We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Camollia
Ranked #40 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

the directions to get there were not that great, but location was good, right in front of main gate of walled city. We had a little terrace which was nice to get fresh air. The staff were helpful, bed comfortable, water was hot. The breakfast was good for european standards, even had boiled eggs. Funny thing was we took a bus to go to the train station to go to PIsa and the next day when we went for a walk about a block and half straight down from the main gate there were escalators (lots of them) it took us right to a big mall and across the street was the train station.

Room Tip: rooms on the back were probably quieter, but on the first floor means less stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed at B&B Camollia for 2 nights, 8-9 Sept 2011 in Room 11. I paid EUR50/night incl light breakfast. Booked thru booking.com. I had a really friendly welcome from Sami - he gave me a map and some good dinner suggestions etc.

It was a bit hard to know where to get off the bus when I was coming from San Gimignano. If you keep your eye out for the large archway marked Porta Camollia, just ask the bus driver to let you off at the archway (which is actually Via Biagio Di Montluc) - the B&B is only 20m DOWN the hill from there. I went too far and had to walk 500m back up the hill. It is probably easiest to arrive by train, then head for the Galleria shopping complex and take the escalators all the way to the top (6 sets) and then turn left out of the escalators. Walk approx 400m to Camollia archway and turn right (before the archway). You will then find the B&B on the right. Note that I had to catch a train at 6am and I was worried the escaltors would shut at night together with the shopping complex - but the escalators are always open - they dont close.

I enjoyed my stay here - it reminded me of a uni campus - modern, fresh and mostly young travellers. It was all freshly painted with IKEA style furniture. The bathroom was nicely renovated. I like the little courtyard area. I liked the keycard entry to all doors - swipe for access & easy to carry with you. Breakfast was a very basic and the b/f room gets overcrowded and a bit chaotic around 8am.

It took me a good 25 mins to walk from the B&B to Il Campo - it is further than you think - but it is one straight road so it is easy to find. There is a nice piazza BEHIND Il Campo called Piazza Mercato with a few little restaurants - it was a good recommendation from Sami. Il Campo seems to be filled with the "older" crowd whereas the hip, cool scene seems to be around the P. Mercato for lunch and dinner.

Overall, I didn't really like Siena. I though it lacked atmosphere and was a boring place (I'm sure its different during Palio). I wish I had have stayed 2 nights longer in San Gimignano (which had loads of atmosphere) and then just come to Siena for a day trip. It only takes you half a day to look around Il Campo, the Duomo and the small street surrounding Il Campo.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YasmineinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. 4 nights. Spotlessly clean, well looked after, small but comfortable room. Very convenient to train station (use escalator). Not far from bus terminus say 15 mins walk and well located for city. Breakfast ok rather than great. People very nice and helpful. Would certainly return again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishsquashplayerST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the place in September. The place is good. Clean, tidy, comfy, nice overall, room was very small, but no grudges. It is right next to the entrance to the old town and a walking distance from the train station. Their breakfast is not sensational, but it was ok. There are no cold cuts, but there are some flakes, fruit, youghurt and sandwiches.

However, there are some things I need to mention:
1) First, if you can afford it - pick a hotel inside the old town area. Walking to the main square from Camollia is around 20 minutes and if you want to see some other churches and attractions - that will be another 10-15 minutes. Can be tiresome, if you are not in your prime years.

2) The hotel is on a busy road, so I could hear the cars and motorcycle at night - but I am not a sound sleeper. I also could hear well everything that was going on in the neighbor's bathroom in the morning - so keep this in mind. Maybe asking for a room with windows facing the yard would help.

3) Local staff - 2 gentlemen are very nice and friendly, but they speak only basic English. My question - "Have you already charged my card?" has been understood as a call to action - "ok, let's do it".

A hint:
Don't spend money on the bus or taxi to get there. Get into the shopping mall right across the train station, walk to your left and take the travellator (escalator) up to the main street. then walk to your left till you see the old town entrance, then cross the street and you are there. It is exactly 15 minutes from the train station - we just clocked it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had trouble finding the B&B and would recommend catching the train to Sienna and then the escalator to the city, the B&B is then only a 5 mins walk away. If you catch to bus it is a long walk and very confusing. The room was well appointed and very clean and the breakfast was adequate. It was close to the entrance to the old city which was great as this is where all the main attractions are.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This B&B is very comfortable and modern. Our room was very spacious and clean and had a big private bathroom and shower. The breakfast was very tasty and you could eat out on the balcony as well. The owner Pierro was very hospitable as was his co-worker Sami. The hotel is right outside the gates to the fortress area and there are some good
eateries close-by. Parking is an issue since you have to park on the street and spots were hard to find.
A great place to stay to enjoy beautiful Siena!

Room Tip: Many stairs-may not be suitable for older people or people with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadiaRx57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

It is near the city walls and pretty close to the city BUT it is a sterile place with small rooms and no character. Really is a small hostel-hotel rather than a B and B. Parking is possible near the hotel but there is none provided. Our first room was on a busy street and quite noisy. We switched to one one the inner courtyard with one window that was clouded as all the other rooms had to walk through this courtyard to access the other hall.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishnflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Fiorita
Villa Fiorita
#112 of 126 in Siena
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
0.5 mi away
La Casa di Antonella
La Casa di Antonella
#43 of 126 in Siena
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B Aura
B&B Aura
#52 of 126 in Siena
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Le Case dei Frati
#111 of 126 in Siena
2 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Albergaccio
L'Albergaccio
#82 of 126 in Siena
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Camollia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Camollia

Address: Via Biagio di Montluc 29, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $70 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms, at B&B CAMOLLIA, are modern, spacius and equipped with every comfort: private bathroom with shower, A/C, LCD TV and free wi-fi. Daily cleaning. In the morning a rich breakfast buffet is served with fresh croissants, homemade cakes, toast, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, beverages fresh, selection of tea, coffee and cappuccino. The B & B is located in the center, outside the ZTL, in front of the ancient walls of Siena (Porta Camollia). Easily accessible by car (in an area where there are plenty of free parking) or by public transportation (the escalator leading to the train station is 200 m), the B & B is 10 min. Walk from Piazza del Campo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Camollia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Camollia Hotel Siena
b&b Camollia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing