We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Gallo Nero

Gallo Nero
Ranked #18 of 525 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $56
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A wonderful union of flavors and suggestions that will remind you the charm of the Middle Ages. Very close to the famous Piazza del Campo, in the heart of the historic center of Siena, you will find the exclusive Restaurant Gallo Nero. The atmosphere is very cozy and hospitable, like a typical Tuscan home.Mauro Tigli - owner of the restaurant and chef of great experience and imagination, is here for turning on the taste of your palate with its extraordinary menu of traditional and medieval cuisine and Sienese and Tuscan recipes. Behind it all is a strong passion for the local products, personally selected by the chef from the meats to cheeses, from vegetables to homemade pasta. Excellent wine list with over 50 labels of the highest level ready to satisfy all your needs. In the upper floor, you will find a private, intimate and welcoming, of absolute elegance. The decor is characterized by a refined minimal design. An exclusive space where to celebrate an important occasion such as your birthday or your graduation party. Organize a lunch or dinner, attend a cooking class or a guided tasting of Tuscan wines, or simply spend a happy and convivial moment with your friends or your family.
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
564 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was an included meal as part of a tour. The food wasn't exception by any means and not what we would expect for an Italian restaurant in Sienna. The atmosphere was very nice and the service was OK. We wouldn't return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    445
    137
    56
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Went here after recomended by our hotel as The only celiac certified place in Sienna. It was awful. The wait staff was very unorganized. They forgot my salad. Brought our food out cold and my gluten free pasta looked worse than kraft macaroni and cheese. The other dinners were equally bad. They also had this singer and very loud drummer who pranced around the room and caused me to have a huge headache. Bad.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urubici
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst experience in Europe”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My father is a wine producer and I went to the Gallo Nero with him to taste the traditional Bisteca alla Fiorentina and a good wine. We arrived at the restaurant with no reservation, but we were waiting for 40 minutes on our feet, in a passageway, between the WC and entrance doors, even with an available table for two people.

They didn't have the asked wine and the waiter convinced us with hurry to take his suggestion (a bad one). Service was really confused and we had difficulties to get some attention (I asked three times for a bottle of water).

The food has nothing special and for the very expensive price we paid for just one plate and an egg smell wine, you could have an authentic and fantastic Italian dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielTheodoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchheim bei Munich, Germany
1 review
“Save your money”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Cannot blame the servers for the poor Italian food. We have the pasta Tagliolini with Truffles and it was like eating yeast with Truffles. The fish was bland. The only thing that tasted like food was the water.
Avoid it if you are interested in having a romantic or a good food experience. Truly, we feel bad for the servers that have to go out of their way to boast about this poor quality food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely best food in Tuscany!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We had wonderful food..fresh..delicious and very tasty...roast pork..bread with medival spices..best in Italy we have tasted..roasted local vegetables and potatoes..rich brown gravy..tuscany soup with beans and vegetables..service was great..local people and definitely local food...enjoyed it the most for our 6 days here so far (been in Rone.Florence , and Siena . chik pea soup also very good! Mom and daughter from USA...

Helpful?
Thank MissyAnne084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Nero also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Gallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing