We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Il Poggiarello
Ranked #18 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The other reviews say it all. This is a beautiful agriturismo surrounded by serene Tuscan countryside. We stayed two nights but unfortunately didn't have a car. That made things more difficult so I would highly recommend renting one. Cab rides to Siena are 20 euros each way. Mariangela was gracious enough to call a cab for us each morning and even gave us a ride to a nearby restaurant one night which was really sweet of her. Breakfast is not included but is only 5 euros per person. Definitely worth it as it includes prosciutto and salami, cheeses, lemon cake, espresso and the best scrambled eggs I have ever had!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have traveled to many parts of Italy and stayed in all sorts of places and this was by far our favorite! Even though it is quiet and remote (except for the birds and the wind in the trees!) it is very near the town of San Gimignano with its fabulous Gelato and sweet town square AND the larger town of Poggibonsi, which has a large supermarket (International Herald Tribune), the train station, etc. There are so many beautiful small towns that are within driving distance... Certaldo, Montireggione, Colle di val Delsa, and even Volterra. Besides Siena, of course. Stefano was a wonderful and helpful host, and it was a truly relaxing time. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I first staying here in 2004 and have made it a must at least once a year to relax and unwind. Great location with great surroundings and great owners makes my stay here brilliant.. Very welcoming and helpful and always around if required..
It's a short drive to Siena town center (10mins) and within 40 mins of the major Chianti towns.. A great base to explore the Tuscan countryside...Love this place..
Mariangela is the host alongside her mother, both of whom are ladies that gives ll Poggiarello a great place to locate while in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMcE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Il Poggiarello from the 26th of September untill the 3rd of October. We had a wonderful time. Our little son Edvard and we got pancaces for breakfast every day, and we felt like home. The location is beautiful, the owner and staff fantastic, and we will definitively go back next year! We do not agree with the reviewer that argue that this is not a place for children. We felt that our two children were very welcome and they had a great time. The owner and staff even took their time to talk and play with our kids when we were having breakfast! Our little Erik was only half a year, but I am sure he too will be a good friend of the dog, Bobby, next time! Look forward to see you again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene_og_Andreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I just returned from a 14 day trip to Europe, which we spent one night of at Mariangela's lovely agriturismo. We arrived from Chianti and were pleased to see that as we drove by Siena it was only a short distance to Agriturismo Il Poggiarello. Siena is enchanting but we didn't want a city feel and this was the perfect combination. Nestled into a little hilltop the views are outstanding and the farmhouse has that old rustic feeling with pretty furnishings. It becomes very homey right off the bat as Mariangela is a very gracious hostess and the place feels welcoming. Her breakfast was delicious, she makes everything herself including eggs, jam and cakes. Everything is very fresh and tasty. There is a beautiful pool, unfortunately we weren't able to use it as we drove into Siena that night. I loved that there were chickens and all types little birdies running around, olive trees and fruit trees and cute kitties. It was adorable to say the least. I loved it and we will be back! When we first arrived Mariangela and I played charades since neither one of us spoke the others language but she was so sweet about it, then we had trouble figuring out heating and cooling system (we later found out that if the window is open it shuts off to save energy- which I think is super smart), Anyway, she came in and helped us. THen a little later we needed wine glasses and an opener and she went and got one for us. She was such a sweet lady that I had to give her a big hug when we left! Thank you Mariangela!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I confess that I don´t remember exactly what month I´ve been in this hotel, but I've chosen it to offer to my kids a place close from Siena, but with some fun like gardens to run, swimming pool etc. It was not a good idea... The place is soooo peaceful that the kids are not so welcome. They can´t jump in the swimming pool, they can´t run in the garden, they can´t laugh louder... In summary: if you are making a romantic or a single trip, go ahead! Maybe I'll come back next time to enjoy the beautiful view or to read a book calmly under the flowers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hereiwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful time at your Agriturismo Mariangela. We stayed 2 nights at this brilliant location on 30th June - 2nd July in El Nino Room on B & B basis. From the moment we arrived this little clinker of a farmhouse would take your breath away. From the greetings & hospitality to the wonderful views of Siena and privacy of gardens & pool. I cannot recommend this Agriturismo enough. Lazing by the pool with beautiful Siena in the background after a hard days sightseeing.. The gardens & pool are kept in immaculate condition. The room el nino is all you could ask for - great views, comfy bed, air con and wifi and great shower. The breakfast each morning was 1st class - homemade cakes, fresh eggs, tea, coffee, selection of hams, cheese and loads more. The Agriturismo is an easy 5-10min drive from the beautiful city of Siena - out in the countryside in a lovely private location. Everyone should know about this beautiful relaxing farmhouse. I guarantee if yoy stay here you wont be disappointed . Would not think twice about staying here again. Loved it. Mariangela is a lovely lady and the hospitality from herself and her helpers was 2nd to none. loved Siena and this little GEM made it even better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrone_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,377 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Selva Agriturismo
La Selva Agriturismo
#22 of 94 in Siena
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Sant' Andrea
Villa Sant' Andrea
#17 of 94 in Siena
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Agriturismo Malafrasca
Agriturismo Malafrasca
#23 of 94 in Siena
67 reviews
4.4 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#4 of 125 in Siena
680 reviews
2.9 mi away
Podere Il Pero
Podere Il Pero
#2 of 94 in Siena
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Poggiarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Poggiarello

Address: Strada di Fogliano 35, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Price Range: $116 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORKING FARMThe Agriturismo is made up of one main building with other separate independent buildings all which are based on a small hill that allows you to see the amazing view of Siena and the typical Tuscan countryside. The apartments have been restructured from old stables and out-houses, while the rooms have been built from the Casa Calonica (the old farm-house). The farm has traceable origins from 1600. It was the old threshing - floor used for straw and wheat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing