We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay!!”
Review of Podere le vigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere le vigne
Ranked #25 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The family offers an excellent service and they made us feel at home immediately. They were more than willing to help us and accomodate us :) The place is very peaceful and very central to all main attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissy078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Short version: Podere Le Vigne is one of those small owner operated B&Bs, that may not have a swimming pool and fitness club, but manages to be greater than the sum of it's parts. I've stayed in some really expensive hotels. I'll pick Podere Le Vigne over any of them.

Details: Mother Carla and daughter Frederika don't have employees. They do it all themselves. We left cash and passports in our room with no worry of theft. The place is spotless. Furnishings have a luxurious feel and are extremely fresh and clean. Lots of character. Extremely romantic.

Location: in a vineyard 20 minutes walk from il Campo. Apparently Siena has a rule against new construction. So even though its barely a kilometer away, the feel is pure country. Horses and hens (belong to neighbor) visible from the garden.

Service: couldn't be better. Both mother and daughter are extremely helpful and treat you like guests in their own house. Great breakfast in the morning with home grown fruits and veggies, home made cakes, bread and home made jams. Bliss

We will be back for sure. Who wouldn't?

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maneeshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Federica and her mother are both lovely and helpful during our 3 day stay here at this B&B.

The rooms are everything you want - spacious with comfortable beds, quaintly decorated and with an extremely good shower in the en-suite. A nice bonus was the free WiFi and the ability to store food in the kitchen and even cook there.

Whilst Siena is within walking distance, there are no pavements for the first 1km and it's uphill all the way so best to take the bus (good service to 8PM at night) or park near the gates of Porta Tufi.

We were extremely impressed by the following which we visited during our stay:
The magnificent Cathedral in Siena (multimedia tablet and headset which you can hire is especially good here)
Wine tasting at Ciacci Piccolomini d'Aragona (near Montalcino - 40 mins by car)
The restaurant La Taverna di San Giuseppe (near Porta Tufi gate - book in advance)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard will suffer less noise from the nearby main Rome-Florence highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EKT&ADT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I loved staying here. It was just the remedy we wanted after a crazy few days in Rome - getting in the Tuscany countryside. Fredrica and her mother do an amazing job as hosts. Loved the personal service and breakfast! - thanks for the recommendation for the wine tour! Best thing to do in 42 degree heat! We stayed in a room upstairs which also had a little kitchen - great for cooling our drinks in the fridge and cook our meals at night. Easy to get to by bus as well - recommend catching number 3 from the Piazzo Gramisci in Siena and then number 54 from Porta Tuffi

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MermaidNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We only came across Poderne Le Vigne by accident whilst touring Italy.
We needed 1 night accommodation near Siena and we hit upon probably one of the best.
Not only the fantastic farmhouse setting with wonderful views whilst sat having breakfast in the garden, but the very close position to the town.
It is only a relatively short walk and your there in Siena.
Recommend it very much. Also the language barrier is no problem as the owner speaks better English than we did.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Two of my friends and I recently stayed at this B&B! It was a great experience. Fredrica, the owner, was so friendly and helpful! The place was charming and had a beautiful view of the countryside. It was only a 20 minute walk or a short bus ride (free bus ride) to downtown Siena! Fredrica helped us set up a wine tasting at a vineyard 20 minutes away and recommended some great restaurants in Siena! I would recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kreno15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

First of all, please don't you ever miss visiting Tuscany, what a WONDERFUL place!
We had a great stay at Podere le vigne, Federica and her mother made us really comfortable, it felt like it was our home. The room is simple with no luxury, but very spacious and cozy. We loved the fact of having free use of the kitchen, after traveling a few days and eating at restaurants, you miss cooking your own food and we had a great pic nic one of the nights there.
The garden is very cute, I had a delightful sunset drinking a glass of white wine and reading a good book, I miss so much that afternoon!
The hotel is very close to Siena, although I found the other cities around (Pienza, Montalcino, Montepulciono, etc.) much more beautiful, the location is very handy.
Well, thanks to theses great hosts our trip to Tuscany was even more memorable. I totally recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayraParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#7 of 126 in Siena
244 reviews
1 mi away
Podere Il Pero
Podere Il Pero
#2 of 93 in Siena
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
#46 of 126 in Siena
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa di Antonella
La Casa di Antonella
#48 of 126 in Siena
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere le vigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere le vigne

Address: strada dei Tufi 56, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $69 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing