We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aia Mattonata Relais
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo di Valli(Siena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Caterina(Siena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Athena(Siena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
712
23
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
23
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman shepherddog runawonderful hostsowners mariob bour honeymoonevery morningbeautiful propertytuscan countrysideinfinity poolminute driverestaurant reservationsexplore tuscanyoverlooking sienahighlight of our trippleasure of stayinggrazie mille
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 742 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel in the hills a short distance from Siena. Although quite close to the city, the ambience is quiet, tranquil. Rooms are clean, comfortable. I could not wish for kinder, more gracious hosts than Mario and his wife Elizabetta. We began as guests and ended our stay feeling like friends, or perhaps even family. The breakfasts are sumptuous and delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smwolf7b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We delighted that you spent memorable days with us and that you felt like friends or perhaps even family!
Thank you for this compliment. We have passed your kind words about breakfast and the rooms to Natalina, Roberta e Silvia.
Warmest regards
Mario & Elisabetta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mario and Elisabetta are wonderful hosts and really made our stay. The advice they gave us was invaluable particularly the drives Mario suggested. We travelled through such magnificent scenery, exactly what one would hope to see in Tuscany.

The property is lovely and we met other interesting travellers there whilst having drinks at the end of our days touring the countryside. You do need a car to stay here as it is out of the city and the best restaurants are in Siena. Taxis are not a problem.

It is in a tranquil location, rooms are very clean and well furnished and the bedding is very comfortable. Breakfasts were the best we had in Italy. We would stay here again and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim11P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I travelled with my girlfriend (both of us 28 years old), we managed to receive a 3 night reservation by absolute chance (I think there was a cancellation). Our entire 2 week Italy trip was based around these 4 days since I heard and read such incredible reviews.

From the moment we arrived everything was perfect, the rooms are individually decorated in a very warm homey, clean, spacious feel type of way with nice size bathrooms. The open kitchen serves wonderful treats/drinks (including wonderful boutique beers) and the breakfasts were fantastic.
The views are breathtaking and the property's location is at a perfect distance between Sienna and incredible Tuscan attractions and surroundings. Even though it was full during our stay, at times we really felt like the place was ours!

Most importantly Mario and Elisabetta were probably the best hosts I have ever encountered (not only for a B&B/hotel…) and definitely the most valuable assets on site! They were so genuinely helpful in planning our every move and desire while always giving us the space we needed to achieve a relaxed holiday… they even planned for us a full day countryside trip which was superb! Well done!

The only inconvenience was that the pool was closed as it wasn’t swimming season, but that isn’t a criticism it is just another reason to visit again during summertime.

I have been telling everyone I know about our fantastic time at Aia Mattonata. Great great great value for money and was by far one of the highlights of our trip around Italy. I highly recommend staying there (that is if you can find a booking :) ).

From the marvelous hosts, luscious green hill surroundings, great location and attractions, dog(!), quality food, cleanliness, tranquility - - - we will be back for sure!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spent 3 nights in late September, celebrating our Wedding Anniversary, on a trip through Toscana. We selected A-M from Trip Advisor & were delighted with our choice!
The location is excellent, just 10 mins from Sienna, on a quiet lane, with excellent views from various parts of the Villa. Met some great guests & shared experiences @ Breakfasts, which were ample & varied.
Elisabetta & Mario are excellent hosts & their warmth was sincere. Mario, (A passionate Juventus fan), provided itineraries for parking close to Sienna & Florence, which enabled us to walk into the Cities without any problems.
Mario's advice on the Restaurant in Sienna was "Spot-On" as we enjoyed a late lunch for a change & then chilled out in the Villa one evening with a bottle of Chianti Classico!
Will come back next time around & try the swimming pool!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTET96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

TO ALL OUR GUESTS, ALL OVER THE WORLD
Dear Guests,
We thank you for your beautiful reviews on Tripadvisor.
Your appreciation and your friendship permitted us to be very successful.
We remember all of you and we hope you have taken fond memories of Aia Mattonata with you.
We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2013.
We look forward to seeing you in Siena again.
Elisabetta & Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent a week here from late October into early November and felt right at home! Mario and Elisabetta are the perfect hosts, and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had not pre-booked any day trips but once here asked about a wine tour and was it too late to arrange a cooking class? No, Mario organised them both without a moments hesitation. The private cooking class was without doubt the highlight of our time in Italy. As other reviewers have said, Mario is helpful with suggestions for places to visit, had excellent recommendations for places to eat and often drove us into Siena so that we only had to catch a taxi home after dinner.
The rooms were clean, had a large bed and beautiful bed linen. Our 'morning wakeup' was the smell of freshly baked bread wafting up the stairs which Natalina baked.
A truly wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews