We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value in Siena” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Le Campane

Ristorante Le Campane
Ranked #143 of 516 Restaurants in Siena
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Closed on Monday
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good value in Siena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice small restaurant, with great service and good food. Our waiter offered fresh grilled mushrooms, a very good suggestion. Prices are adequate.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ASCSALLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    102
    38
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Three meals in six days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We "chose" this restaurant for dinner having come out of the Cathedral sight-seeing... so it was more or less a random choice. Our first meal was so good that we went back twice more.

This is a small place - the desirable outside seating is big enough for perhaps twenty - with maybe the same again inside.

What made it for us was both the food and the service. The service wass super-friendly, very helpful, multi-lingual and efficient. Two young guys work the place, with a great kitchen. We had fresh porcini mushrooms sauteed in herbs that were simply wonderful... and then there was the pork with smoked potatoe puree (just delicious)... and Cantuccini... and so on and ond on.

I 100% recommend this place ... please go, you will not regret it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We decided to eat here on a day trip to Siena. Not the easiest place to find - but wandering around the beautiful pedestrianised streets of Siena to find it wasn't any hardship!

The food was excellent - and made from fresh ingredients.

Although the starter - a porcini mushroom dish, was not on the official menu, you got to select the freshly picked mushrooms yourself! it was one of the simplest, and tastiest starters i have ever had. Cooked with a little bit of garlic and olive oil - simple but delicious.

The main courses - off the menu , a rabbit thigh, and wild boar stew were also excellent, and the vegetables that accompanied it were cooked to perfection.

The wine was reccommended by our waiter, a Sangiovese, and was the nicest wine we drank on the whole trip - at a fraction of the cost we paid for some of the bottles elsewhere in Tuscany.

i would have liked to spend more time in Siena - and if i had, i would have definitely eaten here again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stoufferthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice, small family run restaurant with vegetarian options.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Somewhat tricky to find but well worth it. The restaurant is tucked into a small side street and has a small outdoor eating area from which to enjoy people watching on the adjacent bigger cross street. We had a very friendly and helpful waiter, who was fun to talk to (he spoke five languages). All in all, an enjoyable dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Sauropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We found this restaurant quite by chance, tucked away in a small street. We ate lunch there on two occasions - first time we sat on the small outdoor patio and the second we chose the cozy inside as the weather was cool. The welcome was warm, service very good and the food excellent. Being very close to the Piazza del Campo and Il Duomo this restaurant is certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CDM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Le Campane also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Le Campane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing