We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Day in Chianti”

Wine Tour in Tuscany
Ranked #1 of 26 Food & Drink in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Tour in Tuscany is owned and operated by Donatella, a young woman who was born and raised in the area. Sharing her authentic perspectives on the unknown corners of wonderful Tuscany, including those of a formally trained sommelier offers her clients a unique experience. The Tuscan landscape, its wine and food make the area one of the most famous in the world. Donatella is a polite, friendly, enthusiastic guide who speaks French and English with ease. She is fully licensed, insured and in compliance with all Italian regulations.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Day in Chianti”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The best part of this tour is Donatella herself. She is very knowledgeable about wine in general, but even more so about Chianti. And passionate about them as well. She is also very engaging with all the people on the tour, and has a great sense of fun. If you enjoy wine, and good food, you can't go wrong on this tour. We did not think the tour was expensive given the quality of the experience, including off the main tourist track wineries, and very special lunch with a local family in a beautiful country home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert_B_57_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    17
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Day of our Italy trip!!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I spent eleven days in Italy with three being in Florence. We had booked this one day tour with Donatella several months ago. Donatella is from Siena, therefore, totally knowledgable about the surrounding areas. She is a wonderful guide and brought everything we saw to life. The wineries, along with their owners, couldn't have been nicer and each tour was extremely informative. Donatella mixes it up with various sized wineries along with some olive oil production. She surprised us with a special lunch that we can't stop talking about! Donatella is a gem...don't miss this tour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Day in Tuscany with Donatella”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were a group of 5 young ladies excited to learn more about wine and see the magnificant views of Tuscany and it was so much more than that. We visited 3 wineries and had a delicious special lunch. This was on of our big highlights of our 7 week trip throughout Europe. It´s definetely a must do while in Italy - especially with sweet Donatella.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful break in the country side”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our day in the country side of Italy with Donatella was a wonderful experience. We visited a number of vineyards, tasted great wines and fresh olive oil, had a lovely meal in a real Tuscany house. A lovely break from the sightseeing of the Italian cities. Quite expensive, but highly recommended if you love chianti wines.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iseult2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day at Tuscany”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As a lot of reviewers already stated, Donatella is a great guide. She is adorable, helpful, skilled and it was wonderful talking to her while she drove us through beautiful landscapes. The Brunello tour is great and you don't have to be a wine expert to enjoy the delicious tastings or the fantastic lunch we had at Alberto's, a wonderful gentleman that welcomes us at his estate (it is not a restaurant). For our tour, Donatella wisely selected 3 small wineries with different characteristics - all of them with very nice brunellos. If you'd like to tour around Tuscany after good Brunello de Montalcino and off the beaten path, I strongly recommend you to talk to Donatella first.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank expedgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Tour in Tuscany also viewed

 

Been to Wine Tour in Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing