We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Luxury!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Luxury!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We planned our recent trip to Tuscany with help from the Trip Advisor reviews. We had stayed in Florence and San Gimignano before arriving at our final destination in Siena. We stayed here for 3 nights and from the moment we arrived, Mario and Elisabetta were absolutely fantastic...my wife was 25 weeks pregnant and they truly looked after us and made us feel unbelievably welcome. We had such fun having our daily chats with Elisabetta and thoroughly enjoyed her warmth, humour and charm!! Regarding the place itself, it simply is perfection at it's best. Everything is so well organised and the attention to detail throughout the whole complex is superb!!! From the amazing room and bathroom to the generous complimentary 24/7 drinks/snacks and stunning gardens/infinity pool, this place is pure luxury!!! One night we fancied a break from restaurant food so Mario recommended a local deli where we bought beautiful cheese/salad/bread/meats which we ate whilst sitting on the beautiful terrace watching the sun set. Simply stunning!!!! Mario and Elisabetta, you have such a beautiful residence and your hard work in creating the 'perfect accommodation' is reflected in your richly deserved #1 Trip Advisor status. Thank you so much for making it the best stay of our entire trip!!! Dan & Vicki. PS give Runa a big kiss from us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Dan & Vicky,
Thank you for your feedback and wonderful comment about aia Mattonata.
We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyable stay with us and that you believe we deserve #1 tripadvisor status.
We do try very hard to make sure that everything is great for our guest during their stay, and in this case we had a “special third guest”….!
We wish you all the very best for the future and we hope to meeting you again in Siena.
PS: we gave a big kiss to Runa!
Elisabetta e Mario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
513
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Aia Mattonata June 1 - June 6. It is a short, five-minute drive from Siena and once there you have a beautiful view of the town. Mario and Elisabetta are gracious, inviting hosts who helped us finalize our daily plans so that we enjoyed the various hill towns surrounding our location. Our room was well appointed, inviting and clean. The grounds were well lanscaped and the pool very inviting. While not a hot breakfast, we thoroughly enjoyed the meal, the variety of food offered and the pride Annetella (help with the spelling please Mario) showed in preparing it for us daily. If and when we are in the Siena area again, we would not hesitate to stay there. (We thought it was reasonably priced as well.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Jane W,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Aia Mattonata.
Thank you for your kind words about us and about the work of our team, which is very rewarding.
We do hope to welcoming you once more in Siena.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Sometimes, consistent rave reviews raise your expectations beyond reality. That was our experience at Aia Mattonata: we were expecting so much, that we were slightly disappointed.
So a few words to give a different perspective: this place is perfect for those who want to relax, and be in the countryside; not for someone who wants to have easy access to the city, sights, restaurants, etc. You absolutely must have a car to stay here, and it's not easy to find. A GPS is a must. Once you know your way, it is only a short drive to Siena. We also found that the price was considerably more than other places we stayed in Italy, so for this reason as well, we were expecting a higher standard. (not sure what the comparison is to other rates in Siena.) The breakfast, for example, was "modest" - cold omelettes weren't appetizing to us.
Having said that, the grounds are indeed beautiful, the rooms comfortable, everything is very modern and electronically controlled.
Access to the kitchen and complimentary snacks was a very nice touch.
And yes, Mario and Elisabetta are lovely, generous hosts, who clearly love what they do and put their heart in it.
I'm just trying to be honest to help people make an informed decision..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear anonmate,
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay with us.
We are glad to know that you have appreciated our work and all our efforts to make your stay comfortable.
You are right when you write that Aia Mattonata is a very peaceful place, and that is better to have a GPS to arrive here, because we are only a short drive from Siena, but in the countryside and without good road markings : for that reason, we always email our guests – 15 days before their arrival – a map and detailed instructions to get here, and when they are here we provide them with maps and also a gps, if they need it.
Thank you also for your kindness in writing that our ‘ omelet ‘ was not appetizing for you : for breakfast we usually serve eggs in many different ways: cold omelet in summer, hard boiled eggs, and scrambled , soft boiled and fried eggs made to order.
Thank you so much again.
We do sincerely hope that we will see you again in Siena.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I read several reviews before selecting Aia Mattonata. All the reviews on Aia Mattonata were correct. This place is amazing. Mario and Elisabetta were so accommodating. They assisted daily on parking, restaurants and sites to see. All which were excellent recommendations. I would return to this B&B anytime. The rooms were nice and very clean. The room we stayed in was close to the kitchen on the bottom floor and I didn't hear any noises in the morning. They offer a daily breakfast that was delicious everyday. Fresh baked goods and bread everyday. The entire staff was so nice. This place is right outside of Siena and a close drive to Firenze and Pisa. We took a train to Rome which Mario recommended due to the traffic (good idea). Siena was actually my favorite place to visit. Downtown, Duomo, museums and restaurants were all amazing. Shopping was good here as well. Mario also recommended a private cooking lesson with Chef Massimo! This is a must do. Massimo was amazing and spoke very good English. The lessons were not cheap but so worth it. Speaking of price Aia Mattonata is very reasonable and I would strongly recommend this place. Very nice place for honeymoon or romantic getaway or even just friends going to visit Italy. Mario and Elisabetta have really made this a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Michele,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Aia Mattonata following your recent stay.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the location, found the staff excellent, enjoyed your room and the breakfast with fresh baked goods and bread!
We take great pride in our little gem and we are thrilled to hear that you would like to stay with us again.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
287 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well, i just left Aia Mattonata two days ago. I stayed with my wife karine there, during 4 nights, from june 8 to june 12. You will not find anything better than this. So stop looking for and stay here. I splited my 8 days trip at tuscany into 2 hotels and i regret that i didn't stay the whole period at Aia Mattonata. The owners Mario and Elisabeta are so nice, helpful and generous. They host you as if you were part of their family and they do anything they can to please you and to help you to enjoy the most your time, helping you to plan routes, providing you maps, indicating restaurants, etc. Besides, the place is so beautiful, peacefull and quiet and they have a wonderful view of siena skyline. Just a 5 minutes drive to Siena. I will recomend this place to everybody and i cant wait going back to tuscany and staying there again. Thank you Mario and Elisabeta. You made us feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelipeCuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Felipe and Karine,
thank you for your lovely feedback.
It was our great pleasure looking after you.
We are delighted to hear that you spent 4 fabolous days with us and that you liked so much Aia Mattonata.
We do hope we will meet you again in Siena!
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Aia Mattonata for 5 days this May-June and had an absolutely wonderful time. Mario and Elisabetta have invested a significant amount of resources and time to make their B&B an unforgettable experience for their guests. As the other reviewers commented, it is an equivalent of staying with a family or close friends somewhere in the Tuscan countryside. The property is delightful - beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, well-decorated and always immaculately clean. Mario is a wealth of local knowledge and we had a few gourmet dinners based on his recommendations, successfully avoiding the tourist traps of Siena. We did not use the pool but rather sat outside on a few sunny and warm mornings - unfortunately, this has been a rather temperamental late spring-summer. Which of course gives us a reason to come back! We loved Runa, the German Sheppard and the life at Aia Mattonata. We are so pleased having found Aia and have no doubt that the other visitors will enjoy it just as much...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Quax,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We do like our guests to feel that they are at home and with friends, so we are very glad to know that you felt right that.
Thank you so much for loving Runa and for writing about her, we will throw the red ball to her from you!
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Before i write about Aia Mattonata I'll first say that my girlfriend and I generally prefer full-service hotels and rarely revisit any location on the basis that there are so many other places to go. Now comes the however .......... Aia Mattonata is that rarity for us, a small, intimate hotel that leaves us wanting to visit again and again.

We first visited last June when Aia Mattonata was our favourite hotel in the 6 weeks we spent travelling around Italy. We returned last weekend and, after a stressful journey (Heathrow delays), we were welcomed like old friends by Mario & Elisabetta and, of course, Luna the dog.

As many other reviewers have mentioned, your hosts will organise tours, restaurants, taxis, etc. Breakfast is great, except for your waistline (the cakes are too nice). There are free snacks and drinks available all day. We didn't get to use the pool this time as the weather was not great but used it extensively last year and it is great to cool off from the Tuscan sun. Views of the city from the garden (& pool) are wonderful and it takes 10mins in a taxi to reach Siena (which is much better than driving as you can both drink the great wine then).

None of these facts, though, can convey the feeling of warmth you get from your hosts and how quickly you feel totally at home in their beautiful B&B. As I said this isn't the type of place we usually stay, however, it is so exceptional that it makes us break our rules.

We will be back again for more great wine, food and Aia Mattonata relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JZKTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear JZKTA,
Thank you so much for your outstanding review!
We are so glad to read all the wonderful words about Aia Mattonata and about us.
It was our great pleasure to meet you again and to look after you.
We do hope to welcoming you once more in Siena in the future ( not too distant future!)
Warm regards.
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing