We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Donatella lives up to her #1 ranking”

Wine Tour in Tuscany
Ranked #1 of 26 Food & Drink in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Tour in Tuscany is owned and operated by Donatella, a young woman who was born and raised in the area. Sharing her authentic perspectives on the unknown corners of wonderful Tuscany, including those of a formally trained sommelier offers her clients a unique experience. The Tuscan landscape, its wine and food make the area one of the most famous in the world. Donatella is a polite, friendly, enthusiastic guide who speaks French and English with ease. She is fully licensed, insured and in compliance with all Italian regulations.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Donatella lives up to her #1 ranking”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 10 days in Italy with an itinerary of Rome, Florence, and driving to various hill towns in Tuscany. The highlight of our ten days, we both agreed, was our all-day wine tour (Brunello tour) with Donatella.

Donatella herself is incredibly knowledgeable with her wine and olive oil pedigrees, and just as important is very passionate, entertaining, and engaging in all things Tuscan. And, she had selected an outstanding group of local farm and winery owners who welcomed us with open arms. These friendly folks proudly shared stories of their history and business, gave us a tour of their operations, and offered a fabulous selection of food and wine samples. We made notes of several must-order wines along the way. A cozy and private multiple course Tuscan lunch in a lovely hillside kitchen / restaurant was another highlight of the day.

The size of the group is ideal to have a quite personal tour, but also to meet, share, and marvel over the experience with new friends (in our case, three couples including us) - made very easy with Donatella as the hostess! This small group tour style also allowed us to enjoy such intimate experiences at local farms and wineries, as Tuscany is meant to be seen.

Communication and logistics were flawless and simple. The weather was perfect. The scenery - amazing at every turn. And everyone we met seemed to enjoy it all as much as we enjoyed being there!

Five stars to Donatella, only because they won't let me pick 10!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rob_h_rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    17
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of trip - very personalized!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My extended family of 8 spent a week using San Gimignano as our base. After reading so many glowing reviews, I decided to hire Wine Tour in Tuscany to take us through Chianti and am so glad I did! Donatella was so easy to work with, even asking ahead of time about names and relationships of people in our party; she practically knew who was who when we all met.

She tailored the trip to our desires with very little work on my part (thank you!). We like wine, but don't study it. We got to taste that, plus many other local products over the day, My personal highlight was sharing a family's table for a home-made lunch and conversation. For the driving we rotated who sat in front; Donatella happily answering all the questions of each new occupant.

If you're going to spend this much time with someone, trust the many reviews here: you and your group will be so happy you did this!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
247 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC DAY, HIGHLIGHT OF 8WK EUROPE TRIP”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Do yourself a favour and make sure you experience one of Donatellas tours...we did the Montepulciano tour on 10th June and had a wonderful time making new friends along the way.....visited an organic cheese farm where the tastings were to die for and accompanied by wines at 10am!!! 2 other wineries and topped off with a magnificent gourmet lunch which was heaven....Donatella is local, vibrant and passionate about ensuring visitors experience her 'slice of heaven'.......it's a full day of new experiences and plenty of laughs along the way.....having been travelling for 2 months this tour in Tuscany has been one we will remember fondly for a long time....thanks Donatella .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Buonissimo!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Rome, Florence and Venice in early May. Given all of the positive reviews of Donatella's wine tour, we decided to book her tour even though it was a 2 hour drive from our hotel in Tuscany to Siena. It was well worth it.

Reservations were easy over email. Donatella was prompt and wrote in beautiful English so there was no confusion with the booking process. We paid half the cost ahead of time via Paypal and the difference in Euros after the tour was completed.

We visited 3 wineries in the Montalcino region, home of Brunellos. Each experience was unique, intimate and of course had incredible wine. We tasted olive oil and bread at the first winery and had an incredible lunch at a little cucina, in the countryside. The lunch was unbelievable. Alberto, the chef and owner, served us a 4 course lunch that was simple, rustic and delicious. You would never be able to eat at a restaurant like this without the help of Donatella.

I would recommend this tour for any food and wine lovers who are traveling near Siena.

As a reference, my wife and I both are wine lovers from Washington State and were excited to learn more about Italian wines. For those who have wine toured in the US, Italy is a bit different. Almost all wineries require reservations ahead of time and often involve formal tours of the vineyards and cellars. There don't seem to be many tasting rooms like you may be accustomed to in Napa, Sonoma or Washington. Although we were able to get lucky and taste at two wineries while driving through Chianti on a different day, I would highly recommend Donatella's wine tour as well as arranging any other winery tours before you leave for Italy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoePaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High expectations? Prepare to have them exceeded in every way imaginable.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

No trip to Italy should be considered complete until you have spent an afternoon drinking wine with Donatella. Her wine tours were recommended to us by a dear friend who toured Chianti with her and subsequently informed us “if you do one thing while you are in Italy, this should be it.” All we can say is wow, he was spot on! We visited a number of boutique wineries with the most gracious of hosts, took in the beauty of the Montalcino region, enjoyed one of the best meals of our trip in one of the most hospitable yet charmingly eclectic settings conceivable, and had a wonderful time bonding with strangers, who quickly became friends, over our common love of great wine and great food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryJPall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Tour in Tuscany also viewed

 

Been to Wine Tour in Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing