We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location. Perfect hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in May. We only wish we had booked a longer stay. The setting is breathtaking with a view of the Tuscan hills and Siena on the horizon. Our hosts, Mario and Elisabetta, are gracious and charming. When we arrived after a tiring train ride from Cinque Terre Mario offered to drive us to Siena rather than having us wait for a cab. Arrangements were also made to do our laundry on short notice. I also must add that the breakfast was exceptional. This is the place to stay in Siena. We will defintely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Rober M,
thank you for your review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the location, the view and our services.
We have passed your kind words about our breakfast to all the staff and to Natalina!
Warmest regards
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 736 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Betta and Mario, the most gracious hosts ! They made our stay so comfortable and easy. They were always available to help arrange things, a restaurant reservation, our wine tour...whatever our request, they were there to accommodate. We even called one evening while lost somewhere in Siena, and Mario helped us find a restaurant late at night. The rooms were lovely..quaint, comfortable and very clean. The location is perfect and near to San Gimignano as well as the other "must see" locations in Tucsany. Breakfast was delightful and Betta was always around to chat and see to it that we had everything we needed. We would not stay anywhere else than with Betta and Mario while in Siena

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear leplap,
thank you for your review which means a lot to us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you so much for the beautiful words. For Betta is a great pleasure of starting the day chatting with our guests during breakfast!
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit in Siena.
Kind regards,
Mario & Elisabetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have traveled our fair share and stayed in various types of accomodation over the years but until now I have never felt compelled to write a review. The B&B Aia Mattonata Relais is a tranquil and relaxing oasis in the Tuscan countryside. From the warm welcome to the attention provided to us, there is nothing else more that could be asked for. Despite the rainy conditions we encountered, which prevented us from enjoying the lovely patio and gardens to their fullest, the experience was top notch. A lovely breakfast was set out each day on the enclosed patio. As with other reviewers, Mario and Elisabetta were extremely helpful with places to go and see and with restaurant recommendations. Along with that information we also received helpful local information and history lessons from them. Siena is certainly a destination rich in tradition and history. When the Palio is run this summer, we will be cheering for the Giraffes!! Thank you Mario and Elisabetta...we will be back someday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eg00040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear eg00040,
we are very glad to know that your first review on Tripadvisor is about Aia Mattonata!
Thanks a lot for your kind words following your stay with us.
It's always a great pleasure to have the possibility of sharing the tradition and the history of Siena with our guests.
And of course....hurrah for the Giraffa!!!!
Warmest regards,
Mario & Elisabetta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My sisters and I had the pleasure of staying at the Aia Mottanata Relais in April. The entire experience was 5 stars. Elisebetta and Mario are the best hosts anyone could ask for. All you had to do was mention to Mario where you want to go, and he had maps and restaurants all picked out for you in the morning...Fantastic!! The breakfast was terrific and the view was amazing. Elisebetta is so charming and sweet that we wanted her to be the 4th sister. Runa the dog was so much fun to play with. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was large with all the amenities you would need. I can't say enough about Aia Mottanata Relias. Don't think twice about staying there..perfect in every way.

Room Tip: We had the 2 room suite. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RealtyExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear RealtyExpert,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Aia Mattonata following your recent stay.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the location, found the service excellent, the breakfast terrific and our rooms comfortable.
Elisabetta would like to be your fourth sister, so she could spend more time chatting with you !!!!
Warmest regards
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We've just spent two great days in Siena and Florence, and Aia Mattonata and its owners Elisabetta and Mario were a major reason for that. The place is awesome, ideal for spending a few tranquil days in an extremely beautiful landscape.

In addition to all the positives that already have been said below, the two were extremely helpful when we left our car keys in the locked trunk. Thanks to their organisational talent and help, we were on our way again and able to continue our holidays within three hours!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Christo2,
first of all, thank you very much for your review.
We have been very happy to be able to help you and that you have been able to continue your holidays without troubles!
We are looking forward to meeting you in Siena again!
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a wonderful place to relax. This country retreat is only a few minutes from Siena but yet you feel like you are miles away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. Hosts could not have been nicer or more helpful. If we ever get back to Siena this would be our only choice but for a longer stay. Our short stay just made us wish for more. Beautiful setting and hotel was perfect. Thank you Mario and Elisabetta for making our stay the best part of our 16 days in Italy.

Hope to see you again one day.

Mike and Janice

Room Tip: Room facing Siena
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Mike and Janice,
thank you for leaving us a beautiful review on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that your stay at Aia Mattonata has been the best part of your trip in Italy.
We do hope to welcome you again in Siena, of course for a longer stay!
Warmest regards
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were 4 long-time friends having a reunion vacation for 6 days, indulging in the magical escape that Tuscany could offer. Aia Mattonata is the most charming and authentic vacation resort one could dream of having with all the requirements of comfort provided with taste and elegance. Set in the beautiful and peaceful Tuscany countryside, away from the tourist clutter, yet conveniently close to most attractions of the area, wine tasting and other Italian gastronomical experiences, Florence's art and history, not to forget the beauty of little medieval towns such as sienna and others in the vicinity. Our hosts Mario and Elizabetha's friendly and warm hospitality makes Aia Mattonata an unforgettable experience that we sure want to visit again. For once, this is a hotel that delivers the experience it promised in promotional pictures, in fact you don't get any bad surprises, only good ones that exceed your expectation!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Zeina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Zeina,
thank you very much for your kind words following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We delighted that you spent memorable days with us and that you are thinking to visit Siena again.
With our kindest regards
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#3 of 40 in Siena
697 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#2 of 40 in Siena
159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,440 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $167 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing