We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location and hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location and hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We found Aia Mattonata Relais by searching trip advisor and we are so glad we did. With all of the positive reviews, we felt confident the Trip Advisors got it right...and they did. AMR was a wonderful place to start our vacation. And Mario and Elisabetta were exactly what we expected from all of the glowing reviews. They felt like family from the first meeting.

We had some travel/flight issues and didn't arrive until 9pm and our luggage was delayed by 4 more days. Mario was so helpful taking calls from the delivery service and I believe he single-handedly convinced them to deliver our bags a day early (the delivery service only delivers to Siena every other day normally, but after Mario spoke with them, our bags showed up the next day).

Elisabetta gave us a great summary of the history of Siena/Florence and the area when we asked for a map of Siena....we wanted to take her with us on our day trip.

Mario arranged for a Tuscan cooking class with Massimo, just a few minute drive away, and even drove us there and picked us up with his son. They stayed with us for the dessert we prepared and we all talked about the countryside, where they like to travel to, their visits to the USA and their thoughts on the visits. It was a highlight just sitting on a terrace, drinking wine, eating dessert and enjoying the evening.

Bottom line is you should stay here if at all possible. The rooms and grounds are immaculate. The breakfasts and coffee were outstanding and Mario/Elisabetta were so very gracious hosts. We would definitely return and hope to soon.

(Mario/Elisabetta, please give our regards to Luna, and if you ever make it to Houston, please let us know).

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any bad rooms here. A rental car with GPS is probably a necessity, at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geaux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Geaux1
Thanks so much for your positive review and for your kind words about Elisabetta and me.
We are so pleased to read that Aia Mattonata came up to your expectations and that you appreciated all our advices.
We were so sorry for your luggage and we could not imagine you without them one day more, so we did all what we could and it worked, fortunately!
We really hope to welcome you again in Siena or…see you in Houston!
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
501
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights for a walking holiday, the accommodation was fantastic - large and immaculately clean rooms with great views, lovely terrace and swimming pool with a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside and Siena.
Mario and Elisabetta were fantastic hosts as all the other reviews say, who were always willing to help out with any requests (including giving us a walking booklet of the Tuscany area), their dog Runa was also very friendly, and breakfast on the terrace in the morning was always delicious, with lots of fresh fruit, ham, cheeses and homemade goodies. Service was always impeccable and friendly by Natalina.
We love Italy and have stayed in lots of places all over, and this is definitely our favourite - so much so we will be booking for next year, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Helen041,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback about your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you loved the room, the swimming pool, our breakfast, our advices and Runa!
We have passed your kind words to Natalina, who is very grateful.
We are waiting for you in Siena next year.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Aia Mattonata for two nights in mid-August 2013. I hadn't been able to plan our trip as well as I would have liked, but Mario sat down with me as soon as we arrived and helped to sort out tours, restaurant reservations, and a plan for our stay near Siena. My stress level immediately reduced by about 90%, and the atmosphere at their lovely B&B is so quiet and relaxing generally all of my travel woes were immediately put behind me.

Elizabetta and Mario are wonderful hosts, the property is stunning, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the breakfast is delicious, and everything they recommended was outstanding. We had the best food and the best walking tour of our entire 15 day honeymoon because of their help! We did not have a car but Mario kindly drove us to town, which was unnecessary as we had prepared to take taxis but was much appreciated!

Apparently if you are going there for your honeymoon or a special occasion, you should mention this to them in advance as they like to do something special for you. We aren't really the type to look for special attention so hadn't mentioned it beforehand, but Mario and Elizabetta seemed so disappointed that they hadn't known I wished we'd said something to give them the pleasure! As it was, they gave us a lovely gift at the end of our stay and were so sweet!

Lastly, I will say that their dog Runa is very nice and my husband had lots of fun throwing the ball for her. However, I am afraid of dogs and Mario and Elizabetta were very helpful, not drawing attention to it in front of the other guests to embarrass me but making sure that I was comfortable and did not have to go near her. If you are worried about the dog (as I admit, I was!) don't be, it won't be a problem. And dog lovers, you are in for a treat!

We will be back, this time with a car to go exploring further afield. We've already started our Italian lessons as well!

Thank you very much, Mario and Elizabetta! - Elizabeth and Alan Cowens

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Elisabeth and Alan,
thank you for sharing your very positive comment on the site. So nice to hear that our help and our advices have been so important to make your stay enjoyable. We are delighted to welcome our guests in Italy for a special occasion and in this case we really want to let them have an unforgettable stay.
Our dog Runa is a part of the family but we don’t want to forget and we cannot forget that a guest could be afraid of a big dog like her. Behind the gate of our garden maybe she is a little sad …but all our guests feel safe!
We have one more advice for you….improve your Italian here in Siena! Looking forward to welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Mario and Elizabetha are the best hosts. From the time you arrive to the time you leave they make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious , clean and very comfortable. They offer a great breakfast outdoors overlooking the town of Siena. They have snacks and drinks in the kitchen for their guests. They recommended self guided tours in Tuscany and fabulous off the beaten path. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear socruiser,
Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted that we have been able to let you feel like at home. It is very important for us.
You wrote that you cannot wait to return…. of course we do really hope to meet you again in Siena!
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay just prior to the Palio this year. Mario and Elizabetta could not have been more helpful in advising us on everything from restaurants, parking and how/where to watch the Palio. We ended up having the most incredible experience . The location is perfect, the view like a painting, and the swimming pool a welcome relief after walking around a baking hot Sienna. It was great to feel so looked after and cared for by our excellent hosts and it was the perfect beginning to our holiday. The advice on the Scenic view to drive to Pienza was gold dust - the views were out of this world. Thank you for a fantastic stay and good luck to you son! All the best Catherine Faulks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherinefaulks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Catherine,
thank you so much for your positive review following your stay with us and for your kind words about Elisabetta and me. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Palio and that you loved the surrounding of Siena.
It was our great pleasure to look after you and your family.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location with owners passionate about ensuring you have a fantastic stay, thank you Mario and Elisabetta for unravelling the Palio and the parking in Siena. Wonderful stay. Peter and Alexis.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilmerp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Peter and Alexis,
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and we do hope that you will be able to come back in Siena one day to enjoy again the Palio’s days.
Thank you for your positive feedback.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed a week at Aia Mattonata and couldn't have had a better time. The cappuccinos at breakfast taste delicious, and the accommodations and location are both spectacular (about a mile from Sienna, rooms are super clean and well appointed, located in a beautiful spot with great views, and there's an awesome pool), but the people really made our trip. Mario and Elisabetta are both wonderful hosts who have a lot of knowledge about Tuscany. Mario's recommendations were all spot on, and all of them became highlights of our trip. He directed us to a local restaurant our first night, where we had one of the best meals of our stay in Italy. Another time he helped us book a trip to a small vineyard in Tuscany which was tremendous, and we never would have known about it otherwise. But not only that, Mario also mapped out the route we should take to get in a scenic drive. We were a tad late to the vineyard because we kept stopping to take pictures of the countryside! Elisabetta also gave us great suggestions for parking in Sienna during the Palio (which is crazy as tens of thousands of people come to Sienna for that) that worked out superbly and really helped keep us out of traffic and our stress levels down. Mario and Elisabetta are both caring and warm people that always go the extra mile to give their guests the best possible experience. I have no doubt that if you stay here (and I highly recommend you do) you will have one of the best experiences of your life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear matt K,
Thank you so much for your positive review following your stay at Aia Mattonata and for your kind words about Mario and me.
It was a great pleasure to looking after you and to giving you some advices about how to survive in Siena during the Palio’ s days! After this experience, we hope you will miss Siena and the Palio race, so, maybe, we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#10 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing