We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B La Coperta Ricamata
Ranked #43 of 121 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good enough”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

owner seemed annoyed, almost angry we were there. parking was difficult to find even with the map and directions from the owner. room was nice and clean, garden, what garden, breakfast fair.

Room Tip: better feel comfortable driving shoulder to shoulder with Italian drivers in order to park your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copertaricamata, Proprietario at B&B La Coperta Ricamata, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
I am very very sorry to have transmitted this feeling to my guests! I always try to be very welcoming and friendly and meet all the needs of my guests: it's my job. Unfortunately, we too are human and we go through moments of life that is hard to hide one we are living daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    51
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
88
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My husband and I were looking for peace, quiet and quaint as we arrived in Siena from a short stay in Rome. We were on the second leg of our honeymoon - being on a budget, we have been taking chances on B&Bs throughout Europe.

We are currently at a Sheraton in London and I can tell you that I am 100% yearning for our gorgeous room at la coperta!! The pictures do this gorgeous gem little justice, then location is ideal for being inside the old walls yet tucked away from any noise, and the hostess is warm, sweet and always right there when you need her.

Luciana is wonderful and speaks enough English so that even if the only Italian word you know is "pizza", you both will get along just fine. The rooms are not only clean, beautiful and cheerful, they are modern, well up to date and made me want to redecorate in a Tuscan style.

Breakfast is roughly from 715-9ish. Luciana sets up an adorable spread of cereal, juice, yogurt, coffee and pastries steps outside your door, then leaves so that you can gather breakfast at our leisure and eat at the table in your room. She claimed to clean "only a little", but when we returned to our room after a day of sightseeing, she had cleared out our breakfast and organized our bathroom (my hairdryer and brush were sitting quaintly on a new bathmat towel, our toothbrushes had been placed in the brand new chrome and glass water cup attachment in the wall and she had made the bathroom look westin hotel standard clean) and she had expertly made our beds, hospital corners and all!! These rooms even have little tvs, gorgeous wooden window coverings and doors, and ours had a balcony!

You cannot find better in Siena. My husband and I considered staying for another night or two. Don't forget to head to Sale e Pepe just up the road for the best pasta in Siena, hands down. Do yourself a favor - go pay a couple days visit to Luciana.

Room Tip: La serenade is the balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This B&B is located near a bus stop which made it convenient for us without a car. Luciana was welcoming but at times difficult for her to understand and comprehend our English. She spoke very poor English and we spoke no Italian; nevertheless all of our needs were net. We had a large room with a small balcony. We were advised not to use the balcony in the evening due to the mosquitos. The bathroom was modern with toiletries provided for us. We had a small television that we did not watch since the channels were all in Italian. There were some book sin our room that we read at night. We took one and left one for the next person.

Our room was located on the second floor and it seemed like a long staircase made of marble. Outside of our room is where she left the breakfast food at 7:30. Coffee, tea, cereal, pastries were all available for us to take back into our room. There was no common room for us to meet other travels and share stories. They were doing construction work next door but we never heard any noise.

We were a 10 minute walk to the central bus station where we took a bus to San Gimagiano. I would not recommend buying a Siena bus pass as we had at the train station. Everything is walkable. Luciana did give us a map but it was very small and difficult for us to read. We did get lost and showed the map to a number of locals and they couldn't figure it out even though we thought we were on a main type street. Restaurants were close by though we did not eat where she recommend us to - a place where locals ate. We thought it was out of our price range. We were pleased with the accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This review is long overdue - My girlfriend and I traveled to Siena with my parents at the end of last May and stayed with Luciana on our first two nights in Italy. The location is very charming, with a nice courtyard entry. We stayed in a wonderful room with a balcony overlooking the streets of Siena, while my parents had a corner room right next to ours.

Luciana was VERY helpful and a fantastic host. She spoke enough English and we "tried" to speak enough Italian, which was plenty to get by during our two day stay. If you are debating on whether or not to stay a hotel or B&B during your time in Italy - I would unequivocally suggest staying in a B&B if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room.

Thank you so much for making our stay a memorable one, Luciana!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phishead03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at La Coperta for 4 nights from Oct 1 - 5. The location was ideal as it's only 10 minute walk to the Siena center. The property itself was great. We had the room with no view; however, the room itself was huge, clean and beautifully decorated. All the stuff in the room was top notch.

Luciana is a great host; answered our questions and helped us in every way possible. We used Siena as a base to explore Florence, and other Tuscan towns such as San Quirico d'Orcia, Pienza, Montepulciano, and san gimignano.

We'll highly recommend this property and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was the room with no view, but it was the most quite one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uasindhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The large iron gate hides a quiet B&B quite close to sites of Siena. If you are driving, the parking is a wee challenge and a couple of blocks away. (You can park at the gate just long enough to announce your arrival and unload, and then you must park elsewhere.) The rooms were large and lovely. The breakfast offered more than a "puffy" pastry and coffee...a nice selection of morning fare to start your day. The host seemed most interested in ensuring we understood what she was trying to say.

Room Tip: There are stairs to climb...I didn't notice any lift being available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A well located B&B only 10 mins into town and handy to the bus and supermarket. Rooms are big and both the bathroom and room was very clean. There is aircon in your room however it is switched off between hours of 11pm and 6am but this appeared to happen at other hotels as well. It is then necessary to sleep with the windows open. A small screen has been placed on one of the windows to keep the mozzies out but when we had a big storm one evening the room became quite stuffy once the windows had to be shut up. Breakfast is simple, fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cereal that you can eat in your room. It is more than adequate but some guests take a little more than their share. The owner Luciana is helpful and you just need to knock on her door if you need something. Her English isn't the best but we always managed to communicate and figure out what each was saying. The property is good value for money being so close to everything but also being quiet set back off the road. They are fixing up a house in front of it but I never heard any of the construction noise in the four nights I was there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
0.6 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#8 of 121 in Siena
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa di Antonella
La Casa di Antonella
#46 of 121 in Siena
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa di Osio
Casa di Osio
#44 of 121 in Siena
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Senesino
Il Senesino
#30 of 121 in Siena
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mastacchi
Casa Mastacchi
#50 of 121 in Siena
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Coperta Ricamata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Coperta Ricamata

Property: B&B La Coperta Ricamata
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 46, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“LA COPERTA RICAMATA” is situated inside the old city walls, in the territory of the contrada of Lupa, just steps away from Piazza del Campo, the heart of the city where traditionally on 2nd July and on 16th August the Palio, the annual historic horse-race, is held. The B&B is conveniently situated within walking distance of the city’s historic centre. It’s located near a bus stop, the railway station and a highway exit, so it’s an excellent accommodation for all travellers. It is possible to park in the nearby streets or to park at nearby garages. The B&B, located in a villa just inside the old city walls, is completely surrounded by a large garden that gives the guests peace, quiet and comfort, but also the view of an unusual landscape beneath the ancient and famous rocca of Monte dei Paschi. The villa, built at the beginning of the 20th century and renovated few years ago, is built on two floors. The B&B single and double guest rooms are situated on the first floor. All the rooms are large and with bathrooms en suite with hair-dryer, air conditioning, cabled TV and free wi-fi. The rooms are cleaned daily. Bed and Bath-linen are changed weekly. The breakfast buffet is served from 8 a.m until 10 a.m; guests may breakfast in their rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B&B La Coperta Ricamata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Coperta Ricamata
b&b La Coperta Ricamata Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing