We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day at Tuscany”

Wine Tour in Tuscany
Ranked #1 of 26 Food & Drink in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Tour in Tuscany is owned and operated by Donatella, a young woman who was born and raised in the area. Sharing her authentic perspectives on the unknown corners of wonderful Tuscany, including those of a formally trained sommelier offers her clients a unique experience. The Tuscan landscape, its wine and food make the area one of the most famous in the world. Donatella is a polite, friendly, enthusiastic guide who speaks French and English with ease. She is fully licensed, insured and in compliance with all Italian regulations.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day at Tuscany”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As a lot of reviewers already stated, Donatella is a great guide. She is adorable, helpful, skilled and it was wonderful talking to her while she drove us through beautiful landscapes. The Brunello tour is great and you don't have to be a wine expert to enjoy the delicious tastings or the fantastic lunch we had at Alberto's, a wonderful gentleman that welcomes us at his estate (it is not a restaurant). For our tour, Donatella wisely selected 3 small wineries with different characteristics - all of them with very nice brunellos. If you'd like to tour around Tuscany after good Brunello de Montalcino and off the beaten path, I strongly recommend you to talk to Donatella first.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank expedgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    17
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST in Tuscany!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the best part of our Florence trip. Donatella not only made the trip convenient, it was informative, exciting, fun, and of course delicious! We went on the Chianti Classico tour and loved it. Donatella picked us up in the morning and took us around to three different wineries. Each stop was unique and we learned about wine making, olive oil, and even about food. Our lunch stop was phenomenal as well; we stopped in at one of Donatella's friend's house and had an amazing Italian lunch. Donatella was friendly, knowledgeable, and made the wine tour memorable. I highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting the area. A MUST!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Amazing Day!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was definitely the best day of our trip! We went on the Brunello di Montalcino tour and it was truly a special day. From the breakfast at the organic farm- a delightful surprise- to the two wineries and delicious lunch. Donatella has a way about her that makes everyone feel special and she is extremely knowledgeable. We are sorry we didn't have time for another tour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rand4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed, Pleasant, Instructive . . . Perfect”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I, wine lovers for many years, took our first trip to Italy last month and wanted to do at least one wine tour during our time there. I contacted Donatella by email, explained our schedule and asked if she could fit us in to any of her tours. She is based in Siena, but because we were going to be staying most of the time in Florence, she suggested we could participate in a tour of the Chianti wine country that started and finished there. The full-day tour, with two other couples, was a delight, well-organised and friendly. With Donatella, we visited two small wineries and one larger one, each with its own unique characteristics (for example, one was an organic winery). At each one, she was well known and the hosts took excellent and personal care of us. We had a delicious and relaxed family-style -- literally with the family -- lunch at yet another location, the estate of some other people she knew well. We enjoyed the whole experience very much, and recommend Wine Tour in Tuscany -- which is to say, Donatella -- highly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rasseru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must-do tour!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved our Chianti Classico wine tour. Donatella was very warm and attentive to all of our questions. The wineries that she took us to were so beautiful and the staff was very inviting. Lunch was perhaps the best part wherein we went to a Tuscan villa and ate a homemade meal of lasagna and chicken involtini. Yum! Thanks to Donatella for the splendid experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Tour in Tuscany also viewed

 

Been to Wine Tour in Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing