit.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Aia Mattonata is the perfect place to stay! Mario and Elisabetta take wonderful care of their guests and make you feel at home. They also give excellent restaurant suggestions! The property is amazing and very well located, the view is spectacular, the room and bathroom were tastefully decorated and very spacious and the breakfast was simply delicious! And that´s not all: they have a beautiful and very friendly german shepherd, Runa. We will definitely come back someday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lusdantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear lusdantas,
thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the rooms, the view, the location, our breakfast and our advices! And thanks for remembering our sweet Runa.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Genuine, warm, hospitable, elegantly simple, luxurious yet humble, and very comfortable.
If there is one special hotel that felt homey during our week stay in Italy, it would definitely be Aia Mattonata.
This centuries old Relais is owned and run by Mario and Elisabeth, a delightful couple, who makes you feel welcome in your own place. The Relais is conveniently situated on a hill in the heart of Tuscany, minutes from Sienna and a short drive from all major cities and villages in the area.
The exquisite rooms and bathrooms are spacious, full of natural light and designed to give you the vintage Tuscany feeling. The serenity of the hills and the earthly scents of the distant vineyards remain so vivid in our minds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear SamiM
thank you for your very positive review following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you felt like at home, our goal is to let our guests feel welcome in every moment of their stay and “at home far from home”. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view and the rooms.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Aia Mattonata for a longer stay!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing