We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lesson in where not to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camping Siena Colleverde
Ranked #4 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lesson in where not to stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed at several other camping villages in Italy. So far, I've been impressed by most of them, particularly the one in Rome. This camping village however has almost put me off the whole idea. I stayed in a bungalow, which cost 50 euro a night, far more then any hostel or BnB. The water in the shower in this bungalow seemed to have a mind of its own, jumping from hot to cold randomly no matter where the knob was. I bought a wi-fi card for 4 euro (not a bad price) but after bringing it back to my bungalow, I noticed that there was no wi-fi inside. When I brought these concerns to the front desk, they said AND I QUOTE "Impossible, not true". At breakfast, I went to the market underneath the resturant to find that the bread was rock hard and covered in mould. To round off this terrible experience, at 11:00 the day I was checking out, a woman came to my bungalow, banged on the window and shouted "Out! You, out!" When I tried to explain that I still needed to pack my things, she said "Time up, you out!"

I would recommend anyone staying in Siena to avoid this camping village at all cost. Which shouldn't be too hard, as only one bus in the whole city runs anywhere near it and that bus only comes once every hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    190
    56
    13
    9
See reviews for
90
191
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Yes, the reception staff can be a bit dismissive which is not very tourist friendly, but the place is organised, clean and the market has enough to be getting on with. It is a bit limited for those of us that don't have cooking facilities and the pizzas you buy are a bit on the expensive side. the difference between a marguerita pizza which is just tomato paste and cheese and a more expensive one with mushrooms on top is about 5 euros but you only get approx one mushroom dotted about on the top so you feel its a bit of a swiz. The cabins provide what you need but don't have air conditioning so you have no choice but to leave the windows open so you can breathe but that brings in the mozzies...... The pool is lovely and the snack shack does nice coffee, cold drinks, lovely lovely large melon slices and pizza slices. loos nearby so its easy to spend afternoons just lazing about. You must wear a cap though and they track you down and insist that you wear one even if you are completely bald. That's no excuse for not buying one!!!! You can buy them from the shack (conveniently the enforcer works there as well) for about 2.5 euros. We kept ours from our last holiday in Tuscany as we are thrifty and thought the whole tracking down of people and forcing them to buy the cuffia quite amusing. The bus from the camp site is quite thrilling as the bus drivers career through the winding streets really fast and since the buses only have a few seats which one feels have to be used for the elderly and infirm, you have to hold on tight and get buffeted about. Its a walkable distance as well although if its hot take water with you. Siena is lovely and the main centre where they have the horses running round for the Palio each year is fantastic. We had the joy of seeing couples getting married from the cathedral. As one marriage party leaves another is close on its heels with the organiser walking just in front of the bride who is also walking ( no cars allowed) holding up a sign like a travel organiser stating the names of the couples so the invitees don't get mixed up with the wrong wedding. Back to the camp site - if you can afford it go for the larger cabins as the small ones are a bit like a hot box but are clean and functional. Can't recommend Siena enough. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rent a larger cabin so you have more space in order to enjoy your holiday a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelpieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights during Italy's extremely hot summer. I booked a simple 2 person tent and discovered they are ex-military surplus tents with 2 fold up beds in a slant because of the hill and a flap for the door that did not lock. It was extremely hot in the tents and had little privacy. My husband and I ended up upgrading to a cabin that was simple but had a lock and ensuite. Cabins still didn't have AC or fan but at least it had a window we could leave open. The camp site it self was well kept with a swimming pool and small supermarket onsite. Staff were friendly and restaurant on site had reasonably priced meals. However it take about 20-25mins by bus to get into town. Bus tickets can be purchased at reception. I would stay here again but would go straight for the cabin and perhaps avoid the summer months.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Deer, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for a night on the way to Rome, and found it a friendly place.

In common with many campsites in this region, it's quite hilly - and the speed bumps are a bit too high! Nearly took the bottom of the car off at 5mph.

Even in high season there was plenty of room to pitch or tent - they gave us a choice among the campervan pitches because all the "hillside" tent areas were full up. So a nice level pitch with plenty of room.

The onsite cafe and restaurant are good value, and the staff very helpful. Showers are good (it's always the showers that make or break a campsite for me) and free - none of those annoying little tokens to buy and try not to lose.

Siena itself s a short drive away, and there's ample parking just outside the city wall.

We'll definitely use this campsite again - it's made it onto our "list of decent places to stay".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HengistScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The first impression was that after a long and hot journey the reception staff were rude and dismissive. It got better during our stay (which we nonetheless curtailed from 5 nights to 3). This was primarily down to the reception staff who frankly didn't give a [--]. The site's internet access was appalling and a con - don't even try to close the lid on your laptop otherwise you will lose the '24' hour access that costs 4 euros each and every time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinw424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The tents are basic and don't have a lock on the door. Expensive for what you get. Apparently the cabins are nice though. Friendliest staff you can find. Helpful and a lot of fun! Close to town. Would come back, but in a cabin this time

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This campsite was very accessible. Close to Sienna. The cabin was perfect for our needs and had a little chair/table outside. The campsite was very clean. The resteraunt was nice. No complaints. Perfect for a stay in sienna as it's out of the city so you can make the most of both having a relaxing time by the pool and visiting the sites of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF87Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siena
0.8 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#23 of 40 in Siena
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#4 of 123 in Siena
667 reviews
16.1 mi away
Camping Boschetto Di Piemma
Camping Boschetto Di Piemma
#19 of 107 in San Gimignano
131 reviews
14.6 mi away
Camping Orlando in Chianti
Camping Orlando in Chianti
#2 of 10 in Cavriglia
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Siena Colleverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Siena Colleverde

Property: Camping Siena Colleverde
Address: Strada di Scacciapensieri 47, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping Siena Colleverde 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Camping Siena Colleverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Siena Colleverde Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing