We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Aia Mattonata. The owners, Elisabetta and Mario, were very friendly and helpful. Runa (the lovely German Shepherd) was a complete sweetheart. The location is great for exploring the region (particularly Siena & San Gimignano), with beautiful views of the countryside and of Siena. The rooms are very quiet, clean, and spacious. The breakfast buffet of fruit, meats and cheeses, breads, cereal, and freshly baked goods, was incredible and certainly set us up for a day of travelling.

It was too cold for us to use the pool but I can imagine that it would be perfect to use during a warm summer day. It was a beautiful place to stay and we will absolutely be returning next time we are in Tuscany.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Amy F,
thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the site following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location, the room, our breakfast and that you loved Runa!
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to Siena, maybe in summer when the swimming pool will be open.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Aia Mattonata Relais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week trip through Italy and this was one of the best places we stayed. Mario and Elisabetta go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. They have added so many nice touches - complimentary cookies and beverages in the room, extra electrical adaptors, robes, ironing board, good lighting, access to a kitchen with snacks, fruit, glassware, plates, silverware, etc., which really make the stay like being at home. The breakfasts were excellent and abundant especially considering that this is a small B&B with only a few rooms. We couldn't have wanted more. Mario was so helpful in making suggestions for day trips and reservations. The only bad part was having to leave. We would definitely come back to Aia Mattonata and will tell any of our friends who may go to Siena about this great property. Thank you Mario and Elisabetta!

Room Tip: The second floor suite was very spacious and the bed very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choppers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Choppers..,
Thank you for your positive review on the site, so nice to hear that we have been able to let you feel like at home, it is very important for us. We are delighted to read that you had enjoyable stay with us and that you will recommend Aia Mattonata.
Of course we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a future visit.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Aia Mattonata is the perfect place to stay! Mario and Elisabetta take wonderful care of their guests and make you feel at home. They also give excellent restaurant suggestions! The property is amazing and very well located, the view is spectacular, the room and bathroom were tastefully decorated and very spacious and the breakfast was simply delicious! And that´s not all: they have a beautiful and very friendly german shepherd, Runa. We will definitely come back someday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lusdantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear lusdantas,
thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the rooms, the view, the location, our breakfast and our advices! And thanks for remembering our sweet Runa.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Genuine, warm, hospitable, elegantly simple, luxurious yet humble, and very comfortable.
If there is one special hotel that felt homey during our week stay in Italy, it would definitely be Aia Mattonata.
This centuries old Relais is owned and run by Mario and Elisabeth, a delightful couple, who makes you feel welcome in your own place. The Relais is conveniently situated on a hill in the heart of Tuscany, minutes from Sienna and a short drive from all major cities and villages in the area.
The exquisite rooms and bathrooms are spacious, full of natural light and designed to give you the vintage Tuscany feeling. The serenity of the hills and the earthly scents of the distant vineyards remain so vivid in our minds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear SamiM
thank you for your very positive review following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you felt like at home, our goal is to let our guests feel welcome in every moment of their stay and “at home far from home”. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view and the rooms.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Aia Mattonata for a longer stay!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We travelled with family and had an aggressive itinerary. My husband and I had been to Italy several times before and would probably had different travel goals had not family wanted to experience the most common destinations (Rome, Venice, etc...).

We loved this hotel. We want to spend time at this hotel in the future just to relax and enjoy the Chianti/Tuscany region. The rooms were wonderful, the hotel very lovely situated, and the proprietors very friendly. Bruno (their german shepherd) was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnArborLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear AnnArborLory
thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room and the location and thanks for remembering our dog! We hope to meet you again in Siena and to welcome you at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Aia Mattonata for 4 nights in Oct 2013. The property and acccomodations are excellent. Mario and Elizabetta are very gracious hosts and were so helpful in providing directions to sites, restaurant reservations and anything else that we needed. Definitely THE place to stay in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Jim S,
thank you for your positive review and thank so much for describing Aia Mattonata ' THE' place to stay in Tuscany!
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Siena.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

First, If you are interested in exploring Tuscany, the location of Aia Mattonata Relais is ideal. All of our Tuscany destinations were within easy day trips driving. And, the driving was spectacular. Around every corner and over every hill the scenery was amazing. Second, the accommodations at Aia Mattonata were brilliant. An amazing combination of modern conveniences within a historic rural Tuscan environment. Yet, close enough to Sienna for anything from wonderful dinners to cleaning cloths. Third and most important, the Aia Mattonata is all about Mario and Elisabetta. They are the most genuine and sincere hosts you could ever imagine. Mario's advice for driving routes and destination points allowed us to experience Tuscany exactly as we wanted. Elisabetta's attention and concern of every detail of our stay was heart warming. It was difficult leaving, but left with wonderful memories.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite has unbelievable views of Tuscan Countryside and Sienna.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear gasa1956,
thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us. So nice to read that you enjoyed Aia Mattonata. Thank so much for your kind words about Elisabetta and me. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Siena.
Warm regards.
Mario & Elisabetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
673 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,300 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
424 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#8 of 40 in Siena
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $198 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing