We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal In Italy - Not Even Close” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOSTARIA IL RIALTO

HOSTARIA IL RIALTO
Reserve with
HOSTARIA IL RIALTO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 516 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Meal In Italy - Not Even Close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was hands down our favorite meal of our 10 day trip to Italy and it wasn't even close. It's currently January 2014. We visited in October 2013 and are still talking about the meal. We happened onto this restaurant by accident when the initial restaurant we wanted to go to was not open yet. We were the first ones in the restaurant before other people came.

For our first course, I ordered mezza luna in a duck ragu. It was phenomenal. My husband ordered the pappardelle with a wild boar sauce.He had ordered that a few times while we were in Italy and said it was by far the best. For our second course, we both ordered the veal in a chianti sauce. It just melted in my mouth. I had to restrain from closing my eyes and saying Yum after every bite, really.

The service was wonderful and the chef came out after we were served every meal to ask us if we liked it. She was delightful. My only regret was that we were too full for dessert. If I ever return to Siena, we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LFYanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    176
    41
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just off the shell of the great cathedral is this tiny place with great food, reasonable prices and good Chianti. Ciao bello!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCoddah48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great local place-check it out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner our first night in Siena, you need to get here on the early side (it opens at 7:15 pm) since the restaurant is very local and small which made it all the more appealing to us. I had pici (fat spaghetti) and white beans in olive oil with a local red wine, delicious!! Our dinner with wine and beer for 3 adults-71 euros.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DianePotenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sometimes you get lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

On a Sunday night a number of restaurants close and plans can go astray. What luck to find one open in an out-of-the-way street after getting slightly lost after dark. And an excellent find too, with one table for two left when we walked in. This warm, friendly, family run restaurant serves good, hearty food at very reasonable prices. We shared an appetiser(bruschetta) which was scrumtious. For our mains we chose pork with plums and osso bucco with a side of grilled vegetables, all washed down with some house red. The portions were generous and more than enough to satisfy our appetites. The waitress provided excellent service, allowing me to give the order in my almost non-existent Italian before asking about the wine in her own excellent English. Highly recommended for a great night with delicious food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fremantle_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family run restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place slightly off the beaten track. Friendly staff and good regional fresh food. All this and very reasonable prices. Small but perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HOSTARIA IL RIALTO also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to HOSTARIA IL RIALTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing