We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously good restaurant”

La Compagnia dei Vinattieri
Ranked #23 of 523 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $61
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ristorante enoteca nel centro di Siena
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seriously good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by friends who live in Siena and we were not disappointed. A very warm, friendly welcome, very good, professional service and excellent food. If you enjoy quality food you really must try this place. In my view seriously underated by previous revews and so much better than ones we tried on our recent visit to Siena,that have a higher rating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    260
    63
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic romantic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

If in Siena, go to this restaurant for a fantastic meal. It's well worth the cost. Everything from the hors d'oeuvres to the wine are wonderful. Be sure to make a reservation. The food is traditional Tuscan, plus an added touch. Great for a couple or small group.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slklvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Thumb up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to this place for the first time yesterday and i am planning to go back asap!
The restaurant is pretty tony which i personally prefer to the big ones, i'd say is quite romantic, rather appropriate for intimate special occasions.
A lovely waitress approached us offering some wine and a little appetizer, tha was o nice touch :-)
I had a lovely artichoke flan as starter a first with anchovies and a huge slice of chocolate cake.
I have to say i did not liked the first the owner got that and offered to prepare something instead, thei send me it pronto!
The cake was the best part a delicate chocolate cake with slices of almond.
We took 2 wines a red and a white, the wine was an unexpected type of ribolla.
I love try and taste new wines.
All in all i definetelly recommend this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soisialachas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, tiny portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant has a warm, family feel about it. It is not very big, and we were early enough not to need a reservation, but it filled up very quickly!

The food was very good, and on the face of it, reasonably priced, but the portions are quite small. If you go there hungry, be prepared to fill up on bread, or order more than a single course.

It cost EUR35 for 2 main courses (no wine).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Attractive locale, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've eaten here three times now, most recently two days ago, and have always had very positive experiences. Service is prompt, local dishes well-cooked, servers polite.

Book ahead for dinner, but lunchtime walk-ins during the week don't seem to be a problem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Compagnia dei Vinattieri also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Compagnia dei Vinattieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing