We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets or exceeds every expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Meets or exceeds every expectation”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Trip advisor reviews gave us high expectations and Mario and Elizabetha exceded them in every way. Great location in country but close to Siena, quiet, very comfortable large room, nice public areas. We stays in several places as nice physically but what makes it extra special are the hosts who are almost always available, very warm, and very helpful in arranging tours and making plans. We did not use the spa or pool as weather was unseasonable cool this May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Rich510,
thank you for your positive feedback following your stay.
How wonderful to hear that you loved Aia Mattonata and that we are always available and helpful with our advices !
It's a great pleasure to help our guests to discover and appreciate as well as possible Tuscany!
Kind regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
527
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed there only one night. We travelled for one week in Tuscany and Mattonata was the best place we stayed.

The owners are very nice, friendly people and thet work very detailed and organized.

Rooms are comfortable, very clean and have land views. Especially the matress was perfect, the best I've ever slept. (Including my own bed)

It's only 2 km to Siena, very easy to stay at Mattonata and have dinner at Siena, or daily travel near towns.

The garden is very lovely, well kept and have a fantastic Siena view.

The breakfast is perfect with lots of fresh food, cheese and others.

Absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Everything is perfect, no need for tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Gunba,
we very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review on the site, it is very important for us.
It is so rewarding to read that all the aspects of your stay were so enjoyable!
We look forward to seeing you very soon in Siena for a longer stay.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I chose Aia Mattonata for our recent 3 night stay based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Everything about Aia Mattonata is perfect, from the location, the beautifully restored homestead, the comfy rooms, the delicious breakfast, the views to Siena town, Runa the resident dog and, of course, the 2 people who make it all perfect - Mario and Elizabetta. They could not have been more helpful with suggestions for touring and restaurants. My sister was sick during our stay and Elizabetta spent many hours arranging a doctor, assisting with interpreting and running us to a pharmacy. This place deserves every award it gets - spoil yourself - just do it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabathaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear TabathaBrisbane,
It was our great pleasure looking after you during your stay in Siena.
The headline of your review says everything and we are thankful for the wonderful description of Aia Mattonata.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, la
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

spent 3 great nights in siena at aia mattonata as our home base for the Tuscany region in mid may 2013. Mario and Elizabetta are the best host possible. they are always willing and helpful on giving suggestions for resturants , sights etc. location is great..just outside of siena and great central location for all the Tuscan hill towns like cortana, pisa, lucca, vulterra ....breakfast was a treat every morning ....oh and that view each day can not be duplicated very clean house , gardens are so well kept . memories that can never be forgotten and will be our home on a return visit to tuscany..and just to let everyone know they made us into fans of the gariffe and the goose for the palio

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear nolaed,
thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we are grateful for your kind words about us. We are glad to hear that you loved Tuscany and that you will always have good memories of your trip in Italy. Please don’t forget that you do have “home and friends” in Siena always ready to welcome you!
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Aia Mattonata Relais for 2 nights in early May. I can't say enough wonderful things about the farmhouse or Elisabetta & Mario. They have done such a wonderful job creating the perfect "home" for their guests. The rooms are beautiful and breakfast was wonderful. The service was exceptional!! I think my favorite part was just sitting on the terrace enjoying the weather, the view, and their sweet dog, Runa. Thank you Elisabetta and Mario for making our stay so nice. We can't wait to come back, but for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berg281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear berg281,
thank you for your positive feedback.
It's so wonderful to hear that you consider Aia Mattonata the perfect ' home' for our guests. Thank you!
It's really our great pleasure in taking care of you and we are very glad when we hear that you would like to come to Siena again.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in May. We only wish we had booked a longer stay. The setting is breathtaking with a view of the Tuscan hills and Siena on the horizon. Our hosts, Mario and Elisabetta, are gracious and charming. When we arrived after a tiring train ride from Cinque Terre Mario offered to drive us to Siena rather than having us wait for a cab. Arrangements were also made to do our laundry on short notice. I also must add that the breakfast was exceptional. This is the place to stay in Siena. We will defintely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Rober M,
thank you for your review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the location, the view and our services.
We have passed your kind words about our breakfast to all the staff and to Natalina!
Warmest regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Betta and Mario, the most gracious hosts ! They made our stay so comfortable and easy. They were always available to help arrange things, a restaurant reservation, our wine tour...whatever our request, they were there to accommodate. We even called one evening while lost somewhere in Siena, and Mario helped us find a restaurant late at night. The rooms were lovely..quaint, comfortable and very clean. The location is perfect and near to San Gimignano as well as the other "must see" locations in Tucsany. Breakfast was delightful and Betta was always around to chat and see to it that we had everything we needed. We would not stay anywhere else than with Betta and Mario while in Siena

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear leplap,
thank you for your review which means a lot to us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you so much for the beautiful words. For Betta is a great pleasure of starting the day chatting with our guests during breakfast!
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit in Siena.
Kind regards,
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,179 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
2.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing