We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca
Ranked #69 of 118 Siena B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Siena is a gem and this small hotel is a gem within Siena. It is a very old building that has been beautifully renovated with spacious rooms and lovely nooks and crannies for reading, etc, both indoors and on lovely balconies and terraces. Breakfast is delicious and brought to the room each morning. The location is perfect, despite being quite a long uphill walk from the bus station. Also, the rooms are upstairs with no elevator, so it's quite a chore to arrive. But it's worth the work. This place is truly magnificent.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a lot of climbing to do to get to one's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    86
    58
    22
    19
See reviews for
48
110
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great location and friendly staff. Easy walk to the main square. I agree with the other reviewers. It would have been nice to have someone carry our luggage up to our room. The room was cute and had a beautiful sitting area. Other than the August heat, the room was good!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with the sun in the summer ;--)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostSoul624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cate126, Proprietario at Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Kind Madame
we were very happy to have had our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The receptionist was very kind and willing to give information. Unfortunately there was no-one to bring our luggage up to our room (as the hotel advertises!). The cleaning personnel didn't clean our room, they only made the beds. The shared areas are beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theWanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was a great location and the staff were very friendly - it is an easy walk from the main square and in the old town of Siena so the perfect location. The room we had was in need of a bit of renovation however clean and with all the essentials. Breakfast is brought to the room and also adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveller117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Good location - we were on the 3rd floor but could drive up to the back entrance so didn't need to carry our bags up stairs. Check in was quick and easy. Room had a nice outlook and amazing frescoes on the ceiling! Didn't have air con though, but did have a fridge! The little garden was nice to sit in for a glass of wine and some buffalo mozzarella! Easy to walk everywhere. With breakfast included and delivered to the door this was good value!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heihil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is in an incredible location on a beautiful little street. The building itself is so fantastically quirky, you just have to go and explore it! The staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a room on the third floor. It's true that it's a little exerting to get up to the third floor, but think of it as an adventure- you're in Italy! There is a little garden with a fountain off the second floor. You can go out and sit with a glass of wine- heavenly!

A couple of cons- The bathroom was small and poorly arranged- even for Europe. But it served the purpose. We felt the cleanliness of the place was a little lacking. The hall outside our room smelled like a wet ash tray, but the room itself was okay. We reported the smell to the front desk and she blamed it on other guests. She must not have looked into it though, because the smell stuck around.

All in all I would stay here again just for the location and price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tre653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This 14th century building is very atmospheric and beautifully decorated. The location is wonderful: very central and adjoining a little garden which is well-kept and adds to the timeless feel of the place. Some of the furniture is a little wonky, but the the things that matter work well: I had a blissfully comfy bed and a hot and powerful shower and the room was scrupulously clean.
Service is young, quirky and very helpful, with good communication prior to my stay and every effort made to meet my needs when I arrived. Breakfast is basic continental but varied and perfectly acceptable and is delivered to your room at a time of your choosing - wonderful!
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a double bed, ask for one of the rooms with two singles (mine was number 8) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKerryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Chiostro del Carmine
Il Chiostro del Carmine
#26 of 118 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere d'Epoca
Camere d'Epoca
#62 of 118 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Quattro Cantoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca

Property: Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca
Address: Via Giovanni Dupre' 126 | Via Casato di Sopra 33, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il casato b & b is in the heart of siena close to the famous piazza del campo and the magnificent gothic cathedral which dominates the most' old city. All rooms are furnished with care and private bathroom, mini bar, safe casset, telephone ,cable tv, wifi.Into the palace there is a romantic garden overlooked by almost all rooms, some with private terrace.Is a great place to spend your free time in siena, to studies, to job, to discover the history or just go for walks through the narrow streets of the city. You can forget the car because we are two steps from aroundchildren are welcome.And if travel with dogs or cats you will find always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casato Residenza d` Epoca Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing