We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aia Mattonata Relais
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Caterina(Siena)(Great Value!)
$194
$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo di Valli(Siena)(Great Value!)
$157
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Minerva(Siena)(Great Value!)
$178
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Colonna(Siena)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sangallo Park Hotel(Siena)(Great Value!)
$254
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Executive(Siena)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Athena(Siena)(Great Value!)
$181
$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chiusarelli(Siena)(Great Value!)
$128
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa Scacciapensieri(Siena)(Great Value!)
$142
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
712
23
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
23
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman shepherddog runawonderful hostsowners mariob bour honeymoonevery morningbeautiful propertytuscan countrysideinfinity poolminute driverestaurant reservationsexplore tuscanyoverlooking sienahighlight of our trippleasure of stayinggrazie mille
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 742 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Mario and Elizabetha are the best hosts. From the time you arrive to the time you leave they make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious , clean and very comfortable. They offer a great breakfast outdoors overlooking the town of Siena. They have snacks and drinks in the kitchen for their guests. They recommended self guided tours in Tuscany and fabulous off the beaten path. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear socruiser,
Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted that we have been able to let you feel like at home. It is very important for us.
You wrote that you cannot wait to return…. of course we do really hope to meet you again in Siena!
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay just prior to the Palio this year. Mario and Elizabetta could not have been more helpful in advising us on everything from restaurants, parking and how/where to watch the Palio. We ended up having the most incredible experience . The location is perfect, the view like a painting, and the swimming pool a welcome relief after walking around a baking hot Sienna. It was great to feel so looked after and cared for by our excellent hosts and it was the perfect beginning to our holiday. The advice on the Scenic view to drive to Pienza was gold dust - the views were out of this world. Thank you for a fantastic stay and good luck to you son! All the best Catherine Faulks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherinefaulks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Catherine,
thank you so much for your positive review following your stay with us and for your kind words about Elisabetta and me. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Palio and that you loved the surrounding of Siena.
It was our great pleasure to look after you and your family.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location with owners passionate about ensuring you have a fantastic stay, thank you Mario and Elisabetta for unravelling the Palio and the parking in Siena. Wonderful stay. Peter and Alexis.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilmerp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Peter and Alexis,
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and we do hope that you will be able to come back in Siena one day to enjoy again the Palio’s days.
Thank you for your positive feedback.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed a week at Aia Mattonata and couldn't have had a better time. The cappuccinos at breakfast taste delicious, and the accommodations and location are both spectacular (about a mile from Sienna, rooms are super clean and well appointed, located in a beautiful spot with great views, and there's an awesome pool), but the people really made our trip. Mario and Elisabetta are both wonderful hosts who have a lot of knowledge about Tuscany. Mario's recommendations were all spot on, and all of them became highlights of our trip. He directed us to a local restaurant our first night, where we had one of the best meals of our stay in Italy. Another time he helped us book a trip to a small vineyard in Tuscany which was tremendous, and we never would have known about it otherwise. But not only that, Mario also mapped out the route we should take to get in a scenic drive. We were a tad late to the vineyard because we kept stopping to take pictures of the countryside! Elisabetta also gave us great suggestions for parking in Sienna during the Palio (which is crazy as tens of thousands of people come to Sienna for that) that worked out superbly and really helped keep us out of traffic and our stress levels down. Mario and Elisabetta are both caring and warm people that always go the extra mile to give their guests the best possible experience. I have no doubt that if you stay here (and I highly recommend you do) you will have one of the best experiences of your life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear matt K,
Thank you so much for your positive review following your stay at Aia Mattonata and for your kind words about Mario and me.
It was a great pleasure to looking after you and to giving you some advices about how to survive in Siena during the Palio’ s days! After this experience, we hope you will miss Siena and the Palio race, so, maybe, we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I spent a magical 4 nights at Aia Mattonata, and we couldn't have asked for a more wonderful experience. Elisabetta and Mario are the perfect hosts, and their staff are warm and welcoming. The location is excellent, a great base for touring Tuscany and for exploring nearby Sienna, and the accomodation is second to none. Everything is immaculately clean, the bedrooms are fantastic and the breakfast selection is stunning (as is the view from the breakfast tables!). We arrived with no luggage (our suitcase had been lost at Gatwick) but Elisabetta and Mario went out of their way to help us - providing spare clothes in addition to toiletries, and giving advice about seeking medical help (I had stupidly packed my medication in our sole suitcase). Their kindness was incredible and we couldn't be more grateful. If you are looking for a place to stay in Tuscany, this is it - we highly recommend Aia Mattonata!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HC2009London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear HC2009London,
Thank you for sharing your very complimentary comments about Aia Mattonata on the site. We are delighted that you had enjoyable stay with us and that you found our staff welcoming and warm.
We were so sad for the drawback of the luggage but at the same time we were glad to be able to help you with some indispensable articles.
Thanks a lot for recommending Aia Mattonata and, of course, we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Siena.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews