We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Spectacular Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My Husband and I had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights during our trip to Italy. I can't say enough about the Aia Mattonata.The owners Elizabetta and Mario were wonderful,they truely make you feel at home.They have wonderful suggestions for day trips,restaurants,vineyard tours or just a beautiful ride through the Tuscan countryside. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable.The property is well maitained with spectacular views of the Seina.The breakfast every morning was fresh with wonderful selections.We can't thank Elizabetta and Mario for their wonderful kindness and hospitality, they made our trip to Italy very special!!! Worth going to Seina just to stay here!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMack6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 736 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I spent four nights at the Aia Mattonata Relais as part of our three week Italian honeymoon. Simply put, it was the highlight of our trip. From the moment we arrived we knew this place was special. The grounds are well manicured, immaculate, and offer gorgeous views of Siena and the surrounding hillside. The five rooms in the recently renovated villa are beautifully appointed and comfortable with spacious bathrooms and modern amenities. The breakfast served daily is fresh, plentiful, and incredibly diverse. What truly makes this place stand out though are the owners Mario and Elizabetta. Mario and Elizabetta care about their guests and go above and beyond to make sure their stay in Siena is memorable. Examples of their kindness included driving us into Siena for dinner on the night we arrived (to a restaurant Mario recommended and we thoroughly enjoyed), making bus reservations, reseaching transportation options to Rome, and suggesting vineyard tours and scenic Tuscan drives. We shared a bus into town with their son one day and even he went out of his way to show us how to find the city center once we arrived. We will never forget our stay here and would recommend the Aia Mattonata Relais to friends and family in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed with the lovely Elizabetta and Mario in May during a 2 week trip to Italy, and it was a highlight of our entire trip. The accomodations were flawless--- rooms are huge and spotlessly clean!! We enjoyed the fabulous breakfast spread every morning, even when we woke up too late after serving hours. Elizabetta and her terrific staff still sweetly laid out a ton of breakfast items and made us several fresh and delicious cups of cappuccino. Each day before we set out on our sightseeing, Elizabetta and Mario would map out our journey routes with kind suggestions for dinner and surrounding towns to visit. The location is perfect, just outside of Siena, and very easy to get around once you get used to the awkward Italian sign systems!! Every suggestion for dinner was spot on, and we made several new friends along the way. They even drove us into town one night, saving us the cost of a taxi. I would suggest renting a car, just as we did, to allow yourself the opportunity to see more of the surrounding countryside. We met a real, and very down to earth, Italian princess at a gorgeous winery outside of San Gimagnano, as well as the friendly owner of the largest winery in Italy on two of our day trips, which we would not have been able to do without renting a car. I would also suggest staying at least 3 nights here. There is sooooo much to do and see--- anything less would be cutting yourself short of terrific discoveries along the way around Siena. Overall, I couldn't rate Aia Mattonata high enough. The warmth of the hotel and its delightful owners (and their adorable dog) along with the service and food and VERY reasonable prices, are second to none. Do yourself a favor and just go there!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffTexas71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I spent one week at Aia Mattonata Relais in October, 2011. The on-site owners, Mario and Elizabetta have created and meticulously maintain this 5 room Relais. There is one floor on the main level and four on the second floor. The Relais has a beautiful setting about 10 minutes from Siena with a stunning view of the city across a valley of olive trees and grape vines. The Relais is virtually new, with the most modern conveniences built into a very old animal barn. It was, every day, immaculate. The owners are there to do anything to make your stay comfortable, from helping with luggage, providing touring and restaurant advice and a large selection of breakfast foods each morning, to making you feel like a guest in their personal residence (which is actually next door). My wife and I are hard to please, however, there was nothing I would have asked for in a Relais that was not provided by Mario and Elizabetta. Location, view, facilities, convenience, cleanliness, good food, helpful hosts - this place has it all.

Room Tip: If you cannot manage on flight of stairs, then you should ask for the one room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Previous reviews have used all the superlatives. We had a great stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had four wonderful days at this beautiful Relais. Our hosts Mario and Elisabetta were so welcoming and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble, they even drove into Siena to help us get into a car park when it was supposedly full. The accommodation is first class and the breakfast so fresh and plentiful. We couldn't fault it and will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you have a disabled member in your party there is a large ground floor room with a walk in shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpearl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Aia Mattonata Relais, located in countryside only a few minutes to downtown Siena. We had a glorious time and were very pleased with the selection. As previously mentioned the structure (a meticulously renovated 5 bedroom country home),view, grounds and hospitality of hosts/owners Elisabetta and Mario are truly something special. Mario and Elisabetta are hard working, attentive and passionate about what they do. They care about the comfort each and every guest. They go out of their way to ensure you have transportation/reservations/help with tours and itinerary/maps and directions/massage in their small wellness room etc. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for them. Remember, this is a Bed and Breakfast, not a resort or even a small hotel, so just realize its intimate. They provide complimentary bottled water, soft drinks and fruit/snacks available all day long. This is a very generous service to provide in my opinion. The place is immaculately clean!! The views are drop dead beautiful. The grounds and area are quiet peaceful and serene. The rooms are lovely and charming and equipped with modern conveniences such as flat screen TV's and modern spacious bathroom. To find such spacious bathrooms in Europe in an old small property was unexpected treat. Beds were comfortable and we didn't experience a problem with noise. Everyone was very respectful of one another. Our last night in the ground floor room was fine and the room is large. We preferred the room upstairs for the view and privacy. If you can only book the bottom floor room I would still go and confidently state I don't believe you will regret your decision. The breakfasts are nice and include cereal, yogurt, toast/pastry of some kind meats and cheeses and usually one cold dish. Since we are American and are used to something warm for a "special" breakfast, we, personally would have loved one hot option such as oatmeal, cooked eggs or french toast. However, I think the most of the tourists visiting are European and this is the norm in Europe. It's part of the experience of foreign travel to experience the culture as the natives do. The inviting pool was very cold while the outside temperature was in the low 80's and sunny. I wish the pool was heated a little bit because it would have been so appealing to swim. That said it was unusual warmth for the end of september and normally they close the pool by then. But, I don't believe its ever heated and I imagine it can get cold even in summer. The jacuzzi was cold too but Elisabetta graciously heated that up so we could enjoy it. It is open for 4 hours in the evening and "by appoinment only" to ensure use by only one person or couple. Mario suggested good restaurants and we enjoyed them thoroughly. The location was perfect for exploring the beautiful Tuscan hill towns and nearby wineries. We did this with a private tour and loved seeing everything stress free. No getting lost or fighting maps and GPS's we just clicked off our brains and enjoyed. It wasn't cheap.. about 130-150 EU for our full day itinerary but car rental isnt cheap and gas is also very expensive. This worked for us... Our tour guide, Susanna Santoni was amazing. She speaks great English, is intuitive to your tastes and planned two fabulous days for us! She often has another person partnering with her who drives and she explains the places you visit. SHe left us to tour on our own and we met at an agreed upon time and place. Again, this worked for us but if you want her to accompany you thru each site or town she may do that. I'd recommend her highly and she is reached at susanna.santoni@gonlinet.com <susanna.santoni@gonlinet.com>;
At the end of our time, I really felt sad to leave Mario and Elisabetta. They are just so likable and genuine good people. We would recommend Aia Mattonata to anyone, without hesitation. I would gladly return in the future. We loved their beautiful long haired German shepherd, Runa, who I enjoyed throwing the ball to. They kitchen and housekeeping staff do a superb job as well. Go and you too will be enchanted as we were, I am sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristinjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
694 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
778 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,498 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $169 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing