We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place run by great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place run by great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The property is beautifully situated with views across the valley to Sienna, with a lovely garden and great swimming pool. Rooms are comfortable, simply and elegantly furnished with good bathrooms and facilities.

But Aia Mattonatta is really about the wonderful people that run it. Mario and Elisbetta are more hosts than hoteliers and they really make sure that you feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and they go the extra mile in all respects. And to top it all, they serve a really great Tuscan breakfast. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbieac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear robbieac,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay.
So nice to read that you liked the property, the room, the swimming pool and our Tuscan breakfast.
We do really hope to welcome again at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Mario e Elisabetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
513
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

There is really nothing more that I can add to all the wonderful reviews already posted. It is a wonderful place. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the grounds and views are spectacular! Elisabetta and Mario are marvelous hosts but even more marvelous people. They truly do anything and everything to make your stay a time you will remember cherish. In our short two day stay we really did feel more like family than guests. Let me also say we are in love with Runa ...the family dog! Our only regret was missing the opportunity to say arrivederci to Mario on the morning we left. We have been home for one week and are already talking about wanting to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw4454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear sw4454,
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback and for your kind words about Elisabetta and me, and about our dear Runa.
We are so glad to hear that you are in love with her .Sorry again if I could not be present when you went away ….can we consider that another good reason to come back to Aia Mattonata, so I can meet you again?
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit.
Warm regards,
Mario e Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at this fabulous B&B for 2 nights earlier this month and what a wonderful find it was.
Mario and Elsebette were the most helpful hosts that we have ever encountered and we all felt that we were staying at our own home from home.
The location is fantastic, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts were scrumptious.
We will not hesitate to stay at the Aia again on our next trip to beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbweiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear tbweiner,
Thank you for posting your positive feedback on the site.
It’s so nice to read that you felt like at home , you liked the rooms, the location and our breakfast.
We hope to meet you again in Siena and to welcome you at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent 3 days here,best view in Tuscany,fantastic hosts and hospitality. Is 3or4km out of to wn, best done if you have your own transport, but Mario and Elizabetta are very helpful organising taxis and drivers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danieldevilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Danieldevilliers,
Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay at Aia Mattonata and for your kind words about Elisabetta and me.
We do really hope to welcome you again in Siena.
Warm regards.
Mario e Elisabetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second trip to Aia Mattonata. After our first trip last year, we decided to book our honeymoon here and see the Palio in July. This year we congratulated ourselves on our decision - it was the perfect location for our honeymoon.

Mario and Elisabetta work so hard to ensure that all the guests have a relaxing stay and try to cater for every comfort. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. The limited number of rooms means that Aia M never feels overcrowded even when fully booked. The views all around Aia M are stunning and the garden looked beautiful with a range of flowering shrubs including roses, lavender, rosemary, buddleia, hypericum, escallonia and the customary olive trees.

Each morning a fantastic breakfast spread awaited us with a huge selection fit for royalty, including freshly homemade bread, caprese salad, spelt salad, pastries, cold meats and cheeses. The choice is extensive and too long to list exhaustively. The coffee merits a special mention served by lovely Natalina.

In the evening when we didn’t feel like dining out at a restaurant, we popped down to the local deli nearby at Costafabbri (Antica Salumeria Salvini) who provided us with a tasty range of items for us to savour as we watched the sunset over Siena from Aia Mattonata’s garden. An alternative to dining out in Siena is Osteria Il Ristoro at Villa Corsano, where you will find reasonably priced and tasty Italian food.

Nowhere else on Earth, except for Aia Mattonata, have we found a hotel where the host arranges for their father to escort guests to a museum, translate and even buy us ice cream. Out of this world! We had only one regret - that we didn’t book a longer stay.

Grazie Mille Elisabetta, Mario, Enio, Vittorio, Natalina, Roberta and Runa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Harvey,
thank you for taking the time to post a review, an outstanding review! It’s very important for us.
We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and that you consider Aia Mattonata a perfect place for honeymoon.
It was our great pleasure to take care of you and, as we say Italy “good things always come in threes”, we are ready to welcome you in Siena for the third time!!
Warm regards.
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Why is Aia Mattonata Relais the highest rated lodging in Siena? The answer is the owners Mario and Elisabetta (plus their dog Runa), who live on the property of the hotel. We came to Siena mainly to attend the Palio, so we needed a lot more help with arrangements than at other places because we wanted to rent vehicles (Vespas!!!), get Palio seats, attend a Palio contrade dinner, etc. I considered doing this separately on my own but Mario was absolutely a saint about replying to emails immediately and in perfect English, so I asked his help in making all our arrangements. I am so grateful for everything he arranged... our Vespas were waiting for us in the driveway, we had our contrada and Palio experiences totally coordinated, and the room and grounds were lovely. Elisabetta is a paragon of hospitality and gives Aia Mattonata a soul that other lodgings can't. The included breakfast is fantastic as well. My only caution is that Mario can be a little optimistic when giving directions-- it can be tricky to navigate Italian roads so I encourage you to supplement his maps with a GPS and the address of your destination :) (Sorry Mario!) We would definitely recommend this to friends and family and definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs room has a king bed and is quiet is convenient to breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Nathan,
first of all thank you for your feedback and for the wonderful words about Elisabetta and me.
It was our great pleasure to look after you during your stay with us.
You are right, maybe we are the added value in our business, Elisabetta always says “ Mario is the brain and I’m the soul….” but we cannot forget : 1) our dedicated team who helps us to care about all the needs of our guests; 2) and you ,all our guests, you have been all so kind and understanding if something was not so “perfect”. When you arrive at Aia Mattonata you are for the first 10 minutes guests and then really friends and it’s a great pleasure to work for you!
See you soon for the next Vespa tour with maps and…GPS!!!!!
Warm regards
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in May. The weather was not too flash but the property and the hosts were amazing. Mario gave us a big warm welcome and a wee tour of the property.
Our room was large with a big bathroom. Excellent wifi throughout the property. Breakfasts were amazing with lovely home made cakes & breads, along with a choice of cereals, yoghurts, cheese and meats , and with a great hot cappuccino. There was a lovely swimming pool which we did not get to use - One evening we used the dining area to have cheese and wine for our dinner with other guests which was nice. Excellent facilities and a lovely relaxing place to stay. Thank you Mario for also sending my car key on! We will be back one day to hopefully use the pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms upstairs are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sandra,
Thank you for the positive review and for your kind words .It’s very important your feedback for us and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and your room. In May we had bad weather and you could not use the swimming pool…so one more reason to come back at Aia Mattonata and enjoy our garden with the view on Siena!
We look forward to seeing you again in Tuscany.
Warm regards.
Mario & Elisabetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing