We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other traveler has booked this property
Montecastelli Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready Swimming Pooll
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready
Swimming Pooll
Cortyard
Frantoio Room 1
Bathroom Frantoio Suite
Frantoio Kitchen
Suite Frantoio
Moraiolo1 or Frantoio 3
Bathroom Leccino
Kitchen Leccino
Leccino Bedroom
Your Host
Our own organic Primo Olio
Our own Lardo al Rosmarino
Wine Cellar
Lavender
Admiral Butterfly in Montecastelli
Serving meal
Cooking Class
Evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AutumnSky...
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

You can do no better than to make Villa Montecastello your home during your time in the Tuscan countryside! Jens, his family, and the Villa staff are dedicated to providing a superb vacation experience, whether your interest lies in winemaking, the local cuisine, exploring the surrounding towns, or d) all of the above! The Villa is a most beautifully restored property, and can easily accommodate groups large or small. Jens is extremely knowledgable about the history of the area, the land, the wine, the food, and he is clearly passionate about what he does. The olive oil they produce is by far the best olive oil I have ever tasted, the house-cured meats are divine, and who doesn't like farm fresh eggs for breakfast!? Between lounging by the pool, taking a walk around the grounds, or stretching out in a patch of grass with a book, you'd almost never want to leave the property...were it not for the lure of exploring lovely nearby towns like Siena and Casole, wine tasting in Montalcino, cheese tasting at Pinzani, and more! Thank you, Villa Montecastello, for one of the best weeks of my life!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's impossible to a
Liked least: The internet connection was a bit tempermental. There were areas where it worked better than others -- the courtyard being the very best.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msyssi
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking place, marvelous food, amazing service & great people!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I rented the entire villa Montecastello for one week in August 2011. We also held our wedding there and wanted both our families to spend quality time together in the days leading to the wedding. Where to start? There is so much to say, especially because Jens and Barbara, the owners, took care of everything, from the housing of course to the catering throughout the week, via the flower arrangements and the ceremony set up on the wedding day. Well, let me start by saying that this is a very special place, run by friendly and professional people animated by a warm family spirit, who will go out of their way so that you have the best possible time.
For the rest let me break it down as follows (The villa, The food, The flowers&deco, The service, and an Overall conclusion):
- THE VILLA: Villa Montecastello marries elegance with country-side coziness. It is divided in multiple apartments that each has their own bathroom, fully-equipped kitchen and living room. All the rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated, with great views on the Tuscan landscape since the villa sits on top of a hill. When you first arrive, you’ll also appreciate nice touches, such as fresh flowers on your table and dried lavender placed on your towels. Unfortunately, your rooms/apartments will not get cleaned up every day like in a regular hotel, so you’ll have to keep it tidy yourself (which is a bit bothersome when you are on vacation and in the full “farniente” mode). It should be possible to get a daily clean-up if you request it, but I guess you’ll have to pay extra for this.
The villa also has a swimming pool that has a panoramic view on the hills and fields surrounding the villa. That’s an area where you are likely to spend a lot of time, especially if you visit Montecastello in the hot summer, and especially if you come with children. We had 4 children (and 2 babies) as part of our party and they could not get away from there :-) Talking about children, it is important to mention that the place is very child-friendly with opportunities for the little ones to run around in a vast property with no roads in sight, and see feeding of chickens, horses and pigs, and to go on a nature walk with donkeys! Adventure time :-) One of the downside however, is that we had an increasing number of flies invading our appartments as days went by (especially on the ground floor). Since Montecastello is a bio/green place, you wont be able to use chemical insecticide, and natural methods are not as effective as one would wish.

- THE FOOD: Throughout the week, we had several meals catered by Jens and his team at Villa Montecastello, mainly breakfasts and dinners. Breakfast is usually simple with fresh produces. Don’t expect your typical american breakfast with pancakes, waffles and mimosa eggs. You will have a good variety of options (bread, croissant, jam, cheese, juice, cereal and yogurt) but nothing out of the ordinary. For dinner however, you can look forward to a treat! I still remember exactly what was served at every single dinner we had (and it was 6 months ago!). Home-made traditional Tuscan food, with fresh seasonal ingredients, paired with local wines (especially chosen by the in-house sommelier Jens!) and served with a neat presentation by the chef himself. Gosh… I miss Tuscany! Nice positive point, the meals will always be served on time and warm, even for a table of 18 guests.
Now, I need to write a special review about the wedding dinner. It was exquisite. I am very difficult when it comes to food. I cook myself and like going to high-hand restaurants whenever I travel. But I can say that the meals that Jens put out on the wedding night were flawless. We had discussed the menu a lot, and he was eager to respond to our demands, while integrating his own “Tuscan twist” to it. The result was beautiful dishes, neatly presented, and full of flavor, while preserving the home-made feel to them. Jens and his team in the kitchen (composed mainly of family and friends of his) prepared a wedding dinner for 60 guests, and as usual each course arrived in a timely manner, was served warm, and introduced by the chef himself. Bravo! Really.

- FLOWERS & DECO: Here I’d like to praise the work of Barbara, Jens’ partner. She was in charge of flower arrangements and set up on the wedding day (bride and bridesmaids bouquets, boutonnieres, table decoration, candles and lighting, etc.). She did an amazing job choosing flowers that match the theme and the color code of our wedding. The bouquets were stunning (and lasted for days). It was simple, charming and elegant, all at the same time, like Montecastello. The whole décor matched our personality and reflected the spirit of our wedding, it added the perfect finish to the magical atmosphere on the wedding night. Barbara is very sweet and easy to work with. She is also a sensitive professional that is passionate about what she does. Trust her; she’ll do whatever she can to find a solution to any issues and to please you. You won’t be disappointed. Let me also say that her prices are very competitive and that you’ll get lots of bang for your buck!

- THE SERVICE: Overall we were very happy about the service. We started discussions with the "Montecastello dream team" as early as October to organize a week of activities at Montecastello in August. Jens is extremely responsive to emails. You can expect a complete answer to any queries within 24 hours. This makes you feel like you are their priority number one, even though they have tons of things to do like olive harvest, wine tasting workshop, managing the villa, etc.… That’s something we very much appreciated.
Jens and Barbara were also helpful in assisting us organizing the wedding. They put us in touch with the company that organized the music of the ceremony and the DJ as well as with the shuttle company. They dealt with providers (food, waiters, wedding items). They also organized several activities for us and our family in the days preceding the wedding including a wine tasting day with gastronomic lunch in a vineyard town and a child-friendly pick-nick with donkeys in the Montagnola natural reserve the day preceding the wedding. Though slightly overpriced, the wine tasting event was great. Jens knows everything about wine and has a talent for explaining clearly and patiently. He was a wonderful guide. The gastronomic lunch took place in a picturesque restaurant with a BREATHTAKING view. The food was excellent and the atmosphere so charming. The walk with donkeys was a big highlight of our week. The kids loved it, and the adults, too. Nothing better than a fresh glass of wine and some fresh bread and cheese under the shade of a tree, after a long walk in nature!
Throughout the week and on the wedding day, Jens and Barbara managed to respond to everybody’s needs and little issues. They were always available to answer questions and concerns that arise during the week. All the ordered activities, meals, and the wedding were executed as planned, with no bad surprises. They were on top of things and everything they promised was delivered perfectly, often even exceeding expectations.

- OVERALL: We spent an unforgettable week and a fairytale-like wedding at Montecastello. The villa and the landscape surrounding it will enchant our memories and dreams forever. We actually plan a regular pilgrimage to Montecastello to replenish our soul with the spirit of this fascinating place from time to time. The cozy and friendly exchanges with the owners will easily make you feel like part of the family. However don’t expect much “family discount”, every single item will be accounted for in your final bill, down to the small espresso. Don’t get me wrong though, the “Montecastello Experience” is a great value for money and it was worth every penny. We’ve looked at many, many places around Italy and Europe before picking Montecastello, and you can believe me when I say that this is one of the best deals you can get in terms of quality, atmosphere, and service. Maybe because it is still quite a young business, they cannot throw many free extras at you though. Fair enough. I cannot thank the Villa Montecastello team enough for all the efforts they put in making our family week and wedding so unique and special. We could definitely feel that the success of our time there was as important to them as it was to us, which is a very rare thing. Montecastello is a rare jewel. We cannot recommend it enough and we will for sure return to it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: magical place, service, food, people
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claire832
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place, but a little over priced”
Reviewed December 2, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our 3 night stay there with my husband and daughter. November proved to be a bit of a lonely time, as we were the only guests in the entire villa. But Jens was friendly and helpful with local wine tasting arrangements. And we had a good time visiting local medieval towns.

My biggest complaint would be that for the price of the stay, I would have expected little things to be better, like having salt or olive oil in the kitchen. Both of which we had to buy ourselves for the cooking we did there. All other hotels we stayed in Italy with kitchen acoomodations provided basic cooking materials like salt, sugar, oil, vinegar, etc. We were also charged 15 euro a night for the set-up of a crib, which were not aware of until check-out.

We also got quite lost trying to find the place, and spent much more time in the car traveling to get groceries, visit wineries, etc. than we had expected.

Again, a beautiful price, but overpriced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture of the villa.
Liked least: The price for the accomodation.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2011
Dear Claire, sorry to hear we could not fulfill your expectations in the kitchen stocking department. However I would like to remind you that we are a fully certified organic farm producing organic foods like olive oil which we are offering at the property at preferred pricing for Villa guests, instead of including cheap supermarket grade oils for free. In our apartment rental price we offer free WiFI, include all heating and utility fees, include handmade olive oil soaps, provide 400 thread count hand ironed sheets and organic certified detergents. All services we would expect ourselves when traveling. In my estimate our price of 235 euro per night for this 1,000 ft apartment including large master bedroom, luxury bathroom, living room and live in kitchen with double fireplace is still below local average. However if you feel you were not made properly aware of separate charges for the baby cod we would be happy refunding these charges to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Tuscany at its best”
Reviewed October 15, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

If you are looking for the Real Toscana experience you will love Monte Castelli. My Hausband and i loved the relaxed Atmosphere. The Appartement was simply Great and wie had a very warm welcome by the Schmidt Family. Our daughter loved the Pool, the Garden and the animals and can't weit to come Again- and so can't we!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin S
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“If you are visiting Tuscany Villa Montecastello is a fantastic place to stay.”
Reviewed October 13, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Villa and we have to say it is absolutely a wonderful and beautiful place to relax. The apartments are roomy and have been restored beautifully. It is easy to drive to Montepulciano, Sienna, Volterra. We would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment and the view
Liked least: The road is a bit challenging at least for the first time
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_PK_1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Close your eyes and think of Italy. This is IT-aly...”
Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

My wife, my 3 year old son and I stayed in the Frantoio Villa. What can I say? The accommodation was so beautiful and quaint. Jen's was a charming host - Grappa and Van Morrison's Astral Weeks spring to mind - and the whole experience was splendid!
Great food and restaurants nearby. A handy pool when it gets hot and plenty of animals to fascinate the children and the home made produce is amazing! Also only a short drive from Siena and it's many attractions. I've been to Italy quite a few times but I will definitely be heading back to Montecastelli.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestis
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fabulous Sunsets, Wonderful Hosts, Magnificent Toddler Experience”
Reviewed July 4, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

As all parents of a 2-yr old know, it can be quite a challenge to keep the little one engaged, especially if you are taking them with you to help out with their opinions on a business trip (one of my companies specializes in luxurious experiences). We picked Villa Montecastello because it had horses, donkeys, chicken, pigs, guinea fowls and a little dog, all of whom kept her wonderfully entertained. The animals were located a short walk down the hill so we all got some daily exercise as well. My daughter loved the pool, even though she could only play on the steps (the pool is unusually deep).

From an adult perspective, my wife and I absolutely loved the stunning sunsets, the fresh air, incredible wines, the quaint town -- Colle Di Val D'elsa -- nearby for post-siesta gelatos, outstanding meals, and the best weather we could have hoped for. It was great that Jens spoke fluent English (because very few other Tuscans do), and he was able to give us a lot of valuable information about things to do in the area.

Jens & Barbara are incredible people and thoughtful hosts. We asked Jens to cook for us one evening using all the various seasonal ingredients from his farm and we got a taste of why well-known chefs from around the world go to his villa to get married or celebrate other special occasions. He spent about 4 hours cooking our meal but charged what a meal would have cost us in town. We appreciated that.

Jens & Barbara are inspiring in other ways as well. Their commitment to a farm-to-fork lifestyle and the principles of sustainability are very admirable. Barbara is an amazing florist and we saw her create beautiful bouquets for local weddings when we were there. Jens is a German architect who worked on the castle over 11 years and the details reflect that expertise. He tells some great stories as well and is wonderful dinner company.

We stayed in the Leccino apartment and recommend it highly, especially for people traveling with children. The kitchen & dining room area is EXCELLENT and well-equipped so you can actually shop at the town's grocery store and cook some fantastic meals at "home" if you don't feel like eating out every day. The bathroom is special too. It is huge and has a massive soaking tub, and I really enjoyed the powerful shower pressure.

All in all, Villa Montecastello provided an incredible experience and we will definitely be back for more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2011
thank you for your extraordinarily kind words, Jens & Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing