We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Sienese Food”
Review of Il Campaccio

Il Campaccio
Ranked #76 of 525 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: After a lot of workings a new management in one of the most beautiful corners of Siena. A small courtyard which is accessed through a small gate in Vicolo del Campaccio 2, next to the Sanctuary of Santa Caterina, will take you on a culinary journey in the name of tradition and modernity. Two young people with a great desire to experiment and invent propose a local and well taken bistrot with a various menu changing with the seasons. A lot of fish (always fresh) but also great meat, pasta and homemade bread, sweet temptations in name of quality. Self-production and looking for products strictly from our own organic and sustainable.
Joyce, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Real Sienese Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This little restaurant is tucked in an alleyway between Santuario Santa Caterina and Albergo Bernini. A simple setting for delicious food provided with caring, friendly service. Highlights of our visit were the wild boar (cinghale) stew and an amazing, made to order chocolate souffle, with the most delicious, warm chocolate filling you can imagine. Our party left full, happy, and glad we had selected this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FromTheStrait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    79
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of our trip”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I ate here based on reviews from TripAdvisor and you all did not disappoint! From the outside, it looks much like the dozens of other little restaurants you'd find in any Italian city. The food, however, is perfectly prepared, with the right balance of flavors and high-quality ingredients. On top of all that, the prices were very reasonable. We ate much more expensive meals during our trip, but this was by far our favorite!

What we ate:
Grilled vegetables
Mixed bruschetta (the beans one was amazing!)
Pasta with wild boar
Ravioli
Cookies with sweet wine

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service, Great Food!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The waitstaff here was so friendly and so accommodating! We arrived early and had a wonderful meal. The house wine in particular is excellent. The location is cute too, kind of like dining in a wine cellar. Not that this is any surprise in Italy, but according to the website they use local ingredients, etc.

Osteria molto carina, con ottimo servizio. Abbiamo mangiato bene per un buon prezzo (il vino della casa e' veramente eccezionale!). Da provare!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theduckiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a hidden gem...great pasta”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

tucked away under a little cave of a street, a great place for pasta. we opted for the pasta with pear, and pasta with cheese & onions..yum! pasta was cooked perfectly. we arrived at 7pm on the dot and they served us no problem. friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasted the local wild boar with pasta”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The restaurant is small and has a home like feel. The prices are decent with portion sizes. The wild boar dish I ordered was good, but nothing to write home about. Overall, a nice quick dining experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank laytonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Campaccio also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Campaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing