We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna di Cecco

Taverna di Cecco
Ranked #34 of 516 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a traumatic dinner at this restaurant when my husband discovered a rubber band in his meal....at the last bite of it ! It was lying in the sauce of his mushroom with polenta. SO DISGUSTING ! This is totally unacceptable in tems of hygiene.
The waiter slightly apologized but the boss didn't even had the courage to come to apologize and give us an explanation....but is there any kind of explanation to give to this kind of serious lack of hygiene anyway ?? The waiter said it must be the grandmother rubber band..... But how not to be totally upset ?
Needless to say that we immediately left this place, completly shocked and disgusted.
We mentioned our horrible experience to the local tourist board.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hong_Kong_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    243
    74
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We showed up at around 9pm, and with no reservation. The waiter mentioned another table was almost done with their meal and suggested we waited a bit. As we wait outside, the same waiter comes out with two white wine glasses and hand it is us and say `uno apperitivo `.
About ten minutes later our table was ready. This is a tiny place, so be prepared to be sitting very closely to other people. It is almost like sitting around a big table sharing a meal with a bunch of other people. Fun.
My partner had the tagliatelle con fungi. Make sure you add some olive oil like all the Italians do, and the dish is perfect.I had the tortellini and wow, the sauce was amazingly yummy. There was a little hint of cinnamon with every bite, which made it super delightful. When asked the chef about it, he said that taste was actually from the sausage.
We skipped desert, but I now regret it :)
Reservation is recommended if between 8:00-10:00.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jovino r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal of the whole trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Best meal we experienced during a two week trip to Italy visiting five cities. I had the tagliatelle with boar, my husband had the polenta. Both were absolutely delicious. The tagliatelle had a lovely texture, with that slight chewiness, and the boar was rich, well seasoned and paired well with the pasta. The polenta was also delicious. Great atmosphere, low key, casual but still elegant. Would definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great family run restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was first taken to this restaurant by an American who has lived in Siena since the 1970's. She advised me on her favorite dishes and she was right on! I had a polenta dish with a mushroom sauce that was delicious. Also their tiramisu is unique and famous...a must get. Off the beaten path.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
481 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Value but caution”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We asked some friends in Siena where do th elocals go; they suggested Taverna di Cecco. I personnally hate it when I am in a foreign country and find myself in a restaurant filled with Americans. I want to absorb culture and eating with a bunch of Americans is not a way to do that. We were not disappointed here. There was one English speaking couple there when we arrived at 8:00. They were soon finished as Americans generally eat early, then no more English speakers were seen all night.

The place is charming and cozy and the prices are very reasonable. The service was very good and so was the wine. I would say, however, that not all of our meals were great. My Florentine friend hated her risotto, saying it was dry and barely edible. My other friend said her pork roast was tasty but very dry. I had the osso busso which was excellent, as was the polenta starter. The pastas looked great and all seemed to be enjoying their food.

What i want to caution you about is the bill. The bill came to EU 115 for the three of us (including a nice bottle of wine). I did not look carefully, and paid the bill and left 15 euros tip (I am American and always leave extra). Afterwards, looking at the bill, we realized they had already added a 15% tip to the bill which was actually 100. My Italian friends were aphalled. They said the grat was put on because I was American, as no Italian would stand for that - especially with a small table of only 3 people. So - watch the bill. Also the waiter never mentioned the tip was on the bill. What was a really fun night ended up with a feeling of being decieved. We wont go back here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yecats59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna di Cecco also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Taverna di Cecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing