We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better intel. than the guidebooks, including a Palio experience we didn't expect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better intel. than the guidebooks, including a Palio experience we didn't expect!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It has a fabulous view of Siena, yet Siena is very accessible! Though I had 3 Tuscany travel books with me (the latest Michelin, Rough Guides and Eyewitness Travel guides for Tuscany) Mario the owner was able to enhance the quality of our touring experience of the area with astute insights, ideas and he even printed out specific maps for our sojourns. (We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful experience touring Siena, as well as hill towns in Siena.) His ideas were always right on, better than the guides. Everything they did made it a special experience which was better than what we could have done on our own.

The best thing was that, even though we had to leave before the Palio, he was aware that there would be a practice run on Monday, the night before we had to leave! So that evening, we were able to have an itinerary that fortunately allowed us to see the horses run, with the riders of the contradas in full silks. It was a very exciting experience, made possible only because of his thoughtfulness. He also had arranged a dinner at a great restaurant nearby the Campo that night, La Taverna di San Giuseppe, another outstanding and memorable experience.

I think the hosts think hard about how to accommodate the individual needs of each guest. I noticed when there were Japanese guests, there were some pickled onions and things for breakfast (that the Japanese enjoyed) that were not there before.

In Italy, my husband and I have concluded that the best way to travel is to stay in small, well-run family establishments. And it’s GREAT when one finds small family establishments that are also extremely professionally run with close attention to all the service and comfort details, including up-to-date facilities, as well as the traditional beauty. One sometimes has to overlook aging facilities or other sub-par details at small family places, but in this case everything was really good, and our total experience was even better than we could have hoped because of Mario’s recommendations.

Mario and Elisabetta do a wonderful job.

(By the way, for our GPS (each one is different) we put in “Doglia”…their directions are wonderful, but our GPS used “Doglia” to get to the street.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RivkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
541
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights here on our honeymoon and we could not have been more happy. When we first walked into the backyard all we could think was that the view looked like a postcard. We spent most of our time here either swimming or sunning in the yard. The breakfast was more than ample and the rooms were very modern and clean. We didn't rent a car but we were fine as we booked a wine tour and took cabs to Siena if needed (cost around 12-14 euros each trip). If you plan on exploring Tuscany rent a car, if you plan on relaxing here on the property you can easily get by without it.

The best part of all here was the owners Mario and Elisabetta who are incredibly nice. One night we asked them if they would heat up our leftovers from a previous meal. Not only did they heat them up they brought us some extra food and dessert. We could not believe their hospitality! I only wish we could give them more than 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evan_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The sound of the swifts dipping in the welcome, refreshing pool.

The sight of the sun slowly slouching beyond the horizon.

The smell of the freshly baked bread and cakes at breakfast.

The warmth of the sun; easing and caressing.

The taste of Chianti Classico and gelati.

Sense-a-licous !

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dmcdmcd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Mario and Elisabetta were extremely charming hosts. Their accomodations are very comfortable, and they both make every effort to make you feel at home. The place is a little ways from town, but a short drive/taxi into town. A public bus comes by during the week which is supposed to be low fare. We were only here for the weekend, but getting a taxi was about 15E each way - cheaper than renting a car and no hassle with trying to drive as an American in Italy. The place is very quiet, the views are amazing, and the hosts are top-notch. Overall, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I've stayed in very luxurious hotels and in humble pensiones, but this is, by far, the best place I have ever stayed in. Not because of the facilities, although they are fantastic, but because of their owners, Mario and Elisabetta. They make the difference. You have the feeling that some loving relatives are welcoming you in their house for a couple of days. Mario is in every detail, he knows what you need even before you ask for it and Elisabetta, full of life and caring touches.
We were there for The Palio and they invited us to their home to watch the race and share dinner with them.
Tuscany is one of the most beautiful places you can visit in Europe and Aia Mattonata is the best place to enjoy it. The hotelt offers all the services you may need, a great pool and amazing views of Siena.
My review wouldn't be complete if I didn't speak of Runa, the most beautiful, lovely and good German Shepherd. She made my stay perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flaviaes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent three nights at the Aia mattonata relais and could not fault it! Mario & Elisabetta and very special hosts! Felt more like we were staying with friends than a bed and breakfast.
While the photos on the website show a charming country house set on rolling hills and breathtaking views, it has been fitted out with great security and high quality amenities.
The room was outstanding, beautiful king size bed, shower with the kind of water pressure that makes you stay in there until your skin in wrinkled! The pool is perfect for when you just want to relax and read a book and breakfast including fruit and vegetables from their garden kept us going until dinner.
There was no request too difficult from recommending and bookings tours and restaurants to providing us with an iron and maps of the town. It is only five or so minutes from town but I would stay here time and time again if I could!
There is a reason this place rates so well on trip advisor and as previously mentioned I could not fault our experience and feel very lucky to have stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our precious moment made perfect by The perfect location. My boyfriend at the time now my fiance spent the most memorable 4 nights at Aia Mattonata Relais. We had no map book of tuscany, only our little rental car, GPS and Mario and Elizabetta(the hosts)....and thats all we needed! Mario and Elizabetta created a little paradise just 10mins drive from Sienna. The renovated an old farm house and turned it into a luxiourious - felt like 5 star- hotel, but with all the warmth of a home and relaxing feel to it i cant manage to describe in words. They are so passionate and proud of what tuscany has to offer and directed us to all the best restaurants and towns all around tuscany. We were so grateful to them and experienced a little bit of heaven by starting each day with amazing breakfast in the conservatory then with their advice exploring the little towns and good food during the day and then to come "home" in the evening to this precious Relias that overlooks Siena with all the magical tuscany landscapes surrounding it. My best moment was of course when my boyfriend went down on his knee infront of The perfect spot on the front lawn of the Relias and asked me to marry him when the sun was setting behind us!! most perfect moment...a proposal under a tuscan sunset!! Mario and Elizabetta was so happy with us and it felt like we were sharing our moment with family as they were so warm and kind! At breakfast the next morning Elizabetta gave us a painting she went to go buy in town specially for us of Siena at sunset with a couple kissing in the bell tower! it was the bestes gift ever!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAficanCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,430 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
111 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing