We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay as wonderful as the first”
Review of Podere le vigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere le vigne
Ranked #29 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our second stay as wonderful as the first”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This friendly, cosy, tranquil setting was my favourite stay in Italy! In hindsight I would have stayed there as a home base for tuscany and Firenze. The hosts are so warm, relaxed, welcoming and knowledgeable and are skilled at figuring out what you might like and have lots of suggestions. Easy to walk or bus to Siena or drive to other towns nearby. Highly recommended and hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katinaw_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    52
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

It was a lovely, rambling, comfortable house in the beautiful countryside just outside the wall. We stayed 4 nights and liked our accomodation and our host more every day. Federica and her other Carla were always ready to answer questions, make excellent restaurant recommendations, and help us sort out our rental car pickup and the map work involved. We enjoyed meeting Federica's daughtes and other guests at breakfast in the homey kitchen or on the patio, and we loved our daily walk to and from the centre of sienna. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet, with a great view, and the bathroom was nicely updated with a good shower. We were a couple but I this would also be a nice place for a family to stay and enjoy the grounds and play equipment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you’re traveling to Tuscany, this B&B makes a great home base! It’s just outside of Siena’s walls so you can get some exercise by walking or catch the bus at the end of the driveway. Florence and the other hill towns are easy drives or grab a bus. Federica and Carla will take great care of you - you’ll get all sorts of travel advice and Carla’s wonderful jams at breakfast. We just stayed there for the third time and hope we get to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
366 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed in Podere le vigne on Easter day. Literally, I called the evening before and Frederica arranged the room. The welcome is very warm!! From the beginning you feel like a family member. Room was very clean, unfortunately, the weather was too bad to take advantage of the lovely surroundings. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Podere la Vigne was exactly what we were hoping for when we booked our visit to Sienna. Our room was cozy and clean, the views were AMAZING, the breakfast was delicious and Fredrica and Carla were helpful, friendly and fun. The location is perfect. You can easily walk into town (ask about the backroad route to avoid the traffic), or catch the bus. My husband and I traveled with our two teenaged children. My daughter's comment as we were leaving summed up our stay. She said, "I feel like if we lived in Italy we would be friends with this family." Our stay at Podere la Vigne was definitely one of the very best parts of our week-long trip to Italy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On our 3 1/2 week touring Tuscany, Umbria & Lazio, we stayed at over 10 b&b's.
Podere le vine was my favorite of all of them. Federica & her mother were so pleasant
and friendly and served us the most delicious breakfast with 5 kind of home made jams.

The B&B is on an fruit orchard with apricots, figs, citrus, plums, pomegranates. It is very
quiet and completely in the countryside with beautiful views and smoking is not allowed.
However, it is only a 15 minute walk to Siena (or 3 minute car ride).

Great place … very comfortable … I want to go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p967052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Everything the others have said about Podere le Vigne is true. Fredrica and Carla are the most warm and welcoming of hostesses. They have great advice on the local towns, attractions and restaurants. Their rooms are spotless, nicely furnished and comfortable.The B&B is in a perfect location. Close enough for site-seeing but quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful with many homemade treats, including homemade jams and homegrown fruit. My husband and I stayed with there five nights and would welcome the opportunity to return again for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#26 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Campane B&B
Le Campane B&B
#111 of 120 in Siena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Il Battistero Siena
Il Battistero Siena
#10 of 120 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Masi
Palazzo Masi
#59 of 120 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
I Terzi di Siena
I Terzi di Siena
#62 of 120 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere le vigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere le vigne

Property: Podere le vigne
Address: strada dei Tufi 56, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing