We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here - highly recommend it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here - highly recommend it!”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I won't repeat all the great things others have written ... well, maybe some of them ;)

We stayed 5 nights, and were very happy with our choice. I'll list the pros and cons, although the cons are all minor

Pros:
-short drive to Siena, yet allows you to stay in a rural setting with beautiful views
-the patio, where you can sit anytime, and where we ate breakfast, has a great view of Siena and the countryside
-the pool was a fantastic way to refresh from the July heatwave we were in, and they even have colored lights in the pool for swimming at night
-nice breakfasts, with snacks and cold drinks available at anytime in the kitchen
-I worry about soundproofing in bed and breakfast type places, but our room had separate doors just inside the main door: one door to the bathroom and one to the bedroom - so with both doors closed, we found soundproofing very good (if you just close the main door, and leave the door to the bedroom area open, you can hear people walking of talking if they are in the hall, but then again, I have found this in most hotels)
-as everyone has said, Mario and Elisabetta are wonderful hosts - to give you an idea of this, my wife was crying when we said goodbye to them! They truly want their guests to be happy.

Cons:
-if you don't have a car, you will likely find the location inconvenient. I guess it's possible to stay here without one, but if I didn't have a car, I'd probably look at one of the hotels inside Siena itself
-since you are out in the countryside (although only about a 5-7 minute drive from the outskirts of Siena) and there is no restaurant on site, you don't have the amenities of a city hotel

I would easily stay here again if I wanted to be in the Siena area. It's actually a perfect spot to have as a home base to explore most of Tuscany. Most of Tuscany's highlights are within an hour's drive, including Florence, Monalcino, Chianti region, Arezzo and Cortona, San Gimignano, etc.

Keep in mind they close over the winter, and they get booked up very far ahead, so if you are planning a trip, book with them early, or you might be out of luck ;)

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GadgetNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
541
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights in June. Mario and Elisabetta are wonderful, caring hosts. They made us feel completely comfortable and welcome immediately. We stayed in the single room that also had a 2nd room attached for a "family" room option. Mario and Elisabetta put so much thought into every aspect of this B&B. Room and bathroom were perfect and in immaculate condition. The breakfast was magnificient.......20+ choices covering many types of breakfast foods.

As for the view....unbelievable.... From the backyard, you look over the infiniti pool and rolling Tuscan hills to Siena in the background. Gorgeous. Waking up while having coffee overlooking that view was such a peaceful way to start our day. Cooling off in the pool at the end of sightseeing was a wonderful way to unwind before heading into Siena for dinner.

OK - can I just say....RUNA....their wonderful long-haired German shepherd (kept next door) had us trained immediately to fetch and throw her balls back into her fenced yard. She makes me laugh just thinking about her! She was supposed to be named Luna but apparently her personality is too strong for the gentle sounding Luna so she became Runa!

Mario and Elisabetta made several wonderful dinner recommendations. If you have a chance, try Divo - wonderful decor and beautifully prepared food. The sommelier picked us a wonderful wine given our criteria and price point and each dish we tried was wonderful.

An absolute gem! Thank you Mario & Elisbetta for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miskyroo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights in June during our 2 week trip around beautiful Tuscany. The hotel is perfectly situated for Siena - but our stay was made so much more memorable due to our wonderful hosts. They couldn't do enough for us to make us feel more comfortable and welcome. Mario, Elizabetta and Bruna - thank you so much, we will most definately be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDandKD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The choice for the Aia Mattonata was made based on the TA reviews, and as it was expected, it paid every recommendation this hotel is receiving. The fact that they only have 5 rooms is a BIG plus, since they have the opportunity to customize the srvice, making every guest feel like a VIP. Another great point is related to the facilities and amenities provided, with a blend of countryside simplicity and luxurious atmosphere, besides a beatiful view from Siena. Mario and Elisabeta (I hope that I have spelled her name correctly...) run the place in a very personal way. After you take a time to know them, you realize that they put their touch in every aspect of the service; besides, they have a good taste for recommending restaurants in Siena and do their best to the book best tables. And, more than that, they connect to the guests in a particular way, making you feel like at home. Lucia (the hotel staff) is also very kind and attentious. Some could find the hotel a little bit far from Siena or hard to find; in fact, this is one of the reasons that make them so special, with no city buzz, but only 10 minutes away from Fontebranda Parking. We wish we had more time to stay there and enjoy, and that is the reason why we are planning to go back in the near future. But this time, we will stay there longer, using Aia Mattonata as a perfect base to explore Tuscany, given its hospitality and central location in this beautiful Italian region.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bncav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

There are so many good things that can be said about this hotel that I will just refer you to the other reviews. I would, however, like to add this little story. We arrived for a three day stay as part of my 50th birthday treat travelling in Italy. As it was my birthday on the night of arrival and getting latish, we asked Mario (our lovely host) where we could eat that was not too far from the hotel. He recommended somewhere and we had a delicious meal. We ordered coffee after our main course and were surprised and delighted when the coffee arrived along with a bottle of prosecco, a selection of gorgeous mini deserts and a birthday card for Mario and Elizabetta! Thank you both for helping to make my birthday so special.......and for the tip of where to park in Florence........ and the loan of the map..........and the recommendation of the wonderful, family run restaurant in Siena......and the glorious breakfasts...........and the view from our window..........

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

After exhausting but fascinating days exploring Siena,with its tangled lanes ,numerous steps. and tourists it was wonderful to return to the tranquil haven of Aia Mattonata. One could then relax by the pool enjoying the sunset,indulging in a glass of wine whilst gazing out over the beautiful countryside towards the skyline of Siena.
Aia Mattonata is an old farmhouse which has been beautifully restored with every care and attention to detail.
Your Hosts Mario and Elisabetta are absolutely amazing,friendly,caring and extremely hospitable.
Pat and Tony Western Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbles95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Aia Mattonata Relais was the highlite of our three week trip through Italy. Our only regret was that we only booked for two nights. The acomodations are elegant and imaculate, and only surpassed by the hospitaltiy of the owners, Mario and Elizabitta. They truly make you feel as if y our being welcomed into thier family while stayiing here. Being only five rooms, the feeling is very intimate and friendly, and guests quickley become aqauinted and share in thier holiday experiences. It truly is the essence of Tuscanny, not to mention Elizabittas breakfasts are to die for, especiallly the prosciutto cotta (ham).
We will return, but net time for a longer stay. Thank you both for making our time in Italy that much more special.

Traveled as a family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRUMAN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,430 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
111 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing