We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful traditional Tuscan farmhouse”
Review of Podere le vigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere le vigne
Ranked #22 of 127 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful trip to Siena. Podere le Vigne is a was a lovely place to stay and I don’t hesitate to recommend it.

Location: Podere le Vigne is located 1 km outside the city walls of Siena and makes a great base for exploring both the city & the fantastic areas around. It is just off a main road, and you can hear the traffic occasionally, but it didn’t bother us. Siena is around a 20 min walk, so this guesthouse only really suits if you have a car. During the day you can get the bus into Siena, but it stops around 8.30pm, so you need to drive/get a taxi in the evening. There didn’t seem to be any shops/restaurants very close so you always need to make a trip out.

Room/building: They have around 9 rooms in a beautiful old Tuscan farmhouse. We initially had a beautiful room downstairs, but we could hear the footsteps of the guests above (tiled floor) so we asked to move upstairs. Federica very kindly re-arranged the room plans to allow us to have an incredible room upstairs (room 5). I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it; beautifully decorated, large, quiet (apart from the road, but that didn’t bother us). The guesthouse is decorated in traditional and antique pieces which give the place a lovely informal & relaxed feel.

Service: Federica and her mother are both friendly and kind and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as they could

Food: I felt that the breakfast although nice, could have been better. There was bread, cornflakes, cheese, jam, cakes & biscuits. There was no fruit, which I thought was a real shame. The selection is more weighted towards cakes and biscuits (which I don’t like for breakfast) rather than healthier options. However, the jams seemed to be homemade (and were lovely) and there was plenty of everything there, and you could take as much as you wanted.

Overall I was really pleased that we stayed at Podere le Vigne; it is good value for money, a beautiful location and fantastic rooms.

Room Tip: We loved room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmazed68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 218 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely love the place. Our hosts, Carla and Federica are very warm, friendly and accommodating. It's located 5 minutes (by bus/car) from Siena city center (Porta Tufi gate), and about 20 minutes walk. Carla gave us clear directions on how to get to Porta Tufi, but ended up driving us there instead. She was that nice! We even had a sample of Tuscan cooking lesson from Carla, and it was one of the best meals we had during our trip to Italy. Federica is always smiling and helpful, and her kids, Sophie and Emma, are absolutely adorable!
Podere le Vigne is how we imagined Tuscany countryside would be, but even better. The driveway to the main house was straddled with a big garden, and they have a cushioned swing, a small horse stable and large field, with a playground. The room itself is spacious and we had our own bathroom. The whole place made us feel right at home. The breakfast was also awesome, with home made jams, bread, and different cakes that Carla bakes everyday. Such a gem. We love this place so much, our only regret was not staying longer.
Thank you Carla and Federica. We miss you, and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asq_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

one of the best place ever! from the moment you step into this breathtaking place, you can feel the warmth and serene in the atmosphere. our hosts are the most wonderful and helpful, i tink italians have tt in them. carla and frederica made us feel like home. never wanted to leave the place...breakfast is awesome, toilets and rooms are clean. she has a huge garden and a horse stable with 2 horses and a chicken and her fatty adorable cat, mica rossa.its walking distance to the city. could not have asked for more!! will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This B&B is really lovely. The hosts, Carla and Federica, are very welcoming and make you feel at home; the house is very nice, surrounded by nature, with a great sunset view; the room has charming vintage furniture; breakfast is delicious, especially because of the homemade jams and cakes.
Location is good, close enough to Siena (about 20 minutes walk), but almost half of the way is in a road with no sidewalk. Although the place is beautiful, I felt a little unsafe because of the cars and preferred to take a taxi (8 euros) in the evening.
Now, the best tip of all for a romantic stay: buy some cheese and wine in Siena and enjoy it in the garden by sunset. That is la dolce vita!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We've stayed here for one nIght and it had a nice location very near to sienne. There is a garden and some toys for children. THe rooms are very simple, but ok. The beds are a bit hard. The service is kind.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnSon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

A friend of mine recommended us to stay in Podere le Vigne when we are in Sienna on our Tuscany trip. As in March still a lot of small hotels and agriturismos are closed, we went there just to check... and already the entry convinced us to stay!
From the road you turn into a small olive tree and flower garden and you feel inmediately "at home". The house is how you would imagine houses to be like in Tuscany!
The family is great and helps you in whatever questions you might have. Rooms are very nice, clean and have the best beds we ever slept in outside of our own house!!!
The breakfast is served in the small kitchen with homemade jam and every day a homemade cake of Ms. Cipriani.

Although it is just 1 km to the gate Tufi to Siena, be prepared that it is a 20 minute uphill walk along the road. in front of the entry to the house is a bus stop but you need to get the tickets in the city center.

In three words: IT IS GREAT!

Room Tip: contact them directly via their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrita_girasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed in Podere La Vigne on the reccommendation of my mother who has spent a lot of time in Siena. We had booked for 4 nights but ended up staying six as it was just so lovely. The hotel is located on a hillside 10 minutes away from the city walls of Siena and 20 minutes from the city centre. The countryside is completely unspoilt and it is like staying in a picture post card of tuscany. The hillside is dotted with small villa's and farm houses and the landscape is exactly as you would imagine it was 500 years ago. The hotel itself is charming with exposed roof beams in the bedrooms and beautiful antique furniture. The owners of the hotel Frederica and Carla , a mother daughter team take great care of the place and it is spotless. They provide a lovely breakfast of sweet breads, coffee and juice all home made each morning and are full of great info about the area. You can get a bus up the hill into town (very frequent) but these end early (about 8pm) the walk is the perfect distance to help you digest your food though and taxi's are plentiful in the city centre. All in all La Vigne is just paradise and the perfect Tuscan get away

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
790 reviews
3.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Castagno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#7 of 127 in Siena
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
0.8 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#3 of 127 in Siena
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere le vigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere le vigne

Address: strada dei Tufi 56, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $70 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing